All things Dundee FC

5 minutes ago, Bigmouth Strikes Again said:

We were mentally and physically fucked by the effort of trying to acheive it, so that was no surprise.

Fantastic effort from a newly promoted side though, no denying that.

We'll see how Goodwin gets on.

No argument from me. I didn't see Dundee much last season but by all accounts they did better than anyone could have expected in the circumstances.

Who’d have thought putting a derby on the first day of a season would send both sets of supporters over the edge.

This next, checks calendar oh F**K!!, fortnight …. is going to be hilarious on both threads.

18 minutes ago, Pull My Strings said:

No argument from me. I didn't see Dundee much last season but by all accounts they did better than anyone could have expected in the circumstances.

We threw away so many points it was beyond belief, we should have finished 1 or 2 places higher with significantly more points - I saw almost every minute. 
Gallagher, Moult, Watt and Holt are finished at this level, Strain is an unprofessional permacrock.

Derbies can go either way, we’ve beaten DAB teams way better than we are now with teams almost as shite as yours, but there is absolutely no chance United will finish top 6. It’s a relegation battle for the jobby sleeves. 

Edited by Fifespud

7 minutes ago, Butters Scotch said:

For the record, Graham , Strain , Sibbald, Moult Gallagher , Middleton, Watt, Grimshawetc have all played regularly for teams finishing top six so stop chatting pish man.

We do lack CM's but no one is pretending Docherty is some great player and is not expected to start for us anyway. We will sign someone to compete with your Derry Vieira, if not in time for the derby then Babunski will slot in there who looks a pler by the way alongside Sibbald. Also, Strain isn't our marquee signing. We have hadn't our marquee signing as of yet.

The jump to top six obviously wasn't that much of a jump if Dundee made it in there along with St Mirren, probably one of the worst top six's of all time. Let's no pretend the premiership is the champions league ffs, every team can beat one another outwith the old firm.

'Thank you'

Graham - never played in a team that finished top 6 - mostly bounced about Championship and league 1 on loan - the season he made most of his 24 top flight appearances you got relegated.

Strain - past 2 seasons but a crock  - 17 league appearances last year - ooft.

Sibbald - your best player - but 2 seasons in the top 6 4 & 5 years ago. Mainly championship jobber.

Moult - player in his day - this will be a season too far. Slower than you. 

Gallagher - utterly humpty as we all know - was decent for 3/4 years about that long ago. 

Middleton/Watt/Grimshaw - 3 players your own fans hate and apparently club are actively trying to get rid of - great example. 

Babunki is a “pler” - against stenhousemuir - he’s had more mutual consent terminations than appearances at a decent level. Reeks of Wato Kuate. In any case player of the year nominee McCowan and young player of the year nominee Cameron pish on both his and Sibbald then you’ve got man mountain Sylla dominating both physically at the same time while Doc nurses his hammy and your back up CM options of precisely nobody watch on.

The gap from last years championship to last years premiership - maybe Livingston aside - was a chasm. County and St Johnstone were abhorrent and County pumped a Raith team you struggled with in 2nd gear. 

You boys are in for a shock and I am here for it - Dundee Utd, St Johnstone and Ross County are miles behind the rest of the clubs as it stands. You better hope you do some decent business.

Now take your very misplaced optimism elsewhere. 

Thank you again. 

10 minutes ago, Der Panzer said:

Graham - never played in a team that finished top 6 - mostly bounced about Championship and league 1 on loan - the season he made most of his 24 top flight appearances you got relegated.

Strain - past 2 seasons but a crock  - 17 league appearances last year - ooft.

Sibbald - your best player - but 2 seasons in the top 6 4 & 5 years ago. Mainly championship jobber.

Moult - player in his day - this will be a season too far. Slower than you. 

Gallagher - utterly humpty as we all know - was decent for 3/4 years about that long ago. 

Middleton/Watt/Grimshaw - 3 players your own fans hate and apparently club are actively trying to get rid of - great example. 

Babunki is a “pler” - against stenhousemuir - he’s had more mutual consent terminations than appearances at a decent level. Reeks of Wato Kuate. In any case player of the year nominee McCowan and young player of the year nominee Cameron pish on both his and Sibbald then you’ve got man mountain Sylla dominating both physically at the same time while Doc nurses his hammy and your back up CM options of precisely nobody watch on.

The gap from last years championship to last years premiership - maybe Livingston aside - was a chasm. County and St Johnstone were abhorrent and County pumped a Raith team you struggled with in 2nd gear. 

You boys are in for a shock and I am here for it - Dundee Utd, St Johnstone and Ross County are miles behind the rest of the clubs as it stands. You better hope you do some decent business.

Now take your very misplaced optimism elsewhere. 

Thank you again. 

You missed out Kevin 'Holtie'. Holt.

1 minute ago, Bigmouth Strikes Again said:

You missed out Kevin 'Holtie'. Holt.

Was simply using the examples given by Butters.

But a very good point.

Thank you

Edited by Der Panzer
Went too soon

7 hours ago, Butters Scotch said:

What a load of jobbies you speak on here man.

Firstly, we have a number of players that have proven themselves in teams that made top six.

Secondly, why does it matter anyway if they are 'proven' in the top six? Celtic/Rangers for example sign players usually from outside of Scotland, does that mean they are not proven either until they've done it for a season? 

Thirdly, we have brought in players from other leagues that genuinely look very decent on first viewings (Ferry, Trap, Babunski in particular) and expecting a few more signings to improve the first 11.

Lastly, just because your team scraped top six one year where the likes of Hibs, Aberdeen etc had horrific season doesn't mean it will repeat itself, there is absolutely nothing to split the two teams and if you think so then you are deluded.

Was the 1st view not Falkirk 2 Dundee United 0 🥴

3 hours ago, Fifespud said:

Last time the DABS were in this league they proved themselves to be an absolutely shite bottom 6 team. Did they get any points after the split? Their team this year looks even worse and the manager is a proven dud.

What's your point caller? 

Think he’s saying we’re a top 6 side but not good enough for the top 6. Make of that what you will. 

6 hours ago, HulltoonDee said:

United are certs  to go down, amazed the bookies are giving odds on it. Easiest money invtown but will have to wait till February to get paid out. 

Doon derby January 2nd.