**Pie and Bovril's Top 100 Films of All Time**

Wee-Bey

61st (new entry)

Planes, Trains And Automobiles (1987) Hughes

71594-paramount-pictures-451a49c5ff014d55e54fe7688f83cccf.thumb.jpg.f9281988374bf03f787c6b325d357c74.jpg

"Those aren't pillows"

2nd road movie in a row here with this classic John Hughes caper. Steve Martin and John Candy are the odd couple getting up to high jinx as they try to make it home for Thanksgiving.

Edited by Slim Charles.

60th (new entry)

Mulholland Drive (2001) Lynch

mulholland-drive.jpg.4b6c8b67118cdc13a0928f8b1d53ef7d.jpg

"Hey pretty girl, time to wake up"

Dreamlike, surrealist, mysterious, erotic, nostalgic, the director says himself it's up to the viewer to decide. Just typical from Lynch. Widely considered one of the greatest films of all time.

Edited by Slim Charles.

59th (new entry)

Dr Strangelove or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb

(1964) Kubrick

Peter-Sellers-Strangelove-Stanley-Kubrick.thumb.jpg.239df9fef472ae9a9a2f01fe1c9f2ff9.jpg

"Mein Fuhrer, I can walk !"

A first appearance for Kubrick in our list with this political/Cold War/Nuclear satire. Another widely considered as one of the all time greats with Peter Sellers more than earning his paypacket with 3 different roles including the iconic main character.

Edited by Slim Charles.

58th (down 33)

Scarface (1983) De Palma

4ot6quel9s9hsptv_1594615699.jpeg.f7cb537a3a7f95e5756822417b1f92b1.jpeg

"So, say goodnight to the bad guy"

An iconic performance from Pacino as Tony Montana, the Cuban refugee who rises to the title of undisputed drug lord of 1980's Miami. Heavily stylised, oft quoted and it's influences can be felt from the Hip Hop scene to Iraq, where Sadaam Hussain named his US based money laundering front Montana Management.

Edited by Slim Charles.

57th (new entry)

The Longest Day (1962) Annakin, Marton, Wicki

B3-EE476_bkrvlo_M_20190605135426.thumb.jpg.301e707b1ee5b0a7e638c6ad80961701.jpg

"He's dead, I'm crippled, you're lost. Suppose it's always like that ? I mean war"

Another war movie for the list (we love it folks) sees this Best Picture winner and a quite incredible cast of Wayne, Fonda, Mitchum, Burton and Connery play out the D-Day landings in a docudrama style.

Edited by Slim Charles.

1 minute ago, Slim Charles. said:

56th (new entry)

The Longest Day (1962) Annakin, Marton, Wicki

B3-EE476_bkrvlo_M_20190605135426.thumb.jpg.301e707b1ee5b0a7e638c6ad80961701.jpg

"He's dead, I'm crippled, you're lost. Suppose it's always like that ? I mean war"

Another war movie for the list (we love it folks) sees this Best Picture winner and a quite incredible cast of Wayne, Fonda, Mitchum, Burton and Connery play out the D-Day landings in a docudrama style.

Watched this yesterday. Decent movie. 

38 minutes ago, Slim Charles. said:

58th (new entry)

Dr Strangelove or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb

(1964) Kubrick

Peter-Sellers-Strangelove-Stanley-Kubrick.thumb.jpg.239df9fef472ae9a9a2f01fe1c9f2ff9.jpg

"Mein Fuhrer, I can walk !"

A first appearance for Kubrick in our list with this political/Cold War/Nuclear satire. Another widely considered as one of the all time greats with Peter Sellers more than earning his paypacket with 3 different roles including the iconic main character.

An absolutely stunning and iconic film.

It's not just Sellers who is great in it. Slim Pickens and George C Scott are also tremendous. 

56th (new entry)

Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri (2017) McDonagh

4170.thumb.jpg.c900c860e10788d124606f473ef0df60.jpg

"You can't say that anymore. It's the 'peoples of colour' torturing business these days"

The most recent release in our poll is the story of a grieving mother whose purchase of some advertising space sets off a violent chain reaction in small town America.

Edited by Slim Charles.

55th (new entry)

Heat (1995) Mann

full_HEAT-4-rev.thumb.png.a262308b7cc5abc0c0c353a5a8754565.png

"Don't let yourself get attached to anything you are not willing to walk out on in 30 seconds flat if you feel the heat around the corner." 

Renowned for the first onscreen meeting of Pacino and De Niro. A crime classic from the 90's as the law finally catches up with L.A.'s most wanted heist crew.

Edited by Slim Charles.

On 01/01/2023 at 19:37, Slim Charles. said:

=96th (new entry)

Under The Skin (2013) Glazer

2569.thumb.jpg.d1a14315851836e94fed5c77fa88595c.jpg

"I have a place about 30 minutes away. Will you come with me there ?"

Scarlett Johansson plays an alien in Scotland seducing young men to harvest their organs, including a poor Hibs fan. Well received critically, but a box office flop, this one is also notable for the hidden camera footage and the use of non actors and the reversal of the predator/rape culture/sexual violence themes.

Aye, just watch this, the poor Hibby wi his wee stonner.

54th (new entry)

The Battle of Algiers (1966) Pontecorvo

screen_shot_2016-10-04_at_2_22.56_pm-1366x701.thumb.jpg.9d428540f61b62f5e897a82b231c2d6a.jpg

"It's hard to start a revolution, even harder to continue it and hardest of all to win it. But, it's only afterwards, when we have won, that the true difficulties begin"

The first of an incredible foreign language double here is, The Battle of Algiers. The FLN wage an insurgency for Algerian independence. The French respond by sending in their crack paratroopers.

This was in my list. An incredible film. It used everyday people rather than actors for all the roles except the French paratroop Major. Some of the scenes so closely resemble media newsreel that the film had to come with a warning. It's been studied by insurgents and counterinsurgency groups and was shown at the Pentagon during the Iraq War.

53rd (new entry)

Shinchinin No Samurai (1954) Kurosawa

Shichinin-no-samurai-7-Kurosawa.thumb.jpg.ddfd3ac1d329b6559052bb60dc14a75d.jpg

"As a matter of fact, I'm preparing for a tough war. It will bring us neither money nor fame. Want to join ?"

The Seven Samurai is undoubtedly one of the most influential films ever to be made. The story of 7 ronin hired by a village to protect them from bandits has been remade and re-imagined many times, most famously via the western, The Magnificent Seven and is responsible for the widely used 'getting the team back together' trope seen in countless other films.

Edited by Slim Charles.

52nd (new entry)

Donnie Darko (2001) Kelly

1748.jpg.99feb844ebaafb809bbc3b5dfb7128b3.jpg

"Some people are just born with tragedy in their blood"

In this dark cult classic, a troubled teenager begins sleepwalking under the influence of a giant rabbit named Frank.

Edited by Slim Charles.

=50th (new entry)

Dune (1984) Lynch

435ea1e4-2b07-4091-a2ba-1abccf920502.thumb.jpg.561ce15c68dc583507941bde664e83cf.jpg

"A storm is coming"

This Sci fi epic adapted from Frank Herbert's books has recently been remade, but it's the Lynch original that got the votes here. Flopping at the box office and critically panned, it now has a cult following.

=50th (new entry)

Billy Liar (1963) Schlesinger

billy-liar-1963-2.jpg.d7dd215a0493396e691bcce4a7b88688.jpg

"I turn over a new leaf every day, but the blots show through"

Tom Courtenay stars as the title character, a daydreaming Walter Mitty type stringing 3 girls along at once in this British classic.

=48th (new entry)

In Bruges (2008) McDonagh

Breaking-down-Colin-Farrells-rookie-hitman-from-In-Bruges-1140x855.thumb.jpg.c090fb2577537c74255cfef72e7d29dd.jpg

"A great day this has turned out to be. I'm suicidal, me mate tries to kill me , me gun gets nicked and we're still in fucking Bruges"

After a botched job, hit men Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson are sent to the beautiful medieval town of Bruges by their psychotic boss Ralph Fiennes in this dark comedy crime caper.

=48th (new entry)

Blazing Saddles (1974) Brooks

Blazing-Saddles-Campfire-Beans.thumb.jpeg.0073f98655003c96de0b9ad62796d9d5.jpeg

"Mongo only pawn in game of life"

A controversial comedy classic about the old West, directed by Mel Brooks. They say you wouldn't be able to make this nowadays, but why would you want to ? It's already been made and it's great.

=46th (new entry)

Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade (1989) Spielberg 

vbgfhu.jpg.553f0a88c527ff8df409e8b0e51a8c3f.jpg

"Don't call me Junior"

The third instalment of this popular franchise sees Indy bring his old man along for the ride as they battle Nazis for the Holy Grail.

=46th (new entry)

Lawrence Of Arabia (1962) Lean

915437423_image(1).jpg.4e6a5386cc47929d66783c0298beaa47.jpg

"Big things have small beginnings"

This classic about T.E. Lawrence and his adventures during WWI won 7 Oscars including Best Picture and Best Director. 

45th (down 31)

Die Hard (1988) McTiernan

2400.jpg.209e494fbf38da288ffa985163bcf008.jpg

"Yippee-Ki-Yay motherfucker"

The heartwarming Christmas tale of Bruce Willis' off duty New York cop John McClane battling it out with the late Alan Rickman's charismatic terrorist Hans Gruber at Nakatomi Plaza. One of the great 80's action films.

=42nd (down 7)

It's A Wonderful Life (1946) Capra

jimmy_stewart_in_its_a_wonderful_life.thumb.jpg.a13380ab42c69c8a3e86a16393333e56.jpg

"Ah, youth is wasted on the wrong people"

2nd Christmas film in a row on our list sees an angel intervene when Jimmy Stewart's thoughts turn to suicide on Christmas Eve. A heartwarming and timeless classic.