Do we really need them?

Wee Willie

First independence , then , Scottish Republic , all in good time.

I agree wi' ye.

I want an independent Scotland and then a republican Scotland.

That way the royalists in England can dae whit they want wi' the royals (and pay for them).

• Replies 54

I'm a republican but at the same time I have no personal animosity towards the royals

Exactly the same here. I'd vote for a Republic in any referendum, but I'm not in a permanently seething state about them.

Royalists are the saddest of sad b*****ds.

And your blind and utter devotion to wee Nippy (you even have her pic posted as your avatar) is not as sad as your crusty w**k sock.

These articles I posted above.

They are okay by you?

You dinnae mind being screwed by these c**ts.

Exactly the same here. I'd vote for a Republic in any referendum, but I'm not in a permanently seething state about them.

I'll repeat whit I wrote earlier.

You dinnae mind being screwed by these c***ts.

Aye, I'm with you there. I'd vote to get rid of them in a heartbeat but Liz is a decent Head of State as far as I'm concerned.

I'd assume that Granny Danger will be putting the pair of you on ignore for this. After all that's the bizarre punishment I've been sentenced to.

To reiterate, I AM a Republican, I just choose not to harbour animosity towards the royal family in a personal sense. It's not their fault they've been born into a man made divine right. I hate the game, not the player.

I'd assume that Granny Danger will be putting the pair of you on ignore for this. After all that's the bizarre punishment I've been sentenced to.

To reiterate, I AM a Republican, I just choose not to harbour animosity towards the royal family in a personal sense. It's not their fault they've been born into a man made divine right. I hate the game, not the player.

I can mibbe see your point but each of them have a tongue in their heid.

They could give their side of the story.

For example Mrs Windsor could have said that they can have as many Lords & Ladies as they want but the second chamber of Parliament must be elected.

You said:

It's not their fault they've been born into a man made divine right.

But they ken which side their bread is buttered and are quite content to accept the unwarranted adulation.

And of course, the money.

Nah, Granny and I have a special connection. He's always giving me names. Mostly "c**t".

Get rid of them. The fact we have them in 2015 is utterly ridiculous.

Reckon wills and Kate might be the last on the throne.

Nah, Granny and I have a special connection. He's always giving me names. Mostly "c**t".

Yeah, my name calling towards you has definitely been over the top.

I think there are two types of Tory voter, the one who is really too stupid to understand the implication of what a Tory government will do the the poorest and most vulnerable and the one that understands and doesn't care. I think you're too intelligent to fall into the first category.

As for the thread subject, this sums it up for me:

Ye see yon birkie, ca'd a lord,

Wha struts, an' stares, an' a' that;

Tho' hundreds worship at his word,

He's but a coof for a' that:

For a' that, an' a' that,

His ribband, star, an' a' that:

The man o' independent mind

He looks an' laughs at a' that.

A prince can mhak a belted knight,

A marquis, duke, an' a' that;

But an honest man's abon his might,

Gude faith, he maunna fa' that!

For a' that, an' a' that,

Their dignities an' a' that;

The pith o' sense, an' pride o' worth,

Are higher rank than a' that.

And your blind and utter devotion to wee Nippy (you even have her pic posted as your avatar) is not as sad as your crusty w**k sock.

I'm guessing you consulted your Rangers fan handbook to determine your views on the Royals too?

I more or less ignore the Royals. They obviously get way too much, especially when so many people in our country are struggling, but I think they do their bit with charities and they do make up a lot of their outgoings in tourism etc. I'd vote to give them a pie in the face all the same.

The very thought of calling someone "Your Majesty" or "Your Royal Highness" gets my hackles up.and fills me with revulsion. Again I will say we don't live in Poldarkland any more. And there's no fucking way I would be addressing my local lord as "Your Grace". I mean really. Get tae f**k.

Calling some random auld granny 'your majesty' or 'your royal highness' is minterific

I remember Michael Caine on the telly years ago.

I think he was in a chat show and he was telling the audience what happened when he got a CBE frae the queen.

He said that a flunkey escorted him intae the room that Mrs Windsor was in and he turned tae the flunkey to be introduced tae her.

He said the guy was prostrate on the floor which apparently was de rigueur when in her presence.

Unless you're John Reid, and you tell them you "remain your most loyal, humble and obedient servant".

Bravo

Oscar

Kilo

Echo.