Hamilton Academical thread

1 hour ago, scottsdad said:

70d7cd87-228d-468f-9c02-65c8fbb9ed54.jpg

Welcome to oblivion, brothers. 

Scottsdad-dont know about oblivion, hopefully not (though our current board are doing all they can to obliterate us) but a league with not a single grass pitch does sound grim! Any positives to look forward to down here?

I thought it was pretty well known Imrie is very very pally with McGowan so not surprised in the slightest if he was laughing at the protests. Still doesn’t change the fact I would have given my right hand for him to have been appointed manager at the start of this season, the boat was missed with him when we appointed Taylor sadly.

24 minutes ago, Beckford said:

Scottsdad-dont know about oblivion, hopefully not (though our current board are doing all they can to obliterate us) but a league with not a single grass pitch does sound grim! Any positives to look forward to down here?

Isn’t Stirling Albion a grass pitch anymore? 

28 minutes ago, Scotty Tunbridge said:

I thought it was pretty well known Imrie is very very pally with McGowan so not surprised in the slightest if he was laughing at the protests. Still doesn’t change the fact I would have given my right hand for him to have been appointed manager at the start of this season, the boat was missed with him when we appointed Taylor sadly.

Yeah his relationship with our wee dictator was one of the reasons why it was weird he never moved up. Guess Livi / Morton just ticked more football boxes than us.

9 hours ago, Beckford said:

Nope. Not a single one.

It's purgatory. 

10 hours ago, scottsdad said:

Nope. Not a single one.

It's purgatory. 

Oh Joy! Cheers for confirming🤣 will need to compile a list of the best watering holes close to all the grounds then to soften the blow.

8 hours ago, dave_binos said:

Yeah grass 👍 

Cheers dave and apologies for my poor knowledge of the league. Appreciate the comercial value of plastic pitches especially at lower league level but still prefer a game on grass. Plastic not the best for the auld knees when playing 5s at my age either to be honest. Fair play to your lot for "keeping it real" 

Look forward to re-visiting your place. Do you still have the terracing behind the goals and are they used for away fans?

Edited by Beckford

19 hours ago, Beckford said:

Yeah his relationship with our wee dictator was one of the reasons why it was weird he never moved up. Guess Livi / Morton just ticked more football boxes than us.

Imrie was a regular at McGowan's Poker Nights above The Bay Horse before the Ownership changed(an Accies fan runs the Pub now).

One of my friends is a Professional Poker Player, so who attended these nights was regularly relayed to myself and a few others.

Main issue is the contradiction here: Charities at the ground against Gambling all for show,but quite a few well known football celebrities including Mr "wherez the burds"  were at these nights with a LOT of money changing hands.

A lot more went on  allegedly which i am not going to post on here and one thing in particular  was the main reason why he never got the Manager's job at Accies at the time and went to Livvy.

1 hour ago, Ye Olde Hamiltonian said:

Imrie was a regular at McGowan's Poker Nights above The Bay Horse before the Ownership changed(an Accies fan runs the Pub now).

One of my friends is a Professional Poker Player, so who attended these nights was regularly relayed to myself and a few others.

Main issue is the contradiction here: Charities at the ground against Gambling all for show,but quite a few well known football celebrities including Mr "wherez the burds"  were at these nights with a LOT of money changing hands.

A lot more went on  allegedly which i am not going to post on here and one thing in particular  was the main reason why he never got the Manager's job at Accies at the time and went to Livvy.

Sleezy contradictory dodgy nonsence associated with Mcgoofy? surely not!

I knew they were mates and was never that chuffed about it, but thought there was still a mutual respect between Imrie and the fans, guess thats not the case.  Naive on my part.

2 hours ago, Beckford said:

Cheers dave and apologies for my poor knowledge of the league. Appreciate the comercial value of plastic pitches especially at lower league level but still prefer a game on grass. Plastic not the best for the auld knees when playing 5s at my age either to be honest. Fair play to your lot for "keeping it real" 

Look forward to re-visiting your place. Do you still have the terracing behind the goals and are they used for away fans?

We’ve been a diddy team for a long time but always had a decent pitch (barring a couple of horrid months during winter) but it was in tremendous nick this season. 

Terracing hasn’t been open for a few seasons. Think there is an issue with the turnstiles and the toilets which need fixed but outwith the clubs control. Majority of League 2 teams had a fairly small support so sat in the home stand. The away stand will be open for majority of teams I’d imagine next season. Looking forward to playing Hamilton. It’s certainly been a while.  

6 hours ago, dave_binos said:

We’ve been a diddy team for a long time but always had a decent pitch (barring a couple of horrid months during winter) but it was in tremendous nick this season. 

Terracing hasn’t been open for a few seasons. Think there is an issue with the turnstiles and the toilets which need fixed but outwith the clubs control. Majority of League 2 teams had a fairly small support so sat in the home stand. The away stand will be open for majority of teams I’d imagine next season. Looking forward to playing Hamilton. It’s certainly been a while.  

Cheers dave.  From memory like the set up you have.

Never understood the negativity around smaller grounds in Scotland when they are designed well. A mix of stands and terracing is a winner for me. Even if all areas are not required or able to be opened for every game. 

Our place has two good stands (i like the elevated viewpoint but know its not for everyone) but four smaller stands or terracing would obviously have been the better option.

Multiple reasons why it was built the way it was and will never be "finished". The  current owners use (abuse) of the place gives it a quirky feel to say the least 😔

19 hours ago, D'Jaffo said:

Someone on our thread said we’ve spoken to Andy Ryan about bringing him back from Larne. He actually any good? 

If he had not moved to Larne for a piddly £10k,we would not have been relegated.

Larne are in European Competition and have just won the League,so I would be surprised if he moved anywhere at the moment.

3 minutes ago, Ye Olde Hamiltonian said:

If he had not moved to Larne for a piddly £10k,we would not have been relegated.

Larne are in European Competition and have just won the League,so I would be surprised if he moved anywhere at the moment.

Rumour was he wants back to Scotland and we were one of the teams that had spoken to him. 

Bullen spoke about getting experience in but I’d be hoping we could get better than him. 

1 hour ago, D'Jaffo said:

Rumour was he wants back to Scotland and we were one of the teams that had spoken to him. 

Bullen spoke about getting experience in but I’d be hoping we could get better than him. 

No chance of him going to Ayr, his whole idea for moving over there was the chance to play in a European competition. I also don’t see Ayr paying a fee to sign anyone unless they get a decent amount for Akinyeme.