The 50 Most Influential Posters in P&B History

However, I do agree with you that the forum isn't as good as it used to be, and I think its partly down to fragmentation. General nonsense just doesn't have the variety it used to have thanks to the hiving off of so many pointless sub forums. There isn't the same interest and stimulation there any more, and there is less material to work with.

Forum Suggestions would be the correct place for this.

• Replies 2.1k

Forum Suggestions would be the correct place for this.

People always object to my plan of consolidation of sub-forums. Small minority interests personally object to being homogenised and integrated. They get the personal mixed up with the continuing good of the forum. Its not good business.

I'd forgotten about StennyHibee until this thread. I could be wrong, but I believe it was he who took to the thread about the murder of those prostitutes in Ipswich a few years back, and gave them marks out of ten.

Not sure you'd get away with that on the forum now, without some wee nyaff running for the report button.

1372775019-629.jpg

1/10.

Pretty sure it was Shetland Bairn that started that. Quality reading.

When did the rules change and what rules are we talking about anyway?

Personal abuse is no longer seen as funny and entertaining. Its now seen as, err, personal abuse. Racism, bigotry, homophobia, all are now enforced by the forum, which simply wasn't the case for wind up merchants back in the "glory days". The way that the way people interact on the internet has changed in recent years to reflect more the fact that people are human beings, and this forum is no exception.

I think the forum is past its peak now, but not because of a lack of "characters". More because of a lack of focus, and the effect of social media.

They didn't, it's just xbl attempting to bore everyone to tears with his pompous drivel.

Remember when words like "m0ng" and "hvn" were acceptable and sprinkled in conversation? If you've ever actually looked at the news, you'll see that prosecutions because of twitter are on the rise. Its the same as here. In the early days, it was a jungle and virtually a free for all. However now, it is a bit more regulated to protect people.

The forum is "past its peak" for the older guys because they're no longer the full focus of attention.

Nah, I know that I'm in the autumn of my days, no complaints there. You'll also note that I am specifically not criticising the "younger generation" of posters. More the setup of the place and the advance of social media.

So because we can't use two words anymore the rules have changed? Can you not think of other insults?

I think you've missed the point pretty spectacularly. The specific words themselves aren't important. I could easily pick others. However, what is important is that people are entitled to protection from extreme personal abuse and hounding, and get it. And this is a feature of all web based social media, not just p&b. Or are you going to deny this?

Personal abuse is no longer seen as funny and entertaining. Its now seen as, err, personal abuse. Racism, bigotry, homophobia, all are now enforced by the forum, which simply wasn't the case for wind up merchants back in the "glory days". The way that the way people interact on the internet has changed in recent years to reflect more the fact that people are human beings, and this forum is no exception.

I think the forum is past its peak now, but not because of a lack of "characters". More because of a lack of focus, and the effect of social media.

I remember back in the, as you put it, glory days, there were plenty of quality debates as well as some of the, again as you put it, personal abuse type banter.

These days, there is no quality debate to speak of, just endless boring threads where boring characters bore people to death by being boring. It's boring. Even you must long for a bit of edgieness again?

Or just one of them, anyway.

The majority who moan about it do so because they aren't the centre of attention. Funnier, more knowledgeable or more insightful posters have come along and the old guard have been lost in the shuffle.

If they posted more in the actual football sections they might stay relevant.

They could, but there are more interesting football posters who would get the replies and drive discussion. When the oft talked about highlight was some guy typing "Alshit Ferguscum" (hahahahahaha, what a mentalist btw), then it's easy to see the improvement over the years.

However, I do agree with you that the forum isn't as good as it used to be, and I think its partly down to fragmentation. General nonsense just doesn't have the variety it used to have thanks to the hiving off of so many pointless sub forums. There isn't the same interest and stimulation there any more, and there is less material to work with.

I'm aware I instigated the music forum section, and I think that's a specialist enough subject to warrant it's own area, as is gaming. However, there seems to be sub forums of subforums now, which is a tad unnecessary IMO.

That said, not sure I totally agree with your point. The better threads in GN were always around current affairs, the site itself (eg this type of thread), and general non-categorisable rubbish. The specialist threads within GN were pretty much always posted in by the same people who post in them within the sub-forums, so I don't think your claim that the site's 'fragmentation' as a root cause for the decline in quality is a wholly valid one.

Although I can't say for certain, as I don't know most of the punters personally, but I'd hazard a guess at the average age of the poster on GN dramatically dropping is perhaps more of an indication on why the quality is on the slide.

I remember back in the, as you put it, glory days, there were plenty of quality debates as well as some of the, again as you put it, personal abuse type banter.

These days, there is no quality debate to speak of, just endless boring threads where boring characters bore people to death by being boring. It's boring. Even you must long for a bit of edgieness again?

I agree that there were more debates back in the old days as well, but I honestly don't think its due to the posters. There are just too many sub forums. I can't be fucked keeping tabs on multiple forums, and I know others are the same. Therefore debates in things like other sport, films and games are stunted because there are just too many forums. What goes in general nonsense any more? Some politics, petty nags, rtbc, and word association. Everything else gets pushed into a forgotten box for a niche to enjoy. So I don't think the quality of poster has changed. I think thats as good as ever.

Another factor I think is that when something used to happen, my first stop would be p&b for reaction and discussion. These days, people just go on twitter and facebook etc. for their stuff rather than p&b, and I think it suffers for that.

What examples do you have of extreme personal abuse and hounding from years past? Ron burgundy, aside.

So apart from that extreme personal abuse and hounding of multiple posters, what evidence do I have of extreme personal abuse and hounding? Joozy? Pompey? Olaf?

Another factor I think is that when something used to happen, my first stop would be p&b for reaction and discussion. These days, people just go on twitter and facebook etc. for their stuff rather than p&b, and I think it suffers for that.

That's a pretty good point, in fairness.

I'm aware I instigated the music forum section, and I think that's a specialist enough subject to warrant it's own area, as is gaming. However, there seems to be sub forums of subforums now, which is a tad unnecessary IMO.

That said, not sure I totally agree with your point. The better threads in GN were always around current affairs, the site itself (eg this type of thread), and general non-categorisable rubbish. The specialist threads within GN were pretty much always posted in by the same people who post in them within the sub-forums, so I don't think your claim that the site's 'fragmentation' as a root cause for the decline in quality is a wholly valid one.

Although I can't say for certain, as I don't know most of the punters personally, but I'd hazard a guess at the average age of the poster on GN dramatically dropping is perhaps more of an indication on why the quality is on the slide.

I've mentioned the current affairs bit in my previous post, but regarding the age group, I don't think I agree with that at all. If anything, I would say there are less kids who act in a distinctly childish way than there used to be (Ochil Clyde, Dunc, Clyde Kid, David W, Sao Paulo, VikingTon, Exuberant etc. etc. etc. etc.). I don't know the stats, but I'd be willing to bet it isn't any different.

Edited to add, but I accept that I might be guilty of over-egging the fragmentation aspect a little. Probably some personal bias there!

I've mentioned the current affairs bit in my previous post, but regarding the age group, I don't think I agree with that at all. If anything, I would say there are less kids who act in a distinctly childish way than there used to be (Ochil Clyde, Dunc, Clyde Kid, David W, Sao Paulo, VikingTon, Exuberant etc. etc. etc. etc.). I don't know the stats, but I'd be willing to bet it isn't any different.

Edited to add, but I accept that I might be guilty of over-egging the fragmentation aspect a little. Probably some personal bias there!

You might be right. Can't say for any certaintly. Perhaps it just feels like the most tiresome fuckwits are all weans. Or perhaps I'm just auld!