What is the point of Labour ?

pawpar

17 minutes ago, CambieBud said:

The fact that you have to bring up Johnson as the star defence, makes my point. Thanks

I don't think it does, for I could name another dozen, but by all means FUME away.

Starmer is a boring Blairite, a by-numbers phone-it-in Labour drone, who is desperate to win an election. That's all.

1 hour ago, KirkieRR said:

I don't think it does, for I could name another dozen, but by all means FUME away.

Starmer is a boring Blairite, a by-numbers phone-it-in Labour drone, who is desperate to win an election. That's all.

If only that was all.  Starmer is knowingly and deliberately dragging politics in the UK further to the right in the knowledge that there is no credible alternative, outwith Scotland*, to fill the void that is created.

Moving closer to the USA where the option is between extreme right wing and right wing both in the thrall of big business and funded by the same.

* I’m not saying the SNP are filling that void perfectly at present but have the potential to do so.  The same cannot be said for England.

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

If only that was all.  Starmer is knowingly and deliberately dragging politics in the UK further to the right

He also only got to that position by standing on a left wing platform in the leadership election. His campaign webpage is still up:

My promise to you is that I will maintain our radical values and work tirelessly to get Labour in to power – so that we can advance the interests of the people our party was created to serve.

Based on the moral case for socialism, here is where I stand.

https://keirstarmer.com/plans/10-pledges/

The guy is a fucking c**t, and I absolutely despise him. I hate him more than I hate Airdrieonians. 

4 hours ago, CambieBud said:

Starmer is the most morally bankrupt politician I have seen in my lifetime. A man with no values whatsoever.  

Just a born loser.  Even when he wins the GE next year, it won't be because of what he's done, it'll because of what the, so called, opposition haven't.

Basically Labour will win it by default.

33 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

Just a born loser.  Even when he wins the GE next year, it won't be because of what he's done, it'll because of what the, so called, opposition haven't.

The Tories have won a fair few elections by default too, when Labour were a shambles. 

2 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

The Tories have won a fair few elections by default too, when Labour were a shambles. 

Aye it works for both.  And generally how it works everywhere when there's only 2 serious parties in a country.  England obviously in this case.

3 hours ago, TheScarf said:

Actually he is parked himself just to the left of the Tories (almost undetectably left).  That makes it difficult for the Tories to attack him and easier to portray Labour as a government-in-waiting.

Hopefully they will be more progressive once elected but I wouldn't hold my breath.

9 hours ago, CambieBud said:

Starmer is the most morally bankrupt politician I have seen in my lifetime. A man with no values whatsoever.  

Behave. While I have no time for him, there is a long line of politicians well ahead of him in the morally bankrupt stakes.

4 hours ago, TheScarf said:

Aye it works for both.  And generally how it works everywhere when there's only 2 serious parties in a country.  England obviously in this case.

I feel sorry for people in England whose politics are progressive.  They are totally disenfranchised.

12 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

I feel sorry for people in England whose politics are progressive.  They are totally disenfranchised.

You are the kind of voter who actually instigated this. Voting for Brexit caused the extreme right wing to take control of the Tories, hence tge government that has put us in this mess and ultimately caused Labour to be dragged to the right too. 

Disenfranchisement extends to Scotland because the Unionist party oppose a referendum for Scotland. 

For the likes of you too say people are disenfranchised is breathtakingly arrogant as you are one of the reasons for it.

1 hour ago, Highlandmagar said:

You are the kind of voter who actually instigated this. Voting for Brexit caused the extreme right wing to take control of the Tories, hence tge government that has put us in this mess and ultimately caused Labour to be dragged to the right too. 

Disenfranchisement extends to Scotland because the Unionist party oppose a referendum for Scotland. 

For the likes of you too say people are disenfranchised is breathtakingly arrogant as you are one of the reasons for it.

Although I totally agree with this statement, I don't agree with your Labour line, only because it was the right wing battle within that party that pulled them to the right, I don't think it was a consequence of the Tories personally.

10 hours ago, Highlandmagar said:

True. But Starmer is a Tory waiting in line.

Starmer's only shining light is that he's less right wing than the likes of Braverman, Sunak, Truss, Patel etc. In that context, Labour are electable on a UK level (there being no choice). But I'd put Starmer to the right of some of Thatcher's cabinet - the likes of Ken Clark or Geoffrey Howe. That's an absolute indictment on the Labour party and the wider state of the UK. Exactly why Scotland needs to get out - I don't think even Labour supporters in Scotland are close to being aligned to where Starmer is going (apart from absolute arseholes like Foulkes and Baillie). They're just hanging on in the hope he'll be slightly more socially democratic than the pish he's currently coming away with once the chips are down in office. They'll be disappointed I fear.