The Mantis's Faroe Islands Football Photos Thread

At the moment there are only two inter-island tunnels and these are the only pay tunnels. The one from Streymoy to Sandoy will open in 2021 and will be 10.7km. The airport is on Vágar and it is necessary to go through a pay tunnel to get to Tórshavn on Streymoy. Although the bus is only 90DKK.

The other large scale project, which I confess I didn’t know about, so thanks @7-2 for sparking my interest  to check Wiki, is the 11.2km tunnel which will connect Tórshavn with the well-populated areas on Eysturoy such as Runavík and Toftir, and will have a 3-way underwater roundabout  😱 It will cut the distance from Tórshavn to Runavík from 34 miles to 11 - it will carry a lot of traffic and subsidise the Sandoy one. It explains some of the construction work I saw the other week.

The other tunnels simply cut road distances through the mountains and are apparently cheaper than many road projects, as well as being weatherproof. Some are unlit and single track with passing places. Many people have suggested inter-island tunnels for Scotland, based on costs of Norwegian tunnels.

Edited by The Mantis

1 hour ago, The Mantis said:

At the moment there are only two inter-island tunnels and these are the only pay tunnels. The one from Streymoy to Sandoy will open in 2021 and will be 10.7km. The airport is on Vágar and it is necessary to go through a pay tunnel to get to Tórshavn on Streymoy. Although the bus is only 90DKK.

The other large scale project, which I confess I didn’t know about, so thanks @7-2 for sparking my interest  to check Wiki, is the 11.2km tunnel which will connect Tórshavn with the well-populated areas on Eysturoy such as Runavík and Toftir, and will have a 3-way underwater roundabout  😱 It will cut the distance from Tórshavn to Runavík from 34 miles to 11 - it will carry a lot of traffic and subsidise the Sandoy one. It explains some of the construction work I saw the other week.

The other tunnels simply cut road distances through the mountains and are apparently cheaper than many road projects, as well as being weatherproof. Some are unlit and single track with passing places. Many people have suggested inter-island tunnels for Scotland, based on costs of Norwegian tunnels.

Map_of_the_tunnels_of_the_Faroe_Islands.png

Must admit I more glanced than examined so thought most were inter-island.  I'm still a bit surprised at their extent given how expensive an option is/was. Looks like I'll need to stick to Tipping Point then.

Anyway, trying to bring things back on topic, interesting though the Faroe Islands tunnels are...honest...it is a slight diversion (🤭) but one that hopefully makes it easier for fans to travel to games...

1 hour ago, Spyro said:

Stop it boys! I can see many an hour spent looking into this in more detail, sounds amazing! Sort of thing I love  🤓👍

Amazing wee country. Forget the Costa’s, I know where my next adventure is going to be ❤️

I’ll soon dampen your enthusiasm with a few shots of how the normal weather is. In August 2016 I went to a game in Argir which is a suburb of Tórshavn and it was so foggy I could hardly find the ground. However it lifted around kickoff time, mainly due to the wind getting up.

It was a reserve game and the only fans were the friends and relatives of the players. It finished goalless too. In my experience it’s often foggy around Tórshavn and the weather is better up north but I could be wrong.

Right, here goes: AB v NSí in a reserve game at the Skansi Arena. NSÍ Runavík are the team knocked out by Hibs last season. AB = Argja Bóltfelag & NSÍ = Nes Sóknar Ítróttarfelag.

Admission free. Normal admission in the Betri Deild is 80DKK which is nearly a tenner.

I had some earlier photos which I deleted as the fog began to clear. Watch for the linesman's flag, almost horizontal in the breeze.

00000732.thumb.JPG.0a23cddc0f94f0420a20010694156649.JPG

00000774.thumb.JPG.6884da60170874ed14af21acfc72755e.JPG

00000771.thumb.JPG.28a753c83e0ada0f98d63000eb7a8ac3.JPG

00000772.thumb.JPG.7c060018889eb57dca21b4b829ca600d.JPG

00000716.thumb.JPG.1260aaac1ab05757163a1262049d9649.JPG

00000717.thumb.JPG.7a23b9f227d64a7b21fc4c9f93381b26.JPG

00000726.thumb.JPG.a2def1b48476b0eddeb3376c4e7ed4b2.JPG

Edited by The Mantis

Is there a cheap way to do the Faroes? I'm getting pretty good at doing Iceland fairly cheap(relative)ly but wondered if there was any such tips for the Faroes? Does seem like there aren't any cheap flight there.

*travel forum for this pish etc*

20 hours ago, Jeek said:

Is there a cheap way to do the Faroes? I'm getting pretty good at doing Iceland fairly cheap(relative)ly but wondered if there was any such tips for the Faroes? Does seem like there aren't any cheap flight there.

*travel forum for this pish etc*

🤣 Aye there is actually a Faroes topic in Travel but I'm not bothered what gets discussed in here, it's up to the mods to object. I've always flown from Edinburgh and you're right, Atlantic Airways/KLM  is  not EasyJet - at least in Iceland you have the choice. You just have to suck it up.

One quick tip is to use public transport. Buses, ferries and even helicopters are incredibly cheap (compared to Iceland), and local buses in Tórshavn are absolutely free - there's even one which goes all the way out to Kollafjordur. With a car you feel you are rationing your movements to avoid using expensive tunnels more than once. However fuel is slightly cheaper there than the UK. Obviously just watch fitba, it's on all over the place, and I've never paid admission except in the Betri Dield which is the premier division.

Just like Iceland, eating out is pricy if you eat meat and fish, while it's cheaper if you can live on pizzas, burgers etc 💩They have Bonus supermarkets like Iceland, and one or two smaller chains.

Far more hostels and Airbnb's now, than when I first went in 2016, hotels are like Iceland. Over the top. I don't think they allow wild camping, in fact I think farmers are a bit precious about people tramping over their land and a lot of popular walks need a permit now.

Edited by The Mantis

Just like Iceland, eating out is pricy if you eat meat and fish, while it's cheaper if you can live on pizzas etc 💩They have Bonus supermarkets like Iceland, and one or two smaller chains.

Dolphin ... or is that potentially overlapping into a third thread ? 

Had a whale steak in Keflavik, disappointingly it wasn't a 12ft diameter. Seething.

Thanks for the info @mantis. I'm down in Bristol so ads another journey but we're looking at it, interesting that the public transport is the way to go!

That game above - the stadium is called the Skansi Arena for sponsorship, but it's really called Inni í Vika. I was speaking to this guy who had been to Scotland a few times. He might have said his dad played for Ayr. So I got him to pronounce the stadium name.

He then asked if I had heard of the bobble hat goalie. I said of course, everybody has. He said he was his mate, just standing along from us, and asked if I wanted to meet him. So that's how I got a selfie with Jens Marten Knudsen 😎

00000734.thumb.JPG.ba83968831d252a1714192e98de4bd1f.JPG

Edited by The Mantis

The Tórsvøllur - the national stadium. By my reckoning, Scotland have played in the Faroe Islands 4 times, since 1995, but never here. Each time the game has been played up at Toftir as a tactical move by the Faroes, I was told. These photos are all 3 years old and I think some work has gone on there since.

If you look to front left of the stadium, you can see the Gundadalur, which is shared by HB (Havnar Bóltfelag) and B36 (Bóltfelagið 1936 Tórshavn). They have a stand each as you can see, which is a bit bizarre, but the stands also hold their clubrooms etc. This pitch is actually called Ovari Vøllur, as Gundaladur is a big area with handball, swimming etc. To the right again is Niðari Vøllur which is used for various games. A club called Giza/Hoyvík played there until recently but now Hoyvík FC have their own facility up in Hoyvík, a north suburb, and are currently running away with the 2.deild (tier 3) league.

00000770.thumb.JPG.2495b4f4aefb8f9bb2acf66830991301.JPG

00000747.thumb.JPG.40b4443c5cede849c13b221bf89dc666.JPG

00000775.thumb.JPG.77cda35fe9c3dcc9f991f809bad36aaf.JPG

00000776.thumb.JPG.6d6d966d264e19f92f5e9e747daf12af.JPG

00000777.thumb.JPG.6fe64f3ddc1d86fda5f45eaaa3110d08.JPG

Edited by The Mantis

Nice bit of floodlight porn there 😏😎

I’ve seen pics of the shared stadium before, looks weird but I love it. Something some smaller Scottish teams should try, maybe with the stands opposite each other in the centre but all depends on access I suppose.

3 hours ago, Spyro said:

Nice bit of floodlight porn there 😏😎

Yes indeedy. That 4th pic, you can actually drive up, park and stroll across a paved area and peer over into the ground. You can see it in the first pic. If you wanted to you could pretty much 'dreep' into it. I suppose at games they will steward off the street, and in any case that north end may have been done up by now.

Edited by The Mantis

If you wanted to you could pretty much 'dreep' into it.

Unfortunately there will be no dreeping from me... it’s part of my bail conditions from the last fiasco :unsure: I didn’t touch it, honest!

18 hours ago, The Mantis said:

00000775.thumb.JPG.77cda35fe9c3dcc9f991f809bad36aaf.JPG

When I wandered into the ground last year, I was stood roughly where you are and the uncovered stand on the right was getting knocked down.  I also walked on the pitch.  The gate was wide open and they'd left loads of equipment lying around.  As there's so little crime though I guess they don't need to worry.

48 minutes ago, Highland Capital said:

When I wandered into the ground last year, I was stood roughly where you are and the uncovered stand on the right was getting knocked down.  I also walked on the pitch.  The gate was wide open and they'd left loads of equipment lying around.  As there's so little crime though I guess they don't need to worry.

Yes, we went past the stadium in the airport bus and you could see the west side was a building site.

They're actually horrified that you might lock your car or your house.

On the Friday afternoon I went out to west Tórshavn to pick up a hire car. The garage owner is Jákup á Borg who is the coach of B36 and an ex-international. They said the keys were in the car but unfortunately they never told me which car 😂

They had all buggered off for the weekend at lunchtime. I sat in about 10 cars but realised most of them belonged to customers, going by the sunglasses, sweeties etc. There was a body shop there so I wandered in. Door open, light on, computer on but nobody there. The only locked cars were a couple of upmarket sales cars.

Sadly never got a chance to meet Jákup. He was in Belfast last night where B36 were playing Crusaders.