On 10/09/2024 at 16:22, AndyM said:

Absolutely. Every single coach at Hibs (and also Hearts) leads a charmed life in the job. When results go south the moaning starts and then the Board feels they need to act and do something.  The days of an Eddie Turnbull figure being in post for a decade are long gone. The kneejerk reaction in sacking Jack Ross after a few bad results was still one of the most idiotic things Hibs have done.  Ron Gordon admitted to this himself and its fallout has affected the club negatively for the last 3 years.

Mackay has a huge job and it is going to take time.

Hardly a few bad results!! Two semi finals and a Scottish Cup Final!! It wasn’t knee jerk or idiotic. If Jack Ross is such a good manager, why has he not gone onto greater things?

1 hour ago, Glen Sannox said:

Hardly a few bad results!! Two semi finals and a Scottish Cup Final!! It wasn’t knee jerk or idiotic. If Jack Ross is such a good manager, why has he not gone onto greater things?

I think Jack Ross is doing pretty well for himself now, and he's been working at Newcastle United for two years.

He'd taken the club to a comfortable third-place finish and reached two finals and two semi-finals, one of which we should have won. Results took a dip the following season, and Ron Gordon didn't get behind his manager. Instead, he listened to the bigmouths and young team dafties after a miserable match at Livingston.

At that point, Ross had already qualified us for that season's League Cup Final. Ron realized shortly afterward what a mistake he'd made and we have been paying the price ever since with a load of managers who never last more than a season and the club just drifting.

If he's on decent money, which you think he'd be after, it's a bit of a gamble. 35 next month, barely played this year, had a hamstring injury and couldn't get a deal after being on trial at Stockport. 

He was clearly quality a few years ago, but he has 7 goals in 4 years. Could be an expensive flop, hope not. Hope not.

2 hours ago, Tony Wonder said:

If he's on decent money, which you think he'd be after, it's a bit of a gamble. 35 next month, barely played this year, had a hamstring injury and couldn't get a deal after being on trial at Stockport. 

He was clearly quality a few years ago, but he has 7 goals in 4 years. Could be an expensive flop, hope not. Hope not.

Scottish football is completely f**ked 

15 hours ago, Glen Sannox said:

To be fair, he managed to keep Celtic to single figures when United manager which was some going considering how shite Utd were. 

Our club is a f**king shambles.

Long term planning.  

Shite loan goalie, loan centre forward, some c**t not wanted by Stockport.  Blackpool and Mk Dpns Centre half huddies, no Centre midfielder who can play forward towards forwards.  praying loans from Sunderland and celtic will run our midfield.  Aye nice one Malky you racist arrogant c**t. 

Planning for the long term, where?  Bowie that's all. 

Bottom 6 pish again.  

6 hours ago, Fraser Fyvie said:

Jonatan Johansson

Shefki Kuqi

Grant Holt

Adam Le Fondre

Dwight Gayle

This is football heritage.

George Best

Steve Archibald

Jim Leighton

John Burridge

Bryan Gunn

Ray Wilkins

Franck Sauzee

David Marshall

...we love a past their sell by date former top flight player

1 hour ago, Hoose Rice said:

Our club is a f**king shambles.

Long term planning.  

Shite loan goalie, loan centre forward, some c**t not wanted by Stockport.  Blackpool and Mk Dpns Centre half huddies, no Centre midfielder who can play forward towards forwards.  praying loans from Sunderland and celtic will run our midfield.  Aye nice one Malky you racist arrogant c**t. 

Planning for the long term, where?  Bowie that's all. 

Bottom 6 pish again.  

We've been bottom six pish more often than not since 1875. What are you driving at?

49 minutes ago, DukDukGoose said:

Find it out that Hibs were not in for Nisbet (allegedly) then go grab a well past his prime striker after the window closed?

Didn't want his baggage apparently. 

1 hour ago, DukDukGoose said:

Find it out that Hibs were not in for Nisbet (allegedly) then go grab a well past his prime striker after the window closed?

I get what you're saying but by the time Nisbet became available we'd already signed Kucharevich & Bowie who have been signed as starting strikers. We'd stated pretty publicly that we were in the market for a more experienced striker who could come in for those two when needed. Nisbet was never going to be that player. It was never a case of Gayle or Nisbet. Would have to imagine Aberdeen are covering a lot of his wages too.

Don't buy the baggage stuff. I think there might've been an incident once where he and Dylan Tait were fighting on a team day out but outside of that I can't recall much in the way of baggage. Maybe not the most likeable character in the world but pretty far down the list of least likeable characters we've had up front in the last couple of decades..

He might've always made noises about testing himself at a higher level etc but always tried when he played.

36 minutes ago, conboyhibs said:

I get what you're saying but by the time Nisbet became available we'd already signed Kucharevich & Bowie who have been signed as starting strikers. We'd stated pretty publicly that we were in the market for a more experienced striker who could come in for those two when needed. Nisbet was never going to be that player. It was never a case of Gayle or Nisbet. Would have to imagine Aberdeen are covering a lot of his wages too.

Don't buy the baggage stuff. I think there might've been an incident once where he and Dylan Tait were fighting on a team day out but outside of that I can't recall much in the way of baggage. Maybe not the most likeable character in the world but pretty far down the list of least likeable characters we've had up front in the last couple of decades..

He might've always made noises about testing himself at a higher level etc but always tried when he played.

That's fair enough but I think it'll look bad if we have a good season with him banging in goals, especially if Hibs struggle with the forwards not contributing much.
Maybe Bowie is going to be out for man extended time like Polvara for us, Gayle a stop gap.

From the interviews since he's joined us, he absolutely comes across pretty arrogant. Can see how that would annoy folk. Certainly has a lot of belief in his own ability.