The Alex Salmond Birthday celebrations thread

Pearbuyerbell

The title of this thread is The Alex Salmond Birthday celebrations thread

Some folk celebrated his birthday while others wished him deid.

But it was you who brought Eck’s expenses intae it.
All I did was put them intae context by showing what one other person claimed for one journey.

Lets face it, if you hadnae commented on his expenses then I widnae hae posted Charlies expenses for one effing journey [emoji4]

A post about Alex Salmond in a thread about Alex Salmond. Whatever next eh

Let's face you're one of these nats who just can't bare any criticism that is directed towards the SNP

• Replies 274
9 minutes ago, RadgerTheBadger said:

Let's face you're one of these nats who just can't bare any criticism that is directed towards the SNP

What's wrong with 48k expenses ?   

He's been specifically ordered NOT to travel alone because some people would like to see him killed.   See this thread for evidence.  

1 hour ago, Wee Willie said:

I presume you dinnae agree that Oor Eck should get £48,000 travelling expenses.

I'm just putting it intae context with Charlie Windsor claiming £250,000 for one effing journey.

I agree totally. Britain should have been represented at Mandela's funeral by its South African ambassador. There was no need to send the Royals at all. 

1 minute ago, jakedee said:

There's an easy solution to stop all Scottish MP's claiming traveling expenses.

Aye, I think I pointed this out. as they all vote en-bloc. Why not just send one with the proxy vote of the others. Save a lot of money, but they are all bought and paid for now.

That would suit you wouldn't it,keep those nasty Nats in their box [emoji57] and not all Scottish MP's are SNP yet,in case you hadn't noticed

40 minutes ago, RadgerTheBadger said:

Lets face it, if you hadnae commented on his expenses then I widnae hae posted Charlies expenses for one effing journey 

Am I right?

4 minutes ago, jakedee said:

That would suit you wouldn't it,keep those nasty Nats in their box emoji57.png and not all Scottish MP's are SNP yet,in case you hadn't noticed

in my original post i made it clear i was referring to the magnificent 54 that used to be 56. got it yet

What's wrong with 48k expenses ?   

He's been specifically ordered NOT to travel alone because some people would like to see him killed.   See this thread for evidence.  

Now flights down to London are very cheap if organised in advance. He knows when PMQ's is ? Every week at the same time barring when it's in recess

How about he organises his commutes better so to minimise the need for hotel stays? Or does that not fit in to radio schedule?

This goes for all politicians of all parties before any of the woe is us brigade get in their high horse

Lets face it, if you hadnae commented on his expenses then I widnae hae posted Charlies expenses for one effing journey 

Am I right?

Only you can answer that. I'm not physic

It look like I am right!

21 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

Am I right?

3 minutes ago, RadgerTheBadger said:

Only you can answer that. I'm not physic

It look like I am right!

Jeez you should be a politician but that would mean you would be on expenses :lol:

14 minutes ago, RadgerTheBadger said:

Now flights down to London are very cheap if organised in advance. He knows when PMQ's is ? Every week at the same time barring when it's in recess

How about he organises his commutes better so to minimise the need for hotel stays? Or does that not fit in to radio schedule?

This goes for all politicians of all parties before any of the woe is us brigade get in their high horse

Around £900 p/w seems a fairly reasonable return for travelling to Aberdeen Airport, flights, travel into London and repeating the journey back for himself and at least one other person that he's been specifically told must travel with him at all times.    

I suspect you're playing the man and not the ball.  

7 minutes ago, Pearbuyerbell said:

Around £900 p/w seems a fairly reasonable return for travelling to Aberdeen Airport, flights, travel into London and repeating the journey back for himself and at least one other person that he's been specifically told must travel with him at all times.    

Well said :thumsup2

It only takes a few minutes to look up flights in advance. There's nothing wrong them booking ahead months in advance

9787d694e057ddbf491169934f1c1de6.jpg

Give them £20 at a guess for a taxi from City to Westminster, Say £15 in a taxi from Westminster to Paddington where they can jump the Heathrow Express where it's £22. I'm not including eating expenses, my work doesn't give me money for my piece and rightly so. They could even strike a deal with a local transfer firm to save on transportation in London

Circa £279 in travel expenses

Now if they go direct to City he still has enough playtime to do his cameo on the wireless

cb2e4514e8c7f02be38b1e5ce36b25c8.jpg

Circa £220 in travel expenses

They get a security guard at the airport which is surely their duty to protect their passengers. Airport security to the plane then hire an escort to parliament which would take less than an hour each way. There's no need for him to hang around while the politicians are in character. He's a big boy he can get to and from Aberdeen airport himself, your not telling me he gets an escort to Tesco when he's doing the messages

£900 a week? Your having a laugh

in my original post i made it clear i was referring to the magnificent 54 that used to be 56. got it yet

You give yourself more credit than you deserve if you think I read all of your post's.Back to the statement you've conveniently sidestepped. Don't you think that having no travel expenses for ALL MP's from Scotland would be a good thing? And just have a Parliament at say ..Holyrood. Saving the taxpayers a fortune.

Certainly save a substantial sum on building repair costs we are about to be lumbered with.

UNIONISTS FFS. :lol:.......comparing the respective parleys expenses. What a joke.

No I was pointing out the absurdity of the snp MPs all voting the same. If you had half a brain, which seems likely, you would be laughing at the b*****ds now instead of trying to. let me see now which one will I pick. Ah yes, scrambling for relevance. 

No I was pointing out the absurdity of the snp MPs all voting the same. If you had half a brain, which seems likely, you would be laughing at the b*****ds now instead of trying to. let me see now which one will I pick. Ah yes, scrambling for relevance.

To carry this argument to it's conclusion why have 650 MP's ? Why not just 1 from each party,no whips needed,no travel/ accommodation expenses,no need to refurbish a crumbling building.Save an absolute fortune.You could be on to something here.

23 minutes ago, RadgerTheBadger said:

Circa £220 in travel expenses

They get a security guard at the airport which is surely their duty to protect their passengers. Airport security to the plane then hire an escort to parliament which would take less than an hour each way. There's no need for him to hang around while the politicians are in character. He's a big boy he can get to and from Aberdeen airport himself, your not telling me he gets an escort to Tesco when he's doing the messages

£900 a week? Your having a laugh

Mr Salmond’s personal travel expenses were £19,353.06, encompassing all air, rail and underground travel.

Scottish Labour had attacked Mr Salmond’s total travel expense bill of £48,470.66 for the year 2015/16. But the spokesman said the necessity for Mr Salmond to travel with staff more than doubled the MP’s bill as he must cover staff costs.

The spokesman said: “Alex’s own travel is clearly identified in the statistics which is less than half of what Labour claim.

“The rest is made up of staff travel and staff London accommodation.

“Alex, as a former First Minister, is under security advice from the Sergeant of Arms never to travel alone on public transport.

“No one from the Labour Party at Westminster would ever question such advice given the tragic circumstances befalling the late Jo Cox MP.”

Mr Salmond’s personal travel expenses were £19,353.06, encompassing all air, rail and underground travel.

Scottish Labour had attacked Mr Salmond’s total travel expense bill of £48,470.66 for the year 2015/16. But the spokesman said the necessity for Mr Salmond to travel with staff more than doubled the MP’s bill as he must cover staff costs.

The spokesman said: “Alex’s own travel is clearly identified in the statistics which is less than half of what Labour claim.

“The rest is made up of staff travel and staff London accommodation.

“Alex, as a former First Minister, is under security advice from the Sergeant of Arms never to travel alone on public transport.

“No one from the Labour Party at Westminster would ever question such advice given the tragic circumstances befalling the late Jo Cox MP.”

I don't seem to recall the hysteria over expenses before the SNP started sending the majority of MP's to Westminster.