Livingston - all the threads merged

There we go, for games that will sell out (Celtic/Rangers)in the away end, home end tickets will only be available to season ticket holders. 

Well done to the club, but Saturday was a mess of their own making. Here's hoping that's it sorted.

7 minutes ago, The Wrong Car said:

A pretty fair statement - the idea of existing fans essentially vouching for other fans should be easy enough to enact

Exactly what I was hoping for, if any do sneak through it shouldn't be too difficult to see who bought their tickets.

Statement could have done without the "but btw this will cost us money", but other than that very happy.

8 minutes ago, LiviLion said:

Exactly what I was hoping for, if any do sneak through it shouldn't be too difficult to see who bought their tickets.

Statement could have done without the "but btw this will cost us money", but other than that very happy.

Aye the 'but it'll cost us money' just makes it seem like they're doing the fans a favour rather than the basic minimum expected. 

The club makes plenty out of selling 3 stands, that more than compensates for a few seats that may be lost to genuine walk ups to games against the erse cheeks.

Maybe something more could be worked out given more time though, like walk ups buying tickets to 5 non erse cheek home games sitting in the home end getting put on the database so they are legible for buying tickets to the home end for erse cheek games too. 

21 minutes ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

The club makes plenty out of selling 3 stands, that more than compensates for a few seats that may be lost to genuine walk ups to games against the erse cheeks.

Maybe something more could be worked out given more time though, like walk ups buying tickets to 5 non erse cheek home games sitting in the home end getting put on the database so they are legible for buying tickets to the home end for erse cheek games too. 

The issue with that is you've got Livi fans who'll buy tickets to sell to Rangers fans. Did a search on Twitter after the game and found Rangers fans offering up to £95 for a ticket to the game in the home end. 

With it now being limited to season ticket holders only, we can pinpoint if someone has brought a Rangers/Celtic fan in and then punish them appropriately. I'd imagine they'd just get their season ticket binned. 

4 minutes ago, ATLIS said:

The issue with that is you've got Livi fans who'll buy tickets to sell to Rangers fans. Did a search on Twitter after the game and found Rangers fans offering up to £95 for a ticket to the game in the home end. 

With it now being limited to season ticket holders only, we can pinpoint if someone has brought a Rangers/Celtic fan in and then punish them appropriately. I'd imagine they'd just get their season ticket binned. 

Isn't that rather cutting off your nose to spite your face?

Currently we have about 1000 season tickets for a stand that can accommodate more than 2500

8 minutes ago, ATLIS said:

They'd only do it once though, their names would be on a database same as ST holders buying tickets for friends, anyone stupid enough to do that would face consequences. Plus i'd imagine the idiots willing to blow £95 on a ticket for the home end would be ejected pretty sharply once identified, there would be far less of them than on Sat for stewards and police to deal with.

6 minutes ago, Durnford said:

Currently we have about 1000 season tickets for a stand that can accommodate more than 2500

Better that than what we got on Saturday IMO

2 minutes ago, Durnford said:

We probably got about £38k extra than we would have otherwise.

That's more than five years worth of player sponsorship.

And that's the price we have to pay for having opposition fans sitting amongst us celebrating, singing and goading us? It should never have been allowed to have happened, fan safety was compromised. There's no way that 1,500 will be filled with Livi fans, at most we'd get 50-150. 

25 minutes ago, Durnford said:

How much would the club be fined if there was trouble due to away fans being in the home end? I believe segregation is a requirement 

2 hours ago, Durnford said:

We still made between 150-180K, without compromising the safety of the Livingston fans, that's massive for us and no need to be risking trouble in the home end trying to get more.

We could always do what Flynn did right enough and move Livi fans out of their seats to segregate part of the West stand off for erse cheek fans, that really didn't go down well with ST holders though, and some never renewed their tickets, or even came back while Flynn was our owner. Just isn't worth it for the ill feeling it caused, we're trying to build up our fanbase not cause resentment from the ST holders we already have.

11 hours ago, Durnford said:

No way regardless of money should Saturday's debacle be allowed to happen again Durnford. 

As mentioned above,they already get 3 stands,that's more than enough (7000+ tickets).

Thankfully I had a prior engagement in Caithness,so never had to personally deal with what went on,there was another 2 Livi fans with me and both said the same.....thank fook they weren't there.

I'm a walk up fan,my son has a season ticket but I'm perfectly happy to ask one of my livi supporting friends to buy me a ticket for a home game vs the Glasgow 2.

It's a step in the right direction by the club.

February 18th will be interesting that's for sure.

12 hours ago, ATLIS said:

12 hours ago, Durnford said:

Would imagine you just wouldn't be allowed to buy extra tickets for future arse cheek games if you were bringing Celtic/Rangers fans in. No chance the club will be cancelling season tickets.

I'd also be surprised if there aren't exceptions made for those who have bought tickets for other games against Motherwell, St Mirren etc. If the folk who's money we're missing out on are only ever showing up to those one or two games a season, we're not missing much at all.

At the very least it should mean any Celtic/Rangers fans who do get into the home end will be more inclined to shut up and behave themselves, which is where the problem is. If I was joining my mates in the home end at Tynecastle I'd shoot them a wee smirk if we scored, wouldn't be jumping about in full Livi gear, singing about Omeonga and swinging a Livi scarf about.

7 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

We still made between 150-180K, without compromising the safety of the Livingston fans, that's massive for us and no need to be risking trouble in the home end trying to get more.

We could always do what Flynn did right enough and move Livi fans out of their seats to segregate part of the West stand off for erse cheek fans, that really didn't go down well with ST holders though, and some never renewed their tickets, or even came back while Flynn was our owner. Just isn't worth it for the ill feeling it caused, we're trying to build up our fanbase not cause resentment from the ST holders we already have.

losing 1500 seats for at least 3 old firm games comes to almost £120,000. That's a lot of money to lose in a season. Bearing in mind that's a true loss; we've already paid out for all the security etc for matchday anyway.

What really gets me is they were searching about 70% of fans entering the stadium but still failed to notice so many wearing rangers tops when trying to enter the West Stand. I'm not blaming the steward here; he was on his own and even if he rejected one away fan; that person would simply cover up and go to the other entrance.

The tickets should have had a clear message on it that the stand was for home supporters only and away supporters would be refused admission or ejected from the ground subsequently. This is particularly important where tickets are being sold by ticket touts of which there were at least a dozen around Macarthur Glen and on Bubble hill. Ideally online sales will cut a lot of that out; I'm not sure even the most gullible will pay £90 for an internet screen print out.

I didn't really see much in the way of problems on Saturday; there were a few young boys with rangers tops on but they were well behaved; there was a section down the bottom of C3 which had about 20 - 30 individuals. They were escorted out by half time but I'm not sure why it took so long  were they simply being moved to the North stand? Really the reaction SHOULD have been immediate; anyone whose there who shouldn't be or doesn't know how to behave is escorted out immediately - none of this wait until half time nonsense.

The biggest problem seems to be the inclusion of hospitality right in the middle of the West Stand. Noisy drunken fans shouting the odds does little to hasten the family atmosphere and that happens throughout the season.