Spartans v Rose derby

What’s people’s thoughts on this,I’ve got time for both teams as my Alex played for both of them,have more leaning towards the Rose and hope they win as they’re fighting to stay up and hope they do.

Hopefully Spartans have one eye on the playoffs and have an off day. Going to be a tricky game, last time at NDP Henderson bullied our CBs (mind you, our CBs get bullied a lot), so Calum Elliot needs to have a plan to stop that. And hopefully the pitch isn’t too heavy so that Watson can use that pace of his like he did last week, which was definitely his best performance in a Rose jersey.

Lots of “hopefully” comments there, which sums up my views on Rose just now ……. 😖

Visited this with the bairns. Great to visit a wee traditional stadium albeit without the auld stand.

Quite an even game.  Good to see Spartans in play-offs.

On 19/04/2024 at 21:20, Broonaldo said:

Hopefully Spartans have one eye on the playoffs and have an off day. Going to be a tricky game, last time at NDP Henderson bullied our CBs (mind you, our CBs get bullied a lot), so Calum Elliot needs to have a plan to stop that. And hopefully the pitch isn’t too heavy so that Watson can use that pace of his like he did last week, which was definitely his best performance in a Rose jersey.

Lots of “hopefully” comments there, which sums up my views on Rose just now ……. 😖

Lots of 😂. There is 3 posts on this forum.

Edited by BullyWeeClydeFc

20 hours ago, Crùbag said:

Visited this with the bairns. Great to visit a wee traditional stadium albeit without the auld stand.

Quite an even game.  Good to see Spartans in play-offs.

Why ? Another club splashing the cash with an unsustainable finance model, like we've not seen much of those lately.

38 minutes ago, Beachcomber said:

Why ? Another club splashing the cash with an unsustainable finance model, like we've not seen much of those lately.

How come?

Spartans have strong roots in the community. Lots of Jambos and Hibess attend their games too.

24 minutes ago, Crùbag said:

How come?

Spartans have strong roots in the community. Lots of Jambos and Hibess attend their games too.

McNulty, Craigen, Booth, Watson are out of reach financially of other League  2 teams.

Spartans have a lot of kids and great community club but lets not  pretend they have a  strong following.  Last home   league game  385.

Edited by Beachcomber

1 hour ago, Beachcomber said:

McNulty, Craigen, Booth, Watson are out of reach financially of other League  2 teams.

Spartans have a lot of kids and great community club but lets not  pretend they have a  strong following.  Last home   league game  385.

Their following is what you'd expect for a team newly promoted to the 'big' leagues and who share a city with 3 other senior clubs.

That lack of a strong following is evened out by their community work/ support though. That's the point.

East Fife not far ahead of them.

Screenshot2024-04-21at18-52-04CinchLeagueTwoAverageAttendancesAllMatchesFootballWebPages.png.7f1b86612eb05e87480857076fae629c.png

Edited by Crùbag

54 minutes ago, Crùbag said:

Their following is what you'd expect for a team newly promoted to the 'big' leagues and who share a city with 3 other senior clubs.

That lack of a strong following is evened out by their community work/ support though. That's the point.

East Fife not far ahead of them.

Screenshot2024-04-21at18-52-04CinchLeagueTwoAverageAttendancesAllMatchesFootballWebPages.png.7f1b86612eb05e87480857076fae629c.png

My point wasn't intended to turn into a crowd w**k, I just find it hard to understand how Spartans can attract the calibre of players they do on the crowds they Have.

Maybe you didn't know that East Fife Community Football Club is one of the biggest in Scotland.

22 hours ago, Beachcomber said:

My point wasn't intended to turn into a crowd w**k, I just find it hard to understand how Spartans can attract the calibre of players they do on the crowds they Have.

Maybe you didn't know that East Fife Community Football Club is one of the biggest in Scotland.

Didn't but am glad to hear it. A famous auld team.

On 21/04/2024 at 17:37, Beachcomber said:

Every player you've mentioned there is either from Edinburgh (Watson, McNulty), the surrounding areas (Booth) or have roots in the city (Craigen). You can add Danny Denholm to that too. McNulty is also playing for his father-in-law.

3 hours ago, CraigFowler said:

Every player you've mentioned there is either from Edinburgh (Watson, McNulty), the surrounding areas (Booth) or have roots in the city (Craigen). You can add Danny Denholm to that too. McNulty is also playing for his father-in-law.

Fair enough I can see why at a certain age travelling is unattractive.

On 21/04/2024 at 16:34, Beachcomber said:

Hi QP Here,

Would also add Spartans have a tier 1 women's side in addition to multiple sides for boys/girls down the age groups. Even if they are spending above their means I think drawing comparisons to other financially doped clubs that plough money into the starting XI and little else are quite unfair.

Edited by Quentin Prankett