Back pain.

3 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

6 years ago to the day that my back went out inexplicably. 

The Tramadol summer I like to call it.  Happy days. Had to get onto the wife's diazepam to calm me down after about 3 weeks. 

^^^

giphy.gif

8 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

My back has been bad for about 10 yrs now. MRI shows two heneraited discs L4/L5 and L5/S1. I also have Facet joint arthritis at both these levels. I am in my early 40s and don't really carry much excess wait. Symptoms are all over the place tbh. Like Sweeper Dee said, not a day goes by when I'm not in some sort of pain. If one of the disc is bulging, sitting is a c**t.
Standing still is also a c**t. Anything more than 15 mins my back will fatigue and spasm. Exercise is mainly walking or decent amount of cycling, I stretch daily some days it's good others it just irritates back. I have been warned off of an operation for years but genuinely starting to consider it.

I have a herniated disk at L4/5 as well, and I’m a similar age.  I went to hydrotherapy for about three months and have been on Naproxen and Amitriptyline for about six months.  Went to a private clinic that recommended surgery, but the NHS folk said try and go through physio first.  That’s what I’ve done and my posture is 95% sorted.  Like you, I feel it every day, but it’s usually just stiffness and pain in the back of my legs which I can live with.  I just need to accept that my days of fives are over.  Never liked golf, anyway, but if I did I wouldn’t be playing it anymore.

TL;DR Hydrotherapy is salvation.

46 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

6 years ago to the day that my back went out inexplicably. 

The Tramadol summer I like to call it.  Happy days. Had to get onto the wife's diazepam to calm me down after about 3 weeks. 

How's the side effects after 3 weeks? I've had tramadol and diazepam a few times but only for a few days max.

Opioids are fucking magnificent although I believe that's not so much the case if you develop a bit of a habit. 

30 minutes ago, Dee Man said:

How's the side effects after 3 weeks? I've had tramadol and diazepam a few times but only for a few days max.

Opioids are fucking magnificent although I believe that's not so much the case if you develop a bit of a habit. 

Aye probably caught it in time but you can easily see why folk get hooked.  Just felt like Christmas Eve as a bairn every minute of every day. Couldn’t really sleep by the time week 3 came. 

Must say the diazepam was also tremendous and I think I know my Ideal cocktail come the revolution.

1 hour ago, Savage Henry said:

I have a herniated disk at L4/5 as well, and I’m a similar age.  I went to hydrotherapy for about three months and have been on Naproxen and Amitriptyline for about six months.  Went to a private clinic that recommended surgery, but the NHS folk said try and go through physio first.  That’s what I’ve done and my posture is 95% sorted.  Like you, I feel it every day, but it’s usually just stiffness and pain in the back of my legs which I can live with.  I just need to accept that my days of fives are over.  Never liked golf, anyway, but if I did I wouldn’t be playing it anymore.

TL;DR Hydrotherapy is salvation.

Puffin Pool loyal.

I've had hydrotherapy for my shoulder. It definitely helped loosen it up as the water obviously helped me move it more than I could out of water. 

The best thing I've actually found for loosening things up is reflexology. I don't usually believe in complimentary therapy bullshit but when I was in having my stem cell transplant I received reflexology from the Beatson therapists and the next day I could move my arm/shoulder more than I had in the last 3 years. 

At one point I was on codeine, dihydrocodeine, slow and fast release morphine plus high dose steroids to help with pain in my back!

10 hours ago, Dee Man said:

Lightweight. I got 3 boxes of Trammy's delivered Saturday. They're only 50mg though. 

15940210437696455233766197670042.jpg

7 minutes ago, Mr. Alli said:

Lightweight. I got 3 boxes of Trammy's delivered Saturday. They're only 50mg though. 

Don't get me wrong, I could easily have kept going but man had to get back to work to drehv larrys. Topped up with a wee drink it's a sensational buzz but I don't think doctors recommend that. 

Just now, Dee Man said:

Don't get me wrong, I could easily have kept going but man had to get back to work to drehv larrys. Topped up with a wee drink it's a sensational buzz but I don't think doctors recommend that. 

My days of swallyin' them like they're going out of fashion have long gome. Same with the Gabs. There's been a dangerous amount of those two put through the system. 

The height of my excitement now is occasionally 2 zopiclone and fight the urge to sleep. Outer body magnificence. 

18 hours ago, Honest Saints Fan said:

Puffin Pool loyal.

I've had hydrotherapy for my shoulder. It definitely helped loosen it up as the water obviously helped me move it more than I could out of water. 

The best thing I've actually found for loosening things up is reflexology. I don't usually believe in complimentary therapy bullshit but when I was in having my stem cell transplant I received reflexology from the Beatson therapists and the next day I could move my arm/shoulder more than I had in the last 3 years. 

At one point I was on codeine, dihydrocodeine, slow and fast release morphine plus high dose steroids to help with pain in my back!

^^^

8 hours ago, Mr. Alli said:

My days of swallyin' them like they're going out of fashion have long gome. Same with the Gabs. There's been a dangerous amount of those two put through the system. 

The height of my excitement now is occasionally 2 zopiclone and fight the urge to sleep. Outer body magnificence. 

tenor.gif

On 05/07/2020 at 13:21, John Lambies Doos said:

My back has been bad for about 10 yrs now. MRI shows two heneraited discs L4/L5 and L5/S1. I also have Facet joint arthritis at both these levels. I am in my early 40s and don't really carry much excess wait. Symptoms are all over the place tbh. Like Sweeper Dee said, not a day goes by when I'm not in some sort of pain. If one of the disc is bulging, sitting is a c**t.
Standing still is also a c**t. Anything more than 15 mins my back will fatigue and spasm. Exercise is mainly walking or decent amount of cycling, I stretch daily some days it's good others it just irritates back. I have been warned off of an operation for years but genuinely starting to consider it.

I've found sitting on one of those inflatable exercise balls helps ease the pressure.   

I had a bulge at L4/L5 for years. Would bulge, crippling pain for a few weeks that slowly receded as it reabsorbed. Sciatica was awful. Had about 3 episodes of this over 5 years and then BANG massive central disc rupture leading to Cauda Equina syndrome. I knew right away was totally numb no sensation from the waist down. Went to A&E and was rushed blue light to the then Southern General where I had an MRI confirming CES and I had an emergency discectomy that night. It has worked wonders. Caught the CES quickly enough just very minor ongoing issues from that and after a few months rehab and physio my back has been great. Have had an odd over exertion episode but that's muscular and self treatable with stretches. I was waiting for ages for an MRI and surgical referral before the CES but given the outcome I would recommend surgery for a disc if all else fails.

On 06/07/2020 at 08:37, Mr. Alli said:

I remember the first day I decided to give the tramadol a go. I was at work and was a bit reluctant to use it but aside from the back pain also had quite bad temporomandibular joint disorder at the time so relented and took some at lunchtime. It didnt really do much for the pain that I can recall, just made me happy. 

The kids all got A's that afternoon.