Sons' sorrow

13 hours ago, FifeSons said:

That season had some really insane games. I've never seen anything like the 3-2 win at Forfar with 9 men and 4-5 defeat at home to Ayr. That was the first season I was old enough to really feel any major disappointment supporting Sons. Fortunately I was too young to remember the relegation seasons in the 90s.

https://sonsarchive.co.uk/matchdetails.php?id=3977

https://sonsarchive.co.uk/matchdetails.php?id=3988

Andy Rogers wanted a square go with me after that game

God knows, I'm not Jackie Baillie's biggest fan. But it's a decent statement and it's an election year so politicians will be trying extra hard to be front and centre on local issues to cement votes. If it gets our plight front & centre and turns some heat on CC then I'll happily hold my nose and support her on this issue. 

Edited by PWL

6 minutes ago, PWL said:

God knows, I'm not Jackie Baillie's biggest fan. But it's a decent statement and it's an election year so politicians will be trying extra hard to be front and centre on local issues to cement votes. If it gets our plight front & centre and turns some heat on CC then I'll happily hold my nose and support her on this issue. 

The Trust has worked with Jackie Baillie for a number of years and she has been very supportive and helpful from the community aspect.  There has never been any hint of seeking votes and indeed she and I differ on some political issues, but there has never been any suggestion that she is acting other than as a diligent politician and a powerful advocate.

People are of course entitled to their own opinion but that's been my experience.

12 hours ago, Sawkye said:

Great statement, especially from someone who really cares. If you believe that fine. She was so interested in the area she had to approach East Dumbartonshire trade unions for sponsorship. She like the rest says what she believes the voters want to hear.

So f**k. Her highlighting our ownership issues in parliament and bringing more attention to it is a good thing, regardless of your political stance. Good for her on getting involved and having an interest over the years.

Although I would like to raise an objection your honour, regarding the Stevie Farrell comment.

1 hour ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

So f**k. Her highlighting our ownership issues in parliament and bringing more attention to it is a good thing, regardless of your political stance. Good for her on getting involved and having an interest over the years.

Although I would like to raise an objection your honour, regarding the Stevie Farrell comment.

The Faz comment was to let readers know that she had written the speech herself 😉

New player report, from my first time seeing them.

Newbury - excellent, handled a very tricky opponent today very well.

Lennon - not impressed. (Too) easily beaten a couple of times, lost possession too easily a few times too.

Kelly - pretty anonymous, never did anything notable until 2nd half

Healy - wish he'd started, did more in his short time on than Kelly had. Looked promising.

I'd put in my big post yesterday that we don't shoot unless it's basically the only option, and it got me thinking about how few goals we've scored from outside the box.

In the league I think I'm right in saying that three of our 35 goals have been from outside the area; Ryan Blair's deflected opener against Bonnyigg, Finlay Gray's screamer at Station Park and Ryan Wallace at Balmoor. I didn't work it out for goals where we've worked the ball to the byline and cut it back for a tap in, but that must be our most frequent way of scoring. Which is great when it works, but might explain why we've scored once from open play against Spartans and Peterhead all season.

If I'm Faz I'm urging guys like he two Wallaces, Finlay and Ruth to just have a pop. In Dom Thomas' season with us I'm sure he ended the campaign with more shots than some teams in the league, he was shooting six or seven times a game. Sure the majority went flying wide, but they also lead to a lot of goals - either directly or indirectly from rebounds etc.

We also need to do something with corners. We're just no threat at all. We had 12 yesterday, and the only time we came close was when Darren Jamieson misjudged one. Without Kalvin, Durnan, Shiels and even Lynas and Malcolm, we aren't the most physically intimidating team at attacking dead balls. But we still should be more of a threat from them.

4 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

I'd put in my big post yesterday that we don't shoot unless it's basically the only option, and it got me thinking about how few goals we've scored from outside the box.

In the league I think I'm right in saying that three of our 35 goals have been from outside the area; Ryan Blair's deflected opener against Bonnyigg, Finlay Gray's screamer at Station Park and Ryan Wallace at Balmoor. I didn't work it out for goals where we've worked the ball to the byline and cut it back for a tap in, but that must be our most frequent way of scoring. Which is great when it works, but might explain why we've scored once from open play against Spartans and Peterhead all season.

If I'm Faz I'm urging guys like he two Wallaces, Finlay and Ruth to just have a pop. In Dom Thomas' season with us I'm sure he ended the campaign with more shots than some teams in the league, he was shooting six or seven times a game. Sure the majority went flying wide, but they also lead to a lot of goals - either directly or indirectly from rebounds etc.

We also need to do something with corners. We're just no threat at all. We had 12 yesterday, and the only time we came close was when Darren Jamieson misjudged one. Without Kalvin, Durnan, Shiels and even Lynas and Malcolm, we aren't the most physically intimidating team at attacking dead balls. But we still should be more of a threat from them.

All of these things are tactical choices. Those things happen because the manager prepares the team that way.

This may just be me misremembering things but it feels like we're fond of a red card in these crunch matches. Blair yesterday, Orsi in the play offs, I'm sure we had a defender sent off in another one last season. Almost as if the players aren't mentally prepared either.

2 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

All of these things are tactical choices. Those things happen because the manager prepares the team that way.

This may just be me misremembering things but it feels like we're fond of a red card in these crunch matches. Blair yesterday, Orsi in the play offs, I'm sure we had a defender sent off in another one last season. Almost as if the players aren't mentally prepared either.

Our only reds last season were Kalvin in the playoffs, Ryan Wallace after full-time against Albion Rovers and Ryan McGeever after about 10 minutes at Forfar. But Finlay picked up two silly yellows in about five minutes against Peterhead in the 0-1 game at The Rock this season, which I'd forgotten about until I looked it up. Carlo obviously got sent off for two (extremely) soft bookings at Ochilview too. So we've finished with 10 men twice against Stenny and once against Peterhead in five games against them.

5 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

Our only reds last season were Kalvin in the playoffs, Ryan Wallace after full-time against Albion Rovers and Ryan McGeever after about 10 minutes at Forfar. But Finlay picked up two silly yellows in about five minutes against Peterhead in the 0-1 game at The Rock this season, which I'd forgotten about until I looked it up. Carlo obviously got sent off for two (extremely) soft bookings at Ochilview too. So we've finished with 10 men twice against Stenny and once against Peterhead in five games against them.

What were the reds the season before? I was sure we got a defender sent off in a game but it might be McGeever I'm thinking of. 

Even the above list feels like too many red cards for me. 

15 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

What were the reds the season before? I was sure we got a defender sent off in a game but it might be McGeever I'm thinking of. 

Even the above list feels like too many red cards for me. 

The season before we had a lot. Seven in all comps.

Three against Airdrie in that ridiculous 3-2 game (Maclean, Buchanan, Geggan). Paul Paton and Ross MacLean in the 4-3 defeat up at Balmoor where we were 3-0 behind and down to 10 men at half time.

Carsy was sent off for dissent in injury time in a 2-0 defeat at bottom of the league East Fife. Which could be what you're thinking of given the magnitude of that game? Albeit the red was late and we'd already lost by that stage.

Interestingly Stenny have the most reds in League Two this season (6 to our 3, Peterhead with 4 are second) but they haven't lost any of those games. 

10 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

The season before we had a lot. Seven in all comps.

Three against Airdrie in that ridiculous 3-2 game (Maclean, Buchanan, Geggan). Paul Paton and Ross MacLean in the 4-3 defeat up at Balmoor where we were 3-0 behind and down to 10 men at half time.

Carsy was sent off for dissent in injury time in a 2-0 defeat at bottom of the league East Fife. Which could be what you're thinking of given the magnitude of that game? Albeit the red was late and we'd already lost by that stage.

Interestingly Stenny have the most reds in League Two this season (6 to our 3, Peterhead with 4 are second) but they haven't lost any of those games. 

Aye, I think it's the Carsy one, I think we were down to the bare bones and that didn't help. All does suggest we have a habit of losing the heid when things don't go our way under Farrell.

1 minute ago, The Moonster said:

Aye, I think it's the Carsy one, I think we were down to the bare bones and that didn't help. All does suggest we have a habit of losing the heid when things don't go our way under Farrell.

That was one of those games I'm sure where, if we'd won, we'd have dragged another couple of teams back into the scrap for ninth too. And East Fife were cut adrift a wee bit and on a horrible run. But they strolled it iirc.

Is there anything the fans can do to force Farrell/MacKay out once this season inevitably ends as we all know it will? I don’t really think there is, but it’s worth thinking about it in advance.

Edited by FifeSons