Pc Problems

My laddie's Pc has some kind of virus that someone sent him on MSN and I can't get rid of it. Typical wean, he said he knew the person that sent it, so he opened it... :angry:

A wee picture of Bill Gates poped up and said something sweary. Now it won't let me open any kind of anti virus/clean-up type of programe for any longer than a second, it just closes the programe down.

The PC had anti virus running and fire wall's etc, but it still got through. The internet still works, but the minute you type in the word virus in google, down it goes. :(

Any advice would be very welcome. :rolleyes: ...Cheers!!!

• Replies 11

Hate to say it mate but if it were me I'd be inclined to reformat the fooker. You may get away without going to such lengths but as soon as my PC so much as sneezes, I reach for the Windows XP disk.

At least it's still partially operational which should allow you to backup your files for a full reformat.

I am using this now since Mick posted a link. Its bloody good, gie it a burl see if it helps. ;)

Clicky

488474[/snapback]

Yup Avast is a very good checker. Some say it is better than Norton which you have to pay for! It is also good in that it scans web pages as you search through them making sure no shit gets through! B)

Imagine blaming Hannibal Jr. We all know you've been trawling bondage fetish sites.  :rolleyes:

488617[/snapback]

:lol::lol::lol: Don't judge people by your own standards....... ;)

Thanks for the help guys, I think it'll need to go into a shop for repair (just like Gary Glitters did). :o

I aint saying that this is defo what you have Hannibal just it seemed a possibility. Try START>>>>>SEARCH and search for monopoly. If anything turns up then simply delete them.

If not dload and run this and post up a log here and i'll have a look. dont get me wrong i aint up on all this just ive spent too much time online and getting probs like this.

http://majorgeeks.com/downloadget3155-1-78...8717e8bf44.html

if you ever want any software (anti virus etc) FOC then go to www.nxsecure.org simple reg and then you'll get loads a direct download links

I aint saying that this is defo what you have Hannibal just it seemed a possibility. Try START>>>>>SEARCH and search for monopoly. If anything turns up then simply delete them.

If not dload and run this and post up a log here and i'll have a look. dont get me wrong i aint up on all this just ive spent too much time online and getting probs like this.

http://majorgeeks.com/downloadget3155-1-78...8717e8bf44.html

if you ever want any software (anti virus etc) FOC then go to www.nxsecure.org  simple reg and then you'll get loads a direct download links

492636[/snapback]

Cheers mate, it's worth a try. I think that was the picture that came up BTW...

Im talking shite Hannibal. Looks like thats an old virus. Firstly what anti-virus you using and is it letting you update it?

I must admit i dont bother with virus software or firewalls as i like to 'live on the edge'. I know Kaspersky was voted the best lately in tests but the crack is nippy applying so have this

http://download.mcafee.com/products/licens...9.0/VSP_9_0.exe

Its the retail version so it should give you all the features etc. Turn your SYSTEM RESTORE off (see google for info) and then updat and run the virus software. Whilst your at it youd be as well using the best spyware remover i know

http://www.filehog.com/BPSFV/bpssr9203-fv.exe

You might as well run this too-

Mirror 1:

http://files.9down.com/Trojan.Remover.v6.3...ACKED-LUCiD.rar

Crack / Keygen / Serial Mirror:

Included.

Description:

Trojan Remover was written to aid in the removal of Trojan Horses when standard anti-virus software has either failed to detect the Trojan Horse or is unable to effectively eliminate it. The majority of Virus and Trojan Scanners are well able to detect malicious Trojan Horses but are not always very efficient in removing them once they have been triggered.

then reboot and maybe run it all again :(i know:() and then if clean reboot and turn on your system restore again.