I busked it at school and got away with hunners of O Grades, 6 Highers in 5th year and CSYS in Maths and Physics and a Higher in Biology in 6th year.

I've become a "Do as I say, don't do as I do"  dad.  My wee yin is just starting her GCSEs and we've agreed a revision timetable et al - all of which I eschewed at her age.

11 hours ago, Sonsteam of 08 said:

See the thing about Maths, I love stats and things like that - practical maths with money, percentages all that sort of thing. I just couldn't bring myself to be in anyway interested in finding the equation of a line, or a perpendicular bisector (I mean, honest to Christ, what is that?)

After completing the full SQA curriculum and 3 subsequent degrees, I can honestly say that a perpendicular bisector is the single most self-describing entity that I have come across.

What could possibly be simpler? They lead you into all sorts of other good stuff, like the fact that the angle subtended by a diameter is a right angle. Good for the heid and possibly also the soul.

1 hour ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Lots of people on here dishing out what they see as universally applicable advice, based solely on their own, by definition, narrow experience. 

Absolute scum.

On 01/05/2018 at 20:39, Miguel Sanchez said:

University: I sat in "Exam guide" lectures laughing at people who even in their fourth year of higher education, when they had ~45 minutes to write an essay on a book, were asking if they should have references to secondary criticism. Of course you fucking shouldn't.

A complete waste of time as any marker will spot it from a mile off, but I always had good fun coming up with bogus references based on reserve footballers in exams. Regardless of how the exam went, you'll always walk out with a sense of accomplishment having name-dropped Steven Pinkowski and Willie Howie in a John Milton essay.

To celebrate our last school exam (for two of us) a few us headed across town and had some lunchtime beers. As the clock ticked closer to 2pm we began to look at one of our group and asked him if he was forgetting anything as he was matching us drink for drink and showed little sign of making a move back to school. Just before 2pm the cry of "f**k I've got a geography exam" went up. We escorted the dozy half-cut lad back to school and waved him into the exam hall (they let him in).  

6 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Lots of people on here dishing out what they see as universally applicable advice, based solely on their own, by definition, narrow experience. 

Given that the OP specifically asks for people's personal experiences of exams, it should hardly come as a shock that people are commenting with their personal experiences of exams.

4 hours ago, The Moonster said:

Given that the OP specifically asks for people's personal experiences of exams, it should hardly come as a shock that people are commenting with their personal experiences of exams.

Yes, but it was the advice people were giving out with great confidence that I was highlighting.

11 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

And it has taken you 9 (nine) years of membership of P&B to uncover the nugget of truth on which the whole board is premised?

Just now, The_Kincardine said:

And it has taken you 9 (nine) years of membership of P&B to uncover the nugget of truth on which the whole board is premised?

Yes, maybe a bit of that.

It's particularly pronounced on this thread though.  You tend to get a lot of nonsense when people reflect on school.  That and blatant boasting.

• 1 year later...

I have 2 aunts and one cousin who are maths teachers and I got 29% in my higher maths prelim years ago. Shockingly got chucked out the class to Int 2 and absolutely pished it. f**k knows how. Was always useless at maths/science/technical stuff like that. Always done well in history because I actually found some of it interesting, the teacher was a wid and I realised you could pass the exams easily by just writing as much as possible in the time given. Transferred those skills to English and with the motivation of trying to please the fit History teacher and to get it up the arsehole English teacher who said I was useless I managed to get Highers at both. I have done absolutely f**k all with them since.