All things Dundee FC

Aberdeen match in October has been changed to a 6pm KO.  That makes it extremely awkward for me to attend* 

I assume that means it will be live on TV?  If so, does anyone know which channel?  

* unlikely to get permission from my wife.

Edited by Shadow Play

55 minutes ago, Shadow Play said:

Aberdeen match in October has been changed to a 6pm KO.  That makes it extremely awkward for me to attend* 

I assume that means it will be live on TV?  If so, does anyone know which channel?  

* unlikely to get permission from my wife.

I doubt it'll be on TV, looks to be the continued attempt but Cormack and it American owners to implement some kind of weird prime-time game. I remember we did it for the game we beat them in a couple of years ago when Griffiths scored.

1 hour ago, RossBFaeDundee said:

I doubt it'll be on TV, looks to be the continued attempt but Cormack and it American owners to implement some kind of weird prime-time game. I remember we did it for the game we beat them in a couple of years ago when Griffiths scored.

Not good from a fans point of view but I guess you can’t blame Aberdeen for trying to cash in on Dundee’s international appeal.

11 hours ago, Pens_Dark said:

Appeal unsuccessful. Pathetic, but totally unsurprising. 

I think I must be the only Dee that thought it was a red. Not quite stonewaller territory, but like 80% red.

IMO he's raging because he thinks he's been fouled prior and takes out his aggression on the Killie boy. No attempt to play the ball, just wants to hurt him. Granted, we'll see worse this season; studs in shins and on knees etc but if it was the other way about I'd be screaming for a red. 

He needs to learn to compose himself and show more self discipline. It was a wee boys challenge and it completely changed the game, letting his team mates down.

Edited by RawB93

9 minutes ago, RawB93 said:

I think I must be the only Dee that thought it was a red. Not quite stonewaller territory, but like 80% red.

IMO he's raging because he thinks he's been fouled prior and takes out his aggression on the Killie boy. No attempt to play the ball, just wants to hurt him. Granted, we'll see worse this season; studs in shins and on knees etc but if it was the other way about I'd be screaming for a red. 

He needs to learn to compose himself and show more self discipline. It was a wee boys challenge and it completely changed the game, letting his team mates down.

How did you rate Deas challenge?

13 minutes ago, RawB93 said:

I said that on match day. Rules are you have to play the ball and by the time he went to ground, the ball was gone. It was at best a late and wild challenge and at worst an off the ball foul.

It was a shite challenge and as you said, not the worst we will ever see and there will be ones with real malice. I think he was just frustrated and it got to him. It happens but at a professional level, it really shouldn't. As long as he learned from it that's all that matters.

52 minutes ago, RawB93 said:

I said on here straight after the game I thought it was a red. It’s harsh but it’s reckless. Anyway, get big Mo Sylla in to dish oot proper tackles.

10 hours ago, RawB93 said:

You're not the only one that thinks this. Which is fair enough, you can look at the criteria of the rule and it could apply, exactly why the referee has stuck by his decision and why the appeal hasn't been successful. 

Pretty much unanimously, pundits who have played the sport have said there's no chance that is a red card and I'd tend to agree with the professionals on this one. Yes Mulligan needs to cut that out because it isn't the first time that his petulance has had him sent off, but we will literally see red cards in every game if this is the case.

In fact we probably won't, that is what fucks me off the most. There will be a tackle exactly like this one this weekend and it will be deemed a yellow. Inconsistency even in the same game as Deas literally left the ground to make his challenge, both feet in the air and 'excessive force' yet that is given a yellow card? Nonsensical.

The game is totally over-officiated nowadays with referees actively looking for reasons to give penalties, red cards etc. The standard in general is so poor. 

20 hours ago, Fifespud said:

How did you rate Deas challenge?

20 hours ago, RawB93 said:

Don't recall it and just watched the highlights back and it's not included - so nae idea, I'm afraid! 

To be fair the tackle was so late the BBC probably think it’s more appropriate to include the tackle in this Saturday’s Kilmarnock v St Mirren highlights.

12 hours ago, Pens_Dark said:

You're not the only one that thinks this. Which is fair enough, you can look at the criteria of the rule and it could apply, exactly why the referee has stuck by his decision and why the appeal hasn't been successful. 

Pretty much unanimously, pundits who have played the sport have said there's no chance that is a red card and I'd tend to agree with the professionals on this one. Yes Mulligan needs to cut that out because it isn't the first time that his petulance has had him sent off, but we will literally see red cards in every game if this is the case.

In fact we probably won't, that is what fucks me off the most. There will be a tackle exactly like this one this weekend and it will be deemed a yellow. Inconsistency even in the same game as Deas literally left the ground to make his challenge, both feet in the air and 'excessive force' yet that is given a yellow card? Nonsensical.

The game is totally over-officiated nowadays with referees actively looking for reasons to give penalties, red cards etc. The standard in general is so poor. 

I can understand why some are saying they thought it was a red but I totally agree with you. 
I’m surprised that more has not been said about the penalty - Bakayoko was less than 2 feet away. 
I guess over the season a few decisions will go our way.