Madeleine Mccann Missing Girl

Proper holiday childcare advice from @kiddy on page 2.

On 05/05/2007 at 10:21, kiddy said:

I didn't say that, but a childrens club is something far different from childcare. I'm speaking from experience, you've just got to get on with it & take the kids with you. One at the table and one in the buggy having already been fed, at the apartment. If you can't manage it, you've just got to eat in the apartment and spend the night with them and a couple of bottles of 'vino collapso'.

Goes mad paranoid after page 2 so no more for me.

Edited by welshbairn

Or they could have used the inclusive child creche provided by the hotel, it amazes me people try exonerate the pair of them in a situation of such negligence.

Exactly if it was a wee single mother the media would of slaughtered her and her other kids would of been whisked away swiftly by the social

I actually went back and read the first few pages, was rather interesting to see various arguments between people in 2007, most of whom I've never heard of. It was a kind of sobering reminder of how pointless my time on here is [emoji38]
It did really hammer home that the battle between "WHY ARE DEY FOCUSING ON THE MISSING CHILD AND NOT THE NEGLECT!" and "Probably because finding a missing child is the priority in a missing child case" has been going on for 13 years. 
I do like the author of post #4

14 hours ago, The OP said:

It could be that some people consider blaming them when they have already lost a child is a bit crass, needlessly distracting from the real issue and unlikely to achieve much. 

If I lost a child due to negligent driving would you be saying "it's a bit crass to demand he's held to account. He's lost a child"?

After watching the Netflix documentary last year, it confirmed to me that the McCanns didn’t kill her for me.

However, their actions and attitude leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

There’s some amount of utter weirdos on this thread. The popularity of true crime documentaries in recent years appears to have made absolute morons think they’re hot-shot detectives and specialist murder investigators. Really creepy stuff. 
Exactly as watching Scottish fitba for years has made us all experts in that field, it's how these things work isn't it ?

1 hour ago, Merkland Red said:

If I lost a child due to negligent driving would you be saying "it's a bit crass to demand he's held to account. He's lost a child"?

What do you think is the point of the criminal justice system? Simply punishment, particularly to give the public a petty sense of vengeance? If so, you’re around 200 years behind the times and (in any event) I’m guessing they have suffered pretty badly emotionally for having dinner near but outwith their apartment and checking regularly or irregularly, depending on who you believe.

If you have moved out of the 1800s and think the point might be (1) rehabilitation - I’m guessing they have learned a lesson and won’t do it again (2) public protection - I reckon there is little threat to their other children or the wider population (3) serving an example/deterrent - I’m pretty sure seeing the disappearance of one of their children as a result of their actions more publicised than the Pistorius and OJ trials combined provides a greater deterrent to other tourists than criminal proceedings. 

What you have here is a borderline case of negligence where no public purpose would be served by seeking punishment and it would severely distract from the search for the truth of what happened. The impression would be “parents to blame, job done and don’t wear a short skirt if you don’t wanna be raped”.

And yes, the victim being known to the driver is a mitigating factor in death by dangerous driving. Also in those cases there is a more direct connection between your negligence and the fatal act. A better analogy would appear now to be where you fail to put your child’s seatbelt on and a German paedophile causes death by dangerous driving.

Edited by The OP

3 minutes ago, The OP said:

What do you think is the point of the criminal justice system? Simply punishment, particularly to give the public a petty sense of vengeance? If so, you’re around 200 years behind the times and (in any event) I’m guessing they have suffered pretty badly emotionally for having dinner near but outwith their apartment and checking regularly or irregularly, depending on who you believe.

If you have moved out of the 1800s and think the point might be (1) rehabilitation - I’m guessing they have learned a lesson and won’t do it again (2) public protection - I reckon there is little threat to their other children or the wider population (3) serving an example/deterrent - I’m pretty sure seeing the disappearance of one of their children as a result of their actions more publicised than the Pistorius and OJ trials combined provides a greater deterrent to other tourists than criminal proceedings. 

What you have here is a borderline case of negligence where no public purpose would be served by seeking punishment and it would severely distract from the search for the truth of what happened. The impression would be “parents to blame, job done and don’t wear a short skirt if you don’t wanna be raped”.

And yes, the victim being known to the driver is a mitigating factor in death by dangerous driving. Also in those cases there is a more direct connection between your negligence and the fatal act. A better analogy would appear now to be where you fail to put your child’s seatbelt on and a German paedophile causes death by dangerous driving.

Jesus christ.

Just now, The OP said:

If you think that this is an egregious piece of negligent parenting you obviously haven’t worked in social work, family law or the criminal law.

The family themselves admit they left the children alone in an apartment (which they could not see from their table at the Tapas bar) despite the fact one of them was up crying the night before because they had been left alone.

There's nothing 'borderline' about that neglect. What parent finds out that information and decides to leave them again? Selfish beyond belief.

We'll need to agree to disagree. nothing either of us will say will affect the other persons mindset.

1 minute ago, Merkland Red said:

The family themselves admit they left the children alone in an apartment (which they could not see from their table at the Tapas bar) despite the fact one of them was up crying the night before because they had been left alone.

There's nothing 'borderline' about that neglect. What parent finds out that information and decides to leave them again? Selfish beyond belief.

We'll need to agree to disagree. nothing either of us will say will affect the other persons mindset.

Ok, keep fighting the good fight for justice.

12 minutes ago, Henderson to deliver ..... said:

The OP doing a bad job of trying to dispel those 'the OP is Gerry McCann' rumours.

If the OP still has his original large tennis bag from back on 2003, then you're on the wrong track.  If, however, it was mysteriously "lost" in Portugal, then you might be on to something.

4 minutes ago, throbber said:

It wasn’t just them at the Tapas bar that were leaving their kids unattended at that particular resort on that particular night in question which makes me wonder just how many parents did this sort of thing regularly when on holiday in the 00’s? This isn’t trying to defend the Mcanns here but it does make me wonder how many parents let their guard down in similarly circumstances when holidaying during this particular era before this infamous disappearance took place.

Got the impression that they thought they were a cut above the plebs by working out a system whereby they could get pished every night leaving their kids at home by taking turns to check on them all every 20-30 minutes. I imagine they got more blase and careless about it as the holiday went on.

44 minutes ago, throbber said:

It wasn’t just them at the Tapas bar that were leaving their kids unattended at that particular resort on that particular night in question which makes me wonder just how many parents did this sort of thing regularly when on holiday in the 00’s? This isn’t trying to defend the Mcanns here but it does make me wonder how many parents let their guard down in similarly circumstances when holidaying during this particular era before this infamous disappearance took place.

I can only speak for my own experiences and family/friends, but I feel the McCanns/tapas7 would be the exception rather than the rule.

36 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Got the impression that they thought they were a cut above the plebs by working out a system whereby they could get pished every night leaving their kids at home by taking turns to check on them all every 20-30 minutes. I imagine they got more blase and careless about it as the holiday went on.

^^^ this.

1 hour ago, throbber said:

Doesn't bear thinking about to be honest.

1 hour ago, welshbairn said:

Apparently it's the restaurants fault for noting that they are without the children and were routinely checking on them.

1 hour ago, throbber said:

Is there any proof of that? Have other parents come forward and admitted it.

It's always worth checking sources, because there is a lot of fake news that surrounds this case.

Given it was off season, the place was not that busy. I wonder how many did it, and what difference it makes to whether there was an abduction or not.

Most of the stuff I've read refers to other parents bringing kids back from the creche.