Cold water Fish Help?

Greenlantern

Got the wee man a 'My 1st Aquarium starter tank' for Christmas. It's only 12ltr (31.5 x 18.5 x 13cm).

I'm planning on getting him a hardy type cold water fish to start off with, possibly Bloodfin Tetra.

I'm no fish expert and was wondering if the good people of P&B had any experience of cold water fish that would be a good idea to start off with, considering the size of the tank etc.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I know but the wee fella is only 19months old and is fascinated by fish, penguins and giraffes.... so I took the easy option.

So, cold water fish it is.

I want to avoid Goldfish if possible, what alternatives do I have??

Big goldfish

I know but the wee fella is only 19months old and is fascinated by fish, penguins and giraffes.... so I took the easy option.

So, cold water fish it is.

I want to avoid Goldfish if possible, what alternatives do I have??

Why didn't you get him a giraffe or a penguin. There is a poster on here works at the zoo, killing the sick penguins. He could get you one.

Maybe look into getting tropical fish i don't think they're too hard to cater for

I was thinking about tropical fish, but with the them being kept in the kitchen it can get quite cold. I'm not buying a heater for a 12ltr aquarium.

Start off small and if all goes well I'll look at buying something bigger.

If you're going for Bloodfin Tetra have at least 6 of them in the tank, and the more the better.They like to school together. Potential tank mates? Well, for a start, don't go near any aggressive fish. I'd look for bottom feeders as they do their bit in cleaning the tank.

If you're going for Bloodfin Tetra have at least 6 of them in the tank, and the more the better.They like to school together. Potential tank mates? Well, for a start, don't go near any aggressive fish. I'd look for bottom feeders as they do their bit in cleaning the tank.