Latest Polls and Latest Odds

Lex

There's a country far larger than Scotland which isn't an independent nation.

I'll give you clue. You would say it's full of foreigners and I wouldn't. :)

England is what 5 times bigger than Wales/NI/Scotland combined? The UK may aswell just be England for what little influence the other 3 have on anything.

One of the first aims I'd like an iScotland to have would be to get past this horrendous middle Britain attitude towards "foreigners". Where not considering yourself the same nationality as someone else is offensive and sickening because that's what foreigners are.

It's absolutely rank.

One of the first aims I'd like an iScotland to have would be to get past this horrendous middle Britain attitude towards "foreigners". Where not considering yourself the same nationality as someone else is offensive and sickening because that's what foreigners are.

It's absolutely rank.

Amen. It's treated as an insult on here which is absolutely absurd.

England is what 5 times bigger than Wales/NI/Scotland combined? The UK may aswell just be England for what little influence the other 3 have on anything.

So you won't be wanting Scotland to be part of the European Union then? due to the almost irrelevant influence it would have.

That's entirely different.

We would be governed by the people we as a country voted for. We would also be much better represented in Europe than we currently are aswell...

Wrong, wrong and wrong.

How is it wrong? Vast majority of countries in the EU are independent and govern themselves. And as far as I knew Scotland has 6 representatives at the moment, similar sized countries have 12/13.

Edited by 1320Lichtie

If the EU had control over welfare, the military, energy etc, I wouldn't want to live in a country with marginal influence over these things.

They don't and so I do.

Exactly, the UK is in the EU and look at the powers Westminster have.... We are lucky to have a devolved parliament though so they can tell us what we can do the way we as a country want ourselves. Be thankful.

If the EU had control over welfare, the military, energy etc, I wouldn't want to live in a country with marginal influence over these things.

They don't and so I do.

Exactly, the UK is in the EU and look at the powers Westminster have.... We are lucky to have a devolved parliament though so they can tell us what we can do the way we as a country want ourselves. Be thankful.

Quite. I'll leave you guys to the tiresome twins. I've had enough.

I'm pissed off I'm off work tomorrow and able to stay up later on here reading this pish, can't keep away!

I've managed to have a game of fives and a full round of golf today and the arguments are still ongoing... Sakes. :lol:

It's shaping up extremely to be a class vote. (give or take a few thousand odd on both sides).

Even the Courier's referendum road tour thingy had good wins for Yes in the likes of Arbroath, Cardenden, Lochgelly, all of Dundee, whilst the exact opposite in the likes of Dunblane, Kinross, St Andrews, Bridge of Allan.

If this is repeated by the nation/region/province/Zone North 21 AAA or whatever we are, will we vote yes?

I'm astonished by speaking to people I know and their ''I'm alright, Jack'' and many of these describe themselves as working class/Socialists yet live in 6 figured valued houses, 2/3 cars in the drive, yet of course, still Labour supporters and lots of mention the legend himself AlikSammmmmmin.

Imagine the sceanrio, we vote no 58-42. Catalonia holds a referendum with legally invited monitors from abroad,yet although Spain declares it llegal like they have been for years, yet the Catalans vote 65-35 for indy. How can we seriously with a straight face, I ken the SFA can, but I'd hope a god number of Scotland fans would protest that the SFA do the honorable thing and give our UEFA place to them.

Before anyone mentions Greenland, Faroes, Gibraltar - I can't recall any of them having a referendum on the issues and even if for example Bermuda have and rejeceted Indy. The SFA should do the honourable thing and offer up their place to a potentially independent Catalonia.

That will never happen because most Scots want their cake and ram it down their puss til their are puking.

Before anyone mentions Greenland, Faroes, Gibraltar - I can't recall any of them having a referendum on the issues and even if for example Bermuda have and rejeceted Indy.

Gibraltar have on two occasions voted to retain British sovereignty in a referendum.

What's it with people viewing the word foreign as a negative thing? It isn't.

This is one of the great mysteries for me. What's up with the foreigner phobia of BT et all? Look at Lex: he's actually sickened by the *idea* of being a foreigner. I guess they all hate the thought of being part of that group that they want to see less of.

Nothing will change my opinion. If you class the UK as your country GSTQ is your national anthem, the English and Welsh are not foreign and London is the Capital. If you class Scotland as your country then FoS is your anthem, Edinburgh is your capital and the English and Welsh are foreign countries who are in a political Union with you. Can't have it both ways, that's just stupid and anyone looking in from the outside would think the same.

Nothing anyone says will change my mind and If that makes me a vile Ethno Nat then so be it. :lol:

Far from alone in thinking this.

Not vile - but certainly an ethnic nationalist.

This is one of the great mysteries for me. What's up with the foreigner phobia of BT et all? Look at Lex: he's actually sickened by the *idea* of being a foreigner. I guess they all hate the thought of being part of that group that they want to see less of.

But any problem cannot be found.

Argument.

I'm in England 3 times a week or so, I'm in England now actually. I certainly don't feel like a 'foreigner'.

Do any Scottish people suddenly feel 'foreign' when they cross that strip of concrete on the M74/M6?

What sickening, divisive nationalism.

The fact that it is such a prominent thought to you whenever you are in England, makes you a sadder person than I thought you were.

It's absolutely rank.

This. I loathe the way that a 'foreigner' is becoming subtly painted as some kind of illusion that you are differently defined from another person, just because you come from another country. It fucks me right off.

Edited by the jambo-rocker

Could the Britnats have had any more of a shocker on this thread? RedRob with his usual chest thumping, thepundit with his baseless mewlings, Lex with, well Lex, and Mr Bairn.

Oh dear god, Mr Bairn.

Could the Britnats have had any more of a shocker on this thread? RedRob with his usual chest thumping, thepundit with his baseless mewlings, Lex with, well Lex, and Mr Bairn.

Oh dear god, Mr Bairn.

It wasn't the most productive of days.

Hardly any post at all.

Mr Bairn did manage to keep us all entertained with his abject failure though. :blink:

Aye, you've just hit on why we are ''the most successful family of Nations in the World''. We're the only fkg family of Nations in the World.

Italy, Germany, Belgium, Spain? And heaps of African states, although a few of those aren't really shining examples of peaceful coexistance. Nigeria is really (at least) 3 nations for example.

Edited by Carl Cort's Hamstring