Livingston - all the threads merged

2 minutes ago, mozam76 said:

We’re staring huge financial difficulties in the face, whether that be court action or relegation. 

Because of that, the notion that we replace  underperforming players in a bloated squad with yet more players, is surely for the birds? 

The budget for the season is the budget, if he's freeing up those funds then they're there to be used. I can't see the budget being cut in January. He's apparently our highest earner - that alone surely means it frees up a good chunk of money if not for just a 6 month deal

4 minutes ago, ATLIS said:

The budget for the season is the budget, if he's freeing up those funds then they're there to be used. I can't see the budget being cut in January. He's apparently our highest earner - that alone surely means it frees up a good chunk of money if not for just a 6 month deal

I get the above. Genuinely. My fear though, is that whilst the budget at the start of the season has perhaps been adhered to, there may very well be costs etc that weren’t known at the start of the season that have cropped up. 

I’m aware that this is probably all coming across as negative or foreboding (I’ve already been greenied by RTCB today ffs), but the bleak outlook I feel just now for the club is for me far more tangible than it ever has been. I hope and pray that I’m wrong, but relegation is a certainty for me. I can’t see anything like the change in form required that will see us win three more games than our nearest rivals between now and seasons end. 

22 minutes ago, mozam76 said:

We’re staring huge financial difficulties in the face, whether that be court action or relegation. 

Because of that, the notion that we replace  underperforming players in a bloated squad with yet more players, is surely for the birds? 

Whatever the loss is for the season, it'll be a hell of a lot worse if we're relegated, because the financial drop to the Championship will be massive. No erse cheek or Hearts away fans down there, only time our stadium is any good to us is selling out 2 or 3 stands to away fans in those games.

Think if we got another couple of seasons in the top flight we'd sort all this shit out, we were wellon our way clearing it up before covid hit. We lost out on big financial booms in the back to back top 6 seasons, being smack in the middle of covid, and not having those big away fan gates.

Edited by LIVIFOREVER

6 minutes ago, mozam76 said:

I get the above. Genuinely. My fear though, is that whilst the budget at the start of the season has perhaps been adhered to, there may very well be costs etc that weren’t known at the start of the season that have cropped up. 

I’m aware that this is probably all coming across as negative or foreboding (I’ve already been greenied by RTCB today ffs), but the bleak outlook I feel just now for the club is for me far more tangible than it ever has been. I hope and pray that I’m wrong, but relegation is a certainty for me. I can’t see anything like the change in form required that will see us win three more games than our nearest rivals between now and seasons end. 

Sure, I'm going on the assumption relegation is happening this season. Which is partly why at this stage I think replacing Martindale with a new manager would be unwise. Typically, the manager is given a wage above that of the highest earning player. That'd be a huge outlay only for that new manager to get us relegated anyway and probably make a hash of things in the Championship next season, requiring him to be paid off while a new manager, again on a high wage, needs brought in. I don't think we want to get into the stupid cycle of sacking managers we had in the McDougall/Nixon era given the financial pressures the club is under. There isn't the money to waste on that, let alone all the upheaval and bad feeling such spirals create.

Let's be honest. The issue with Martindale is more than just being the  football manger.  He has a very unhealthy grip on all things Livingston FC and that is just not right for Livingston FC. 

What Livingston needs is more depth and strength at board level. Not 2 guys with 1 guy practically running the show day in day out which has been rumoured for years. It needs proper governance structured with the right checks and balances in place. 

I have said this before Livi needs a refresh and bringing a new manager is a risk but it is also an opportunity and given recent performances and rumoured player unrest now is the time for change. It wont happen as then1 guy who makes all the decisions is the same guy that should be sacked.

Edited by Livi

8 minutes ago, Freedom Farter said:

I wish there was a way to prevent the same person sitting there waiting to pounce on all your comments on this site. That old boy needs to give it a rest.

Back pot kettle. feel free to put in the right order.

i challenge any poster to look at my posts and see who has jumped in even just look over the last month.

we have very different perspectives 

#irony

Edited by Livi

20 minutes ago, Freedom Farter said:

Sure, I'm going on the assumption relegation is happening this season. Which is partly why at this stage I think replacing Martindale with a new manager would be unwise. Typically, the manager is given a wage above that of the highest earning player. That'd be a huge outlay only for that new manager to get us relegated anyway and probably make a hash of things in the Championship next season, requiring him to be paid off while a new manager, again on a high wage, needs brought in. I don't think we want to get into the stupid cycle of sacking managers we had in the McDougall/Nixon era given the financial pressures the club is under. There isn't the money to waste on that, let alone all the upheaval and bad feeling such spirals create.

I think any talk of him leaving is pretty pointless to be honest. He’s going nowhere, despite current form/squad (dis?)harmony etc. 

54 minutes ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

Whatever the loss is for the season, it'll be a hell of a lot worse if we're relegated, because the financial drop to the Championship will be massive. No erse cheek or Hearts away fans down there, only time our stadium is any good to us is selling out 2 or 3 stands to away fans in those games.

Think if we got another couple of seasons in the top flight we'd sort all this shit out, we were wellon our way clearing it up before covid hit. We lost out on big financial booms in the back to back top 6 seasons, being smack in the middle of covid, and not having those big away fan gates.

Speculate with money you don't actually have to try and accumulate money in the future. It's always worked out for you in the past. 

Just now, mozam76 said:

I think any talk of him leaving is pretty pointless to be honest. He’s going nowhere, despite current form/squad (dis?)harmony etc. 

Could've moved back to director of football and found a new manager in late November last year, the time of season that Gary Holt (very successfully) stepped aside in 20/21. That didn't happen. Planning for a new manager to take over for the Championship next season makes more sense now, if a change is to be made.

15 minutes ago, Livi said:

Back pot kettle. feel free to put in the right order.

i challenge any poster to look at my posts and see who has jumped in even just look over the last month.

we have very different perspectives 

#irony

No, its not about different perspectives, its about how you behave. Dishonest as the day is long. Even above there, you've gone back and edited your comment to remove the quotation of mine you were replying to, to make it look my complaint was over nothing. Its frustrating what you do with your alt account, or actual pal, whatever Roger is. How the two accounts strategically upvote and downvote others, backing each other up. How you throw a shitfit any time someone questions your claims or asks for substantiation.

Folk who used to contribute more regularly to the thread have been staying away recently. Could be coincidence but could also be the effect you've had in toxifying the thread. Your emojis, your hashtags, your gifs. Give it a rest as it wastes everybody's time. Folk are only hear to read and contribute opinions on their football team.

Just now, Freedom Farter said:

No, its not about different perspectives, its about how you behave. Dishonest as the day is long. Even above there, you've gone back and edited your comment to remove the quotation of mine you were replying to, to make it look my complaint was over nothing. Its frustrating what you do with your alt account, or actual pal, whatever Roger is. How the two accounts strategically upvote and downvote others, backing each other up. How you throw a shitfit any time someone questions your claims or asks for substantiation.

Folk who used to contribute more regularly to the thread have been staying away recently. Could be coincidence but could also be the effect you've had in toxifying the thread. Your emojis, your hashtags, your gifs. Give it a rest as it wastes everybody's time. Folk are only hear to read and contribute opinions on their football team.

Only shit-fit seems to come from you.

seethe more please

16 minutes ago, virginton said:

Speculate with money you don't actually have to try and accumulate money in the future. It's always worked out for you in the past. 

That isn't what's happening though is it. Budget has been cut, the freeing up of wages moving players on and bringing more in is part of the set budget. Cutting back further is false economy if it gets us relegated.

1 minute ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

That isn't what's happening though is it. Budget has been cut, the freeing up of wages moving players on and bringing more in is part of the set budget. Cutting back further is false economy if it gets us relegated.

Court cases lol

Remember that it’s impossible to budget for this unless you have a crystal ball 

3 minutes ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

If the budget isn't actually break-even then you'd still be spending money that you don't actually have. 

39 minutes ago, Freedom Farter said:

I wish there was a way to prevent the same person sitting there waiting to pounce on all your comments on this site. That old boy needs to give it a rest.

There is, stick them on ignore, apart from when folk quote them i no longer see their pish, makes for a better experience.

I don't mind folk having a different perspective than me, and debating it, but those c***s are trolls and only interested in putting the boot into the club any chance they can. It's tedious to read and pointless replying to them.

49 minutes ago, Livi said:

Let's be honest. The issue with Martindale is more than just being the  football manger.  He has a very unhealthy grip on all things Livingston FC and that is just not right for Livingston FC. 

Definitely not. Only managed to get our diddy team to spend 6 years in the Premiership by giving him control. Very unhealthy indeed.

5 minutes ago, Freedom Farter said:

Your a laugh a minute you keep living in your Ward / Martindale bubble. It will burst eventually 

ps when did i last use a gif 😀

1 minute ago, virginton said:

If the budget isn't actually break-even then you'd still be spending money that you don't actually have. 

That isn't going to happen this season anyway, but that isn't why you quoted me, trying to be a smart arse.  

2 minutes ago, thruthenight said:

Definitely not. Only managed to get our diddy team to spend 6 years in the Premiership by giving him control. Very unhealthy indeed.

He did not gain the control he currently has overnight. 

just look to the period when his sister in law became the secretary, and his wife’s company became a sponsor.