Callum McGregor

Is over rated in this country because he plays in a swamp.  It's no wonder he's never left to go elsewhere.  Shite and found out in Europe all the time too.   Protected by the refs in Scotland to run games.  As soon as he plays in Europe, booked.  

Never near enough the quality needed at international level and made Barry Ferguson look like the most forward thinking player on the planet.

The choice to play him and keep him on was as almost as farcical as dropping Billy Gilmour.

Thoughts? 

Bizarrely seems to be getting made the scapegoat for this tournament which doesn’t make any sense. 

Would love to see what the excuse is for McGinn having a horror show of a tournament, again.

Or Robertson being woeful.

Or Christie, Adams etc. 

Infact the full team bar maybe McTominay. 

2 minutes ago, Staggie_93 said:

Going forward he needs to be replaced by Ferguson but he’s not the only one who’ve not shown up for us for a while.

Ferguson at Bologna is thriving in a completely different role. Playing him in McGregor’s role wouldn’t make any sense and just take away from everything Ferguson is good at. 

6 minutes ago, Kadouken_ said:

Bizarrely seems to be getting made the scapegoat for this tournament which doesn’t make any sense. 

Would love to see what the excuse is for McGinn having a horror show of a tournament, again.

Or Robertson being woeful.

Or Christie, Adams etc. 

Infact the full team bar maybe McTominay. 

Aye, this. 

I've watched McGregor have many excellent games for Celtic in Europe against considerably better sides than Hungary, so he's hardly out of his depth against a side with a fucking Barnsley player in it.

Frankly, all he's ever been is a decent, tidy wee player. McGregor alone isn't the issue. We have no difference makers and no real top quality in our entire squad, and that's why we're pumped out at the groups yet again. 

He was absolutely rotten tonight. For a supposedly tidy player his first touch is absolutely brutal and he slowed the game right down every time he got the ball. If you look at just about every other centre mid in the tournament, even when they have an off day their touch is still there. Not McGregor's, brutal. 

10 minutes ago, ArtemisClydeFrog said:

Aye, this. 

I've watched McGregor have many excellent games for Celtic in Europe against considerably better sides than Hungary, so he's hardly out of his depth against a side with a fucking Barnsley player in it.

Frankly, all he's ever been is a decent, tidy wee player. McGregor alone isn't the issue. We have no difference makers and no real top quality in our entire squad, and that's why we're pumped out at the groups yet again. 

He's utterly shite for celtc in Europe.  He's negative and not protected like he is in Scotland.  There's no danger he should be near the team.   There's a reason he's stuck at you guys so long. 

He's very good at SPL level, which is about as much as you can say for him.

Also, tbf, if Che Adams were the only option in front of me I'd be passing sideways or backwards as well. 

3 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

He's utterly shite for celtc in Europe.  He's negative and not protected like he is in Scotland.  There's no danger he should be near the team.   There's a reason he's stuck at you guys so long. 

He's had shit games, he's had good games. Same as every player in that squad would at that level. 

Rodgers wanted to take him to Leicester when he left so he's clearly had the opportunities to leave. Besides, moving to the PL or elsewhere isn't going to drastically improve him as a player. I know many on here have a hardon for the PL but guys like Armstrong and Christie aren't any better for Scotland than they were when they played with Celtic. 

7 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

So what are the excuses for McGinn, Robertson, Armstrong etc. who don’t play in Scotland?

I like McGregor but for me he doesn't have enough players around him to play off of, it's the same for Billy Gilmour. The lack of movement in front is killing these guys in the middle and are forced to go backwards or sideways a lot. When they do go back, it's to boys that have to take two touches before releasing the fucking football then by that point the other team has got back into shape then we end up having the same problem all over again. We are better off having Ferguson in there alongside those two as he is the one that can make great forward surging runs, good close control, nice tidy passer etc, can break those lines in front. Then you let either one of Gilmour or McGregor sit further deeper to be the playmaker instead of the CB

Just now, ArtemisClydeFrog said:

He's had shit games, he's had good games. Same as every player in that squad would at that level. 

Rodgers wanted to take him to Leicester when he left so he's clearly had the opportunities to leave. Besides, moving to the PL or elsewhere isn't going to drastically improve him as a player. I know many on here have a hardon for the PL but guys like Armstrong and Christie aren't any better for Scotland than they were when they played with Celtic. 

Celtic have been massive, massive under achievers in Europe for years, **** have even been a lot better.  Who has been in the centre of that midfield all that time?

Aye so he did.  Not one club have bid for him, you wonder why?  It could have improved him when he was younger but he's simply not good enough for the EPL.  Too slow, too weak and not got enough ability.

Christie would have suited the Scottish midfield better this tournament, put McGinn back into the role he plays for Villa and get Mcgregor out the team.  Billy Gilmour even got dropped ahead of the guy that offers absolutely nothing to the team. 

He’s been miles off it since his injury. That’s all there is to it tbh. His best days are quite possibly behind him. He’s had a lot of good games for Celtic in Europe in the past, but I think we’ll look to replace him soon.

Also the ‘protected in Scotland’ thing is deranged, bottom of the barrel FollowFollow nonsense  

2 minutes ago, Kadouken_ said:

So what are the excuses for McGinn, Robertson, Armstrong etc. who don’t play in Scotland?

McGinn was out of position, Robertson doesn't look fit and Armstrong isn't good enough either probably the reason he was punted by Southampton last month.  At least Armstrong was punted after Germany while McGregor seems to be untouchable.