Old photos of your club

16 hours ago, AyrshireTon said:

Airdrie team from 1980-81. A few belters in here, including a very young John Martin.

Airdrie 1980-81.jpg

Tommy Veitch and Bobby Russell were ex-Morton. Sandy Clark is front row centre. Between Clark and Russell is a man well known on P&B as the "St. Mirren sweary filter".

At least 5 former Bairns in this. Who?

17 hours ago, AyrshireTon said:

Airdrie team from 1980-81. A few belters in here, including a very young John Martin.

Airdrie 1980-81.jpg

Tommy Veitch and Bobby Russell were ex-Morton. Sandy Clark is front row centre. Between Clark and Russell is a man well known on P&B as the "St. Mirren sweary filter".

4 hours ago, Boghead ranter said:

Albert Burnett had a wee spell with Sons.

As did Frank Close.

4 hours ago, AyrshireTon said:

Can't let the thread go without posting this - the Premier League table from 10/11/79

1979.11.10 League Table.jpg

Prior to the games on 3rd November, Celtic were one point clear at the top (and had lost 1-0 at Cappielow a fortnight earlier). They lost 2-0 at Kilmarnock, and we drew 0-0 at home with St. Mirren (a mud bath of a game played in a monsoon - an Andy Ritchie penalty sent Billy Thomson the wrong way but rolled in the mud and stopped before it reached the line). Having the same goal difference, we went top on goals scored - with a part time team. The following week, Celtic won 1-0 at Tannadice and we won 2-1 at Pittodrie, meaning we stayed top.

A week later we beat Dundee 2-0, but Celtic won 3-0 against Hibs, and our brief moment at the top of the country was over.

Two games in December, Rangers at home and Celtic away, would each see some satanic officiating from which our season never really recovered, and we finished sixth. 

Alex Ferguson's Aberdeen won the league that year.......Didn't they beat you over the Christmas period then in blizzard conditions?

10 minutes ago, sjc said:

Alex Ferguson's Aberdeen won the league that year.......Didn't they beat you over the Christmas period then in blizzard conditions?

Not sure about Aberdeen - they beat us in December in the LC semi and we beat them at Scapa on Jan 5th.

The blizzard defeat you're thinking of might have been the 2-1 loss against Kilmarnock at Cappielow.

1980.1.19 Morton v Kilmarnock.jpg

Just now, Jumbo Muir said:

Keeper in tracky bottoms and an orange ball, just get on with it. None of this pitch inspection pish.

Agree. There's a cracking Morton v Rangers cup game form the mid 80s on Youtube where Cappielow is almost covered in solid snow.

One for St. Mirren fans - Jackie when he was with the Arabs.

Jackie Copland.jpg

7 minutes ago, HibeeJibee said:

Down the road at Tannadice in 1963 efforts were well underway to thaw the pitch. With ploughs and tar-burners...

B4-D73gCQAA5vhT.jpg

1963Jan1.jpg     30122355.jpg

1963Jan2.jpg

The top pic can't be from 1963 as there is a roof on the terracing where the Gorge Fox Stand is now that wasn't built until the late 70s early 80s (as seen in pic 3_.

Edited by cowdenbeath

Finally for now - I'm sceptical whether these actually are photos from the game in question but they appear in articles about it.

Fog of "pea-souper" proportions proves no barrier to the Edinburgh derby on 1st January 1940.

As was traditional Hibs & Hearts met on New Year's Day 1940: on this occasion in the SFL Eastern Division introduced in response to the war emergency.

Despite visibility reduced to 10 feet the match got underway with 14,000 supporters in the ground (and presumably hoping for plenty of action down the wings). More worryingly for the authorities the game was scheduled for live radio broadcast - and so ditching the coverage would have alerted the Luftwaffe to ideal conditions over Edinburgh and the Forth. A chain of runners was setup from pitchside to the commentary box to relay information to the commentator, but this proved futile as barely anything could be seen from the touchline either.

Accordingly the intrepid journalist simply invented the action, and regaled his listeners with 90 minutes of acrobatic shots, wonder saves, astonishing tackles and spectacular goals.

CXoY9qFWwAAS4db.jpg

CXjOUwYWQAAl_vh.jpg

Truth can be stranger than fiction - the real-life game finished Hibs 5-6 Hearts, and should by all accounts rank as one of the great Edinburgh derbies. Rather unfortunate no-one saw anything of it.

Incidents included the ref blowing for HT 2mins early, one of the 'keepers being left on the pitch at FT, and it taking some fans 10mins to discover the game was over.

Commentator himself carried-on for 15mins before realising.

Truly another era.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/classic-match-hibs-v-hearts-new-year-s-day-1940-1-3253045

http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/retro/228444/retro-football-war-effort-forces-bbc-to-commentate-on-imaginary-match-as-thick-fog-envelopes-hibs-hearts-derby-on-new-years-day-1940.html

http://www.scottishleague.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1222

We played Preston North End in the Anglo-Scottish Cup in the late 70s in fog. Towards the end you had to rely on hearing a "Hooray" or "Boo" from whichever fans could see the action just to know who had possession.

The photos below don't quite do it justice.

1979.10.18 Morton v Preston NE.jpg

On Tuesday, December 27, 2016 at 20:02, AyrshireTon said:

Airdrie 1980-81.jpg

Three ex Queens players plus one former assistant manager of course.

On 12/27/2016 at 20:02, AyrshireTon said:

Airdrie 1980-81.jpg

Quite a few ex Cowden players - Ernie McGarr and Jock Martin, Willie McCulloch and Davie Shanks.

Davie Thompson went onto become a decent scorer with Stirling Albion getting 7 in their famous 20-0 win over Selkirk, also remember Harry Erwin at Stenny, Jim Rodger at Clydebank as well as Sandy Clark and John McVeigh.

8 hours ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Burnett, Shanks, McVeigh, McGuire and...

Ok, I've got Burnett, McVeigh, McGuire, Russell and Gordon Hamilton. The others that you quote may well be right too although I don't remember them. There may even be others too?

TBH the Gordon Hamilton we had was a centre back around the late 70's/early 80's, big guy with an affro and I'm assuming it's the same guy.