The Great Playoff/2nd place Hunt

Ah well, all the teams who finished in the play offs managed to beat Hearts and we didn’t.  Also we failed to beat Alloa so can’t really complain.  Well done to Raith, Dundee and Dunfermline.

THE HUNT FOR THE PLAY-OFFS ARE OVER!
(Not for 2nd place though, thankfully, so next week isn't a dead rubber)

image.png.92ca8b96d37400016cdc1af6c42bd178.png

Dundee confirmed their place in the top 4 with a win at Dens (which would've been confirmed anyway via other results), and more importantly for this thread gives their chase for 2nd one last boost, bringing the gap between them and the Kirkcaldy men to just one point. The Dees strolled the first half, and despite some late shakiness were able to keep it together to take all 3 points. Raith's consolation goal might be important for next week, stopping Dundee from catching up on their GD. Both teams have all to play for next week, with Raith having the power in their hands with the point advantage, though they will have to welcome champions Hearts. Dundee meanwhile head south to Dumfries, where they'll need a win to have a shot at 2nd. Osman Sow hat-trick again, anyone?

image.png.63694af8b210b1b5f1f99d23d9d466d4.png

Despite falling away near the end and almost screwing up what looked to be a sure play-off spot, the Pars have picked up in form of late and secured play-off football in a wild game against desperate Arbroath. Craig Wighton once again coming up good when it counts, after Dunfermline relinquished a 2-0 lead he showed up to ensure a win with his brace. A win over Alloa coupled with a Dundee loss at Palmerston would see Dunfermline likely getting home-team advantage over the Dees in the play-offs, but for Crawford it'll be a relief that he hasn't bottled losing a place altogether.

image.png.c454f9963247a6a7b64ca466363c3478.png

Commiserations to Inverness Caley Thistle fans (and a big hearty GIRFUY to Scot Gardiner), as the champions strolled past Neil McCann's side, and a Dunfermline confirmed that they will miss out on May football. Inverness' late comeback into this season despite the unfortunate circumstances which hit regarding John Robertson, and I think Neil McCann has done his managerial reputation the world of good, as the players have clearly responded to his demands and nearly ousted Dunfermline for the final spot. Unfortunate that the arse-licking didn't pay off, Scot.

image.thumb.png.71b55a31906819ee53e3b98f2b8db380.png

Edited by RossBFaeDundee

3 hours ago, TheScarf said:

Ah well, all the teams who finished in the play offs managed to beat Hearts and we didn’t. 

IIRC our results against the top three are very symmetrical, narrow wins for each side and a draw with Dundee and Hearts and a pumping each and a draw with Raith. 

3 minutes ago, Abby Normal said:

IIRC our results against the top three are very symmetrical, narrow wins for each side and a draw with Dundee and Hearts and a pumping each and a draw with Raith. 

We beat Hearts 2-1, lost 1-0 and drew 0-0.

Against Raith we drew 2-2, won 4-1 and lost 5-1.

Against Dundee we drew 3-3, lost 3-2 and drew 0-0.

5 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

We beat Hearts 2-1, lost 1-0 and drew 0-0.

Against Raith we drew 2-2, won 4-1 and lost 5-1.

Against Dundee we drew 3-3, lost 3-2 and drew 0-0.

Okay, so I got 8/9 results right! Point being that under AJ, for example, we got to the playoffs by being really good at pumping diddy teams. Now we seem to be on a par with the top sides but struggle more against teams we “should” beat. Not having a goal machine like Nicky Clark or Nisbet makes a difference. Livi won the playoffs despite not even coming close to beating us that season. Being not very good isn’t necessarily a barrier to success!

23 minutes ago, Abby Normal said:

Okay, so I got 8/9 results right! Point being that under AJ, for example, we got to the playoffs by being really good at pumping diddy teams. Now we seem to be on a par with the top sides but struggle more against teams we “should” beat. Not having a goal machine like Nicky Clark or Nisbet makes a difference. Livi won the playoffs despite not even coming close to beating us that season. Being not very good isn’t necessarily a barrier to success!

When Livingston won the playoffs, we were the only side they failed to beat in the league.

Anyway, don't make me get out our playoff record!

Edited by DA Baracus

2 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

When Livingston won the playoffs, we were the only side they failed to beat in the league.

I just see these playoffs this time round as very open. Us, Raith and Dundee are all capable of following up impressive wins with a stinker. When you look at our cup games against teams from the league above under Craw we’ve held our own too.  Charlie Adam is a handy player to have in a play-off though. 

3 hours ago, RossBFaeDundee said:

THE HUNT FOR THE PLAY-OFFS ARE OVER!
(Not for 2nd place though, thankfully, so next week isn't a dead rubber)

image.png.92ca8b96d37400016cdc1af6c42bd178.png

Dundee confirmed their place in the top 4 with a win at Dens (which would've been confirmed anyway via other results), and more importantly for this thread gives their chase for 2nd one last boost, bringing the gap between them and the Kirkcaldy men to just one point. The Dees strolled the first half, and despite some late shakiness were able to keep it together to take all 3 points. Raith's consolation goal might be important for next week, stopping Dundee from catching up on their GD. Both teams have all to play for next week, with Raith having the power in their hands with the point advantage, though they will have to welcome champions Hearts. Dundee meanwhile head south to Dumfries, where they'll need a win to have a shot at 2nd. Osman Sow hat-trick again, anyone?

image.png.63694af8b210b1b5f1f99d23d9d466d4.png

Despite falling away near the end and almost screwing up what looked to be a sure play-off spot, the Pars have picked up in form of late and secured play-off football in a wild game against desperate Arbroath. Craig Wighton once again coming up good when it counts, after Dunfermline relinquished a 2-0 lead he showed up to ensure a win with his brace. A win over Alloa coupled with a Dundee loss at Palmerston would see Dunfermline likely getting home-team advantage over the Dees in the play-offs, but for Crawford it'll be a relief that he hasn't bottled losing a place altogether.

image.png.c454f9963247a6a7b64ca466363c3478.png

Commiserations to Inverness Caley Thistle fans (and a big hearty GIRFUY to Scot Gardiner), as the champions strolled past Neil McCann's side, and a Dunfermline confirmed that they will miss out on May football. Inverness' late comeback into this season despite the unfortunate circumstances which hit regarding John Robertson, and I think Neil McCann has done his managerial reputation the world of good, as the players have clearly responded to his demands and nearly ousted Dunfermline for the final spot. Unfortunate that the arse-licking didn't pay off, Scot.

image.thumb.png.71b55a31906819ee53e3b98f2b8db380.png

Get a life u Dundonion hoor!

Do you want to play “who’s got the worst play-off record?”

‘Cos we would win.
It was mentioned on the Radio today (can’t remember if it was k107 or radio Scotland) that we have the worst record of any Scottish team in the play-offs.

13 minutes ago, steakngravy said:

Does this make you something special go back into your dreams.😘

What are you on about you little p***k?

9 minutes ago, Abby Normal said:

I just see these playoffs this time round as very open. Us, Raith and Dundee are all capable of following up impressive wins with a stinker. When you look at our cup games against teams from the league above under Craw we’ve held our own too.  Charlie Adam is a handy player to have in a play-off though. 

I think out of any of the Championship teams Raith have the best chance of winning against the Premiership team

7 minutes ago, stevoraith said:

Do you want to play “who’s got the worst play-off record?”

‘Cos we would win.
It was mentioned on the Radio today (can’t remember if it was k107 or radio Scotland) that we have the worst record of any Scottish team in the play-offs.

Haha, what's your record in the playoffs? Genuinely don't know, but would be surprised if it's worse than ours!

15 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

What are you on about you little p***k?

I think out of any of the Championship teams Raith have the best chance of winning against the Premiership team

Haha, what's your record in the playoffs? Genuinely don't know, but would be surprised if it's worse than ours!

We have been in the play offs 6 times and we have only got through one tie. So one play off final in 6 attempts and we lost that. Our overall record (I think) is:

Played: 14
Won: 2   
Draw: 6   
Lost: 6

Seem to remember the Pars being in a couple of play off finals? So I think we might edge it in terms of the worst play off record!

Edited by R.R.FC

4 minutes ago, R.R.FC said:

We have been in the play offs 5 times and we have only got through one tie. So one play off final in 5 attempts and we lost that. Our overall record (I think) is:

Played: 12    
Won: 2   
Draw: 6   
Lost: 4

Seem to remember the Pars being in a couple of play off finals? So I think we might edge it in terms of the worst play off record!

Here is ours:

P: 12
W: 3
D 2
L: 7
GF: 17
GA: 19

Not sure how you judge which is worse! We've never went or stayed up via the playoffs though.

14 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Here is ours:

P: 12
W: 3
D 2
L: 7
GF: 17
GA: 19

Not sure how you judge which is worse! We've never went or stayed up via the playoffs though.

Fair play, didn’t realise there was a team that could compete with us in play off disasters!

Just to complete our record we have 

GF: 12    
GA: 18

In theory, given how much turnover there is in squads and management (although this will be McGlynn’s 4th time in the play offs for us and Iain Davidson’s 7th!) at this level combined with the lack of fans, historical play off records shouldn’t really have an effect this time around but it’s impossible not to be a bit pessimistic looking at how things have gone previously. 

Edited by R.R.FC

2 minutes ago, R.R.FC said:

Fair play, didn’t realise there was a team that could compete with us in play off disasters!

Just to complete our record we have 

GF: 12    
GA: 18

In theory, given how much turnover there is in squads and management (although this will be McGlynn’s 4th time in the play offs for us and Iain Davidson’s 6th!) at this level combined with the lack of fans, historical play off records shouldn’t really have an effect this time around but it’s impossible not to be a bit pessimistic looking at how things have gone previously. 

Aye, we had a wee tilt at them in 95 then had consecutive goes in 2013 and 2014, and then a shot in 2018. Thankfully got away with them in 2000 due to Falkirk's ground being a crumbling wreck.

7 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

Whilst both our records are bad, Raith did get beat by that Brechin side.

Which is just really, really weird. 

The main reason we lost that Brechin play-off was Mvoto who cost us three goals over the two legs (although he did score one). He was a disaster. He ended up at East End Park, thank fukc.