Building a gaming 'rig'

young_bairn

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yeah.

Tips would be set your budget as high as reasonably possible.

Don't lowball your RAM I'd be going for minimum 16GB these days. 

Buy an SSD for OS and games and a large HDD for storage. 

Buy a BIG fucking case. Cable management is a pain otherwise.

I tend to go in big to futureproof as much as possible. 

The rest is up to your budget. 

41 minutes ago, young_bairn said:

Hi GiGi you seem to know your stuff. Mind if I pm you what iv picked out?

Sure. I'm by no means an expert but I'm happy to let you know what I think. 

Gigi nailed the 2 most important points. Big case to prevent future problems and a solid state drive for Windows (or your preferred operating system) so you can go from zero to desktop in 15-20 seconds.

Also dont buy a water cooler [emoji12]

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: AMD - Ryzen 7 1700X 3.4GHz 8-Core Processor  ($337.89 @ OutletPC) 
CPU Cooler: CRYORIG - H5 Universal 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler  ($46.89 @ OutletPC) 
Motherboard: Asus - STRIX X370-F GAMING ATX AM4 Motherboard  ($154.99 @ Newegg) 
Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory  ($152.88 @ OutletPC) 
Storage: Samsung - 850 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive  ($177.94 @ OutletPC) 
Video Card: Gigabyte - GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB Gaming OC 11G  Video Card  ($724.98 @ Newegg) 
Case: Corsair - 760T White V2 ATX Full Tower Case  ($174.17 @ NCIX US) 
Power Supply: Super Flower - Leadex Gold 750W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply 
Monitor: Acer - Predator XB271HUA 27.0" 2560x1440 165Hz Monitor 
Total: $1769.74
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-08-07 21:48 EDT-0400