Walking Down The Halbeath Road

1 hour ago, Broken Algorithms said:

What's that got to do with our current board? Fan action ensured he never played, and then a year later there's a takeover with new ownership who have pursued a far more engaging approach.

Still, best of luck with the current approach of your current outlook of desperately trying to cling on the coattails of St Pauli. 

Odd how in your first paragraph you seperate the Rovers fan base from the actions of the board. 

And in the second you consider whatever the Pars board do, that the fans are complicit in. 

Can't have it both ways. 

4 hours ago, HoBNob said:

Odd how in your first paragraph you seperate the Rovers fan base from the actions of the board. 

And in the second you consider whatever the Pars board do, that the fans are complicit in. 

Can't have it both ways. 

I think it was more of a separation of the old Board/fans…which, judging by the sentiments here, seems to be brewing steadily down the A92 from Starks Park. The real question for you lot is how will an adjustment come about? You have investors who have a certain mindset, you have fans who have differing views, and there’s a tug of war for the soul of the club that seems to be playing out here. I guess I misunderstood how the German investment thing was going to work, as in are they just sitting back doing nothing?

The Germans are fans of football and this seems like a wee project/hobby for them. ? 

they can’t replicate how a pars fan feels. All fans are emotional and just want the best team they can be. 

I don’t think many care for this fan engagement and academy project really  

if we were to go down then I’m wondering if the Germans will stick around as they will come in for a lot of criticism 

15 minutes ago, Well over Par said:

I don’t think many care for this fan engagement and academy project really  

On the flip side I think we would all be delighted with this if the team weren’t struggling every week. 
Football fans are extremely fickle and when their team aren’t playing well projects like this become a stick to beat the board with. 
I really believe we’d be far less concerned about the clubs expenditure if we were second top and not second bottom. 

1 hour ago, Wacky said:

On the flip side I think we would all be delighted with this if the team weren’t struggling every week. 
Football fans are extremely fickle and when their team aren’t playing well projects like this become a stick to beat the board with. 
I really believe we’d be far less concerned about the clubs expenditure if we were second top and not second bottom. 

Well obviously.

20 minutes ago, parsforlife said:

Of course fans would be less critical if we were playing well, after all that’s the entire aim when running a football club

Yes, but IMO you’d think some fans lives depended on their team winning. I’m I life long Pars fan and season ticket holder since 1981, and have gotten over pish results and performances before I get home from the game. The levels of seethe you see on social media from some people is insane sometimes. 
I don’t think the Germans will walk away from this investment/club/project/hobby/mild distraction las some would hope (I could be wrong mind, though I’ve been wrong many times before) I think it’ll come good and they will deliver a club we’ll all be proud of. 

I care about the first team first and foremost. If we have a good training centre and youth set-up to support that team then even better.

If the youth set-up and training centre impacts the first team , then sack it off. Only do it if you can afford to do it and not effect the sole reason the club exisits.

A good training ground and youth set up doesn't increase attendances, it doesn't increase prize money. It's a drain on finance in all reality. It's cloud cuckoo land stuff if they think they will be selling youth every season for hundreds of thousands of pounds every season to finance the club. 

Questions for me about what has happened to the Nisbet money, and selling naming rights for the stadium. That must've been close to the 800,000 quid to build the first phase of training ground right there. On top of that there is the season tocket sales of 3500, the lifeline money.  I would love to know how much they have actually put into the club. We seemed to be managing our finances far better before they arrived and were buying better players around the Stevie Crawford era before they came in.  I mean when Ashcroft left the club I was actually quite pleased. I though he was awful in his last season. Now there is a big meltdown that we have not signed him on loan for a few months. Shows how poor our recruitment has been over the last 2-3 years.

Seems to be a lot of money spent on professional people running their club. Struggling to see the value they have brought. Allegedly about to make a huge loss from last year and another one this year. Absolute failures in the transfer market and completely disengaged a big section of the support. Their employment with us needs to be reviewed at the end of the season along with whoever is looking after the sports science and conditioning of our players. So many under performing emloyees at the club. Including the management team. 

2 minutes ago, Chubbychops said:

I care about the first team first and foremost. If we have a good training centre and youth set-up to support that team then even better.

If the youth set-up and training centre impacts the first team , then sack it off. Only do it if you can afford to do it and not effect the sole reason the club exisits.

A good training ground and youth set up doesn't increase attendances, it doesn't increase prize money. It's a drain on finance in all reality. It's cloud cuckoo land stuff if they think they will be selling youth every season for hundreds of thousands of pounds every season to finance the club. 

Questions for me about what has happened to the Nisbet money, and selling naming rights for the stadium. That must've been close to the 800,000 quid to build the first phase of training ground right there. On top of that there is the season tocket sales of 3500, the lifeline money.  I would love to know how much they have actually put into the club. We seemed to be managing our finances far better before they arrived and were buying better players around the Stevie Crawford era before they came in.  I mean when Ashcroft left the club I was actually quite pleased. I though he was awful in his last season. Now there is a big meltdown that we have not signed him on loan for a few months. Shows how poor our recruitment has been over the last 2-3 years.

Seems to be a lot of money spent on professional people running their club. Struggling to see the value they have brought. Allegedly about to make a huge loss from last year and another one this year. Absolute failures in the transfer market and completely disengaged a big section of the support. Their employment with us needs to be reviewed at the end of the season along with whoever is looking after the sports science and conditioning of our players. So many under performing emloyees at the club. Including the management team. 

These guys came in and stated they weren’t going to fling copious amounts of money into the playing side of this. The impression I got was evolution not revolution. 
What happened to the Nesbit money? How do you know it wasn’t used to help finance player contracts and release clauses for KRH and Otoo? 
These professionals that have came in to run the club won’t be working for bridies either, maintaining the stadium, bust pipes and running repairs to the ground wouldn’t be done for free, and who knows what else was required? Folks need to get a grip if they think every penny of income should be spent on first team players, but it would appear that’s what many are wanting. 
The truth is that none of the average walk up fans, ST holders, and life line contributors know the inner workings, they all appear to demand success ASAP, and lose their shit if we don’t get it. 
IMO these guys are looking far further ahead than winning every game, naturally, like us they’ll want to win every game and are likely even more frustrated than us that their investment is stalling due to an unprecedented amount of injuries we are getting. Because we aren’t getting a statement from the chairman like Ross did to appease fans appears to be a fault, yet many were rolling their eyes every time Ross did make statements. 
Fickle as f**k is an understatement. 

15 minutes ago, Wacky said:

These guys came in and stated they weren’t going to fling copious amounts of money into the playing side of this. The impression I got was evolution not revolution. 
What happened to the Nesbit money? How do you know it wasn’t used to help finance player contracts and release clauses for KRH and Otoo? 
These professionals that have came in to run the club won’t be working for bridies either, maintaining the stadium, bust pipes and running repairs to the ground wouldn’t be done for free, and who knows what else was required? Folks need to get a grip if they think every penny of income should be spent on first team players, but it would appear that’s what many are wanting. 
The truth is that none of the average walk up fans, ST holders, and life line contributors know the inner workings, they all appear to demand success ASAP, and lose their shit if we don’t get it. 
IMO these guys are looking far further ahead than winning every game, naturally, like us they’ll want to win every game and are likely even more frustrated than us that their investment is stalling due to an unprecedented amount of injuries we are getting. Because we aren’t getting a statement from the chairman like Ross did to appease fans appears to be a fault, yet many were rolling their eyes every time Ross did make statements. 
Fickle as f**k is an understatement. 

I don't think it's being fickle at all. We won promotion middle of April and were in a position to steal a march on everybody else for the up coming season. Recruitment is the single most important thing at our level of football and we made a rip roaring arse of it.

Edited by Rob1885

5 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Are we at the stage yet on here where, as I've seen elsewhere, 'The Germans' will be outright accused of stealing money from the club?

Have you seen any posts of that on here? 

Just now, Rob1885 said:

I don't think it's being fickle at all. We won promotion middle of April and were in a position to steak a march on everybody else for the up coming season. Recruitment is the single most important thing at our level of football and we made a rip roaring arse of it.

Rt so much. 

7 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Are we at the stage yet on here where, as I've seen elsewhere, 'The Germans' will be outright accused of stealing money from the club?

It wouldn’t surprise me to learn that many on here are thinking this, but stopping just short of saying it 

5 minutes ago, Wacky said:

It wouldn’t surprise me to learn that many on here are thinking this, but stopping just short of saying it 

Odd post. 

Anyway, apparently Yogi has done an interview where he talks up Ross MacArthur, but doesn't speak well about Meggles influence. 

18 minutes ago, HoBNob said:

Have you seen any posts of that on here? 

No.

9 minutes ago, HoBNob said:

Odd post. 

Anyway, apparently Yogi has done an interview where he talks up Ross MacArthur, but doesn't speak well about Meggles influence. 

Wonder what many of the players would say about Hughes? Not favourable for sure.

Peter Grant has never hinted at any trouble from the board.

Edited by DA Baracus

8 minutes ago, Rob1885 said:

I don't think it's being fickle at all. We won promotion middle of April and were in a position to steal a march on everybody else for the up coming season. Recruitment is the single most important thing at our level of football and we made a rip roaring arse of it.

I agree about recruitment, and we all see the injury list.
Many agree that this is a major contributor to our league position. Here’s the fickle bit IMO. Fans jumping up and down about the boards expenditure, then raging that the board won’t spend even more money on players. Not only that but claiming the board aren’t doing enough to get targets like Ashcroft in the door when we mostly all agree that we’d rather be in a fight at the top of the table than the bottom if we were him. I don’t think we would have needed him if our own defenders were fit and well, I also believe we would be much higher up the league with our own fit players. 
So yes, I think that’s fickle as f**k. 

15 minutes ago, HoBNob said:

Odd post. 

What’s odd about it? 

4 minutes ago, Wacky said:

What’s odd about it? 

It just comes across as you trying really hard to find something to be annoyed about. Something which can't be proved or disproved. 

7 minutes ago, Wacky said:

I agree about recruitment, and we all see the injury list.
Many agree that this is a major contributor to our league position. Here’s the fickle bit IMO. Fans jumping up and down about the boards expenditure, then raging that the board won’t spend even more money on players. Not only that but claiming the board aren’t doing enough to get targets like Ashcroft in the door when we mostly all agree that we’d rather be in a fight at the top of the table than the bottom if we were him. I don’t think we would have needed him if our own defenders were fit and well, I also believe we would be much higher up the league with our own fit players. 
So yes, I think that’s fickle as f**k. 

We're currently second bottom, it's not like we could get any lower. 

It's perfectly reasonable to want us to be financially viable and worry about losses, while also looking at the squad we've assembled and wondering where all the moneys gone. 

We have the second highest tickets sold in the league, we had a club record transfer fee, multiple commercial deals, outwith teams being funded externally it's reasonable to expect us to have the second largest first team budget, now look at our squad, if that's what we've put together and we're still running at a loss it's reasonable to ask what on earth we're doing. 

We either have wild off the pitch costs, or we're really overpaying some of our players. 

talk of stadium maintenance etc is just a nonsense, there's not a club in this league who doesn't pay for that, but outwith Dundee United will there be any club who's had as much money coming in?