Voting Habits

Mortar Bored

• Replies 59

I will never understand the psyche of someone who is "only interested in independence and not policies".

I will never understand the psyche of someone who would actually vote for a quasi english party which does not support Independence in their homeland.

To an extent it's understandable - as long as Scotland is not independent, it doesn't choose its sovereign governments or their policies. The rUK does.

My thoughts exactly.

MY only concern 40 years ago and now is Independence.

When we are independent I will then decide the party to vote for.

In my case the most left-wing....SNP...or?

Easy peasy

I will never understand the psyche of someone who would actually vote for a quasi english party which does not support Independence in their homeland.

My thoughts exactly.

MY only concern 40 years ago and now is Independence.

When we are independent I will then decide the party to vote for.

In my case the most left-wing....SNP...or?

Easy peasy

In an iScotland I'd be voting for a republican party. I disagree with the SNP's belief that a three-year-old English kid about whom we (understandbly) know almost nothing is unquestionably best-placed to be Scotland's future Head of State. I doubt the SNP (or Labour, or the Tories, or the Lib Dems) know of unique but heavily-guarded leadership qualities inherent in George Windsor.

Aye and that would most probably be the left-wing party.

It's come as a shock tae me that the SNP believe that a 3 year old english bairn is best placed tae be a future head of state of an Independent Scotland.

I wid suggest one step at a time.

Independence then whitever.

As it stands just now what choice does Scotland (or even the rest of the UK) have in choosing their head of state.

I will never understand the psyche of someone who is "only interested in independence and not policies".

What's the point in being interested in policy if you'll only ever get the government someone else votes for? Or if you decide to go out on a limb and vote for a party with more liberal and progressive policies, what's the point when they just jump into bed with the fucking tories at the first flash of a bit of shiny shiny?

My point exactly.

Independence first then study policies.

I'd happily let someone else pick the government if the roles were reversed and the Scottish electorate started consistently voting for a right wing ideologically led government while the larger electorate voted more to the left. I only want independence to escape the increasingly rightward shift in the UK and the hope that we'll shift significantly to the left.

I disagree.

Back in the day the mainstream politics in Scotland were Labour & Tories & a smidgen of Liberals with an upstart party called the SNP.

Labour quickly named them Tartan Tories cos they recognised that the SNP would take votes from Labour rather than from Tories.

I think it proved to be the case.

Now of course the SNP takes votes from all Unionist parties.

I thought the tartan Tory tag came from the earlier SNP being a bunch of right-wingers.

The ones i knew certainly were.

One i remember from way back ended up helping Better Together.

The SNP only changed after the 79 Group eventually got control.

Seriously, Billy Wolfe or Gordon Wilson left wing.

Your having a giraffe comrade.

I thought the tartan Tory tag came from the earlier SNP being a bunch of right-wingers.

The ones i knew certainly were.

One i remember from way back ended up helping Better Together.

The SNP only changed after the 79 Group eventually got control.

Seriously, Billy Wolfe or Gordon Wilson left wing.

Your having a giraffe comrade.

Basically I dinnae give a f**k whether the earlier SNP were right wingers or no.

As I stated earlier my only goal (then & now} is Independence and it disnae matter who is offering it.

What you are saying is if they're no left wing ergo they must be right wing, they couldnae be middle of the road.

Anyway I googled 'tartan tories' and got these three snippets.

Wings over Scotland

Who are the Tartan Tories?

Posted on April 18, 2011 by Rev. Stuart Campbell

Labour politicians and activists are fond of labelling the SNP with the tag “Tartan Tories“. This is because Labour’s primary strategy in most Scottish elections (whether for Westminster or Holyrood) is to paint themselves as the ideological opposite of the Conservatives, and therefore Scotland’s best protection against them.

Daily Record

SNP blasted as 'Tartan Tories' blast by Wendy Alexander

00:00, 28 Mar 2008 Updated 08:39, 1 Jul 2012

SCOTTISH Labour leader Alexander launched a fierce attack on Alex Salmond's "Tartan Tories" yesterday

PoliticsForum.co.uk 04 Apr 2015, 12:19

News. Opinion. Debate. The UK politics and current affairs discussion forum.

SNP- Tartan Tories?

In the Seventies when the SNP were still a fringe pressure group, they were happy to live with the name Labour pinned on them as "Tartan Tories".

Definitely a Labour slogan.

We are called tartan Tories for helping bring down Jim Callaghan's government. Easier to blame us than blame themselves I suppose.

The SNP were called Tartan Tories for two reasons:

1. It was formed from the merger of the left-wing National Party of Scotland (largely students, academics and artisans) with the Scottish Party (a Conservative Party pro-home rule splinter group).

2. Labour supporters are sub-neanderthal fuckwits who prefer alliterative jibes to tell them how to think so they can concentrate on more important matters to their lives such as events on and off the pitch regarding their favoured half of the Two Cheeks.

Basically I dinnae give a f**k whether the earlier SNP were right wingers or no.

As I stated earlier my only goal (then & now} is Independence and it disnae matter who is offering it.

What you are saying is if they're no left wing ergo they must be right wing, they couldnae be middle of the road.

Anyway I googled 'tartan tories' and got these three snippets.

Wings over Scotland

Who are the Tartan Tories?

Posted on April 18, 2011 by Rev. Stuart Campbell

Labour politicians and activists are fond of labelling the SNP with the tag Tartan Tories. This is because Labours primary strategy in most Scottish elections (whether for Westminster or Holyrood) is to paint themselves as the ideological opposite of the Conservatives, and therefore Scotlands best protection against them.

Daily Record

SNP blasted as 'Tartan Tories' blast by Wendy Alexander

00:00, 28 Mar 2008 Updated 08:39, 1 Jul 2012

SCOTTISH Labour leader Alexander launched a fierce attack on Alex Salmond's "Tartan Tories" yesterday

PoliticsForum.co.uk 04 Apr 2015, 12:19

News. Opinion. Debate. The UK politics and current affairs discussion forum.

SNP- Tartan Tories?

In the Seventies when the SNP were still a fringe pressure group, they were happy to live with the name Labour pinned on them as "Tartan Tories".

Definitely a Labour slogan.

Correct it was a Labour slogan.

My memory of the 1970s SNP was that they didn't believe in Nationalisation.

They were in agreement with the Tories.

All 11 seats the SNP held at the second election of 1974 were ex Tory seats if i remember correctly.

Think all the seats bar one went back to the Tories in 1979.

Glasgow council in 1977 was an SNP/Tory administration who got wiped out in 1980.

Tartan Tories indeed.

Labour have ran the city since.

Changed through time with the socialist 79 Group winning and the setting up of the Parliament.

And Blair calling for support to kill a million people.

Labour went to the right on a whole load of issues.

Btw, what does middle of the road mean

What's the view like from that high horse?

I answered the original question. Why would that make you think I was on my high horse? Done the voting thing, doesn't make any difference and now I'm completely disillusioned with the system.

I've voted SSP generally in local elections, voted SNP twice, and now removed myself from the voters roll as they're pretty much all the same and it's a bit of a sham democracy.

I don't think right now. Indy offers a real choice. Hope that lasts a while.