Business / corporate speak nonsense

On ‎22‎/‎07‎/‎2016 at 15:42, DiegoDiego said:

"specialising in corporate identity / design / marketing / digital media / video & animation"

They can add bullshit to that list, I don't think they know what to specialise means.

Being crap at everything else. 

PArt of our new contract in work means committing to a working pattern for 5 weeks at a time. The idea is that because we're extending our opening hours, we need to cover longer periods, including periods where we're expecting to be busy.

What have they decided to call these important time slots that we need to cover?

Tent poles.

Tent poles. How the f**k do you consider peak business times and come up with the term tent poles? I know what I'd like to do with those tent poles, particularly with the aid of a large camping mallet.

1 hour ago, NorthernJambo said:

I think you mean it's the configuration of the scopes on the horizon...or some dreadful pish like that.

Well. who honestly thought in 2016 that sending an article to a colleague with the word "spunk" in the title was a good idea?

Occasionally it can be fun to slip in the odd ostensibly innocuous double entendre though. I remember putting up a testimonial to an much-unloved high heid yin who was leaving our place on our intranet. There was a line in it the big boss had written that went something along the lines of "So and so and so among other things has always been a p***k to the consciences of those who fail to give their all"

Open goal.

Naturally I sized the font so that it read at the end of a line:

"So and so among other things has always been a p***k

to the consciences of those who fail to give their all"

1 hour ago, ilostmyself said:

Big projects in my work are now referred to as Epics :(

It is an acronym for "Engineering, Procurement, Installation & Commissioning".

Basically it means "go off and do all of it and give us a call when it's done.  We'll be on the golf course"

I started a new job recently shredding documents so it brings me in to a lot of offices. Saw through a window some guy holding a meeting doing the projector thing. " mapping reduces mental friction"
Whiteboards all over the place with similar guff. This place had bean bags and mini table football games.

2 minutes ago, Nkomo-A-Gogo said:

I started a new job recently shredding documents so it brings me in to a lot of offices. Saw through a window some guy holding a meeting doing the projector thing. " mapping reduces mental friction"
Whiteboards all over the place with similar guff. This place had bean bags and mini table football games.

Document Shredder is a job? I thought folk just did that themselves.

15 hours ago, Nkomo-A-Gogo said:

Sounds like the real life version of the LifeInvader office in Grand Theft Auto 5.