Celtic V Aberdeen

1 hour ago, Dons_1988 said:

I think it’s fairly condescending when someone gives reasons as to why they’re not interested anymore and you say ‘nah that’s not the reason’.

Is that not the same as me telling you how I still find enjoyment and meaning in going to watch Celtic for you tell me “nah it’s meaningless” ?

1 minute ago, Jinky67 said:

Is that not the same as me telling you how I still find enjoyment and meaning in going to watch Celtic for you tell me “nah it’s meaningless” ?

No, clearly not. The equivalent would be me saying you don’t enjoy your pointless victories. I know you do. Much like I don’t doubt some people out there enjoy love island. They must do, unfortunately. 

10 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

No, clearly not. The equivalent would be me saying you don’t enjoy your pointless victories. I know you do. Much like I don’t doubt some people out there enjoy love island. They must do, unfortunately. 

The fact you put pointless in there is rather condescending though. You don’t really get to decide what the point is, the reverse is also true where I don’t get to tell you if there is a point to watching your team

Edited by Jinky67

4 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

The fact you put pointless in there is rather condescending though. You don’t really get to decide what the point is, the reverse is also true where I don’t get to tell you if there is a point to watching your team

It’s not. I think sport with a pre determined outcome is pointless. You disagree and you’re entitled to that opinion. You just don’t like mine and that’s why you get so upset every time I say it. 

But if you tell me you go because you like it and it makes you happy and I say no it doesn’t, most men of your age just have nothing better to do, then it’s arsehole behaviour. 

4 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

It’s not. I think sport with a pre determined outcome is pointless. You disagree and you’re entitled to that opinion. You just don’t like mine and that’s why you get so upset every time I say it. 

But if you tell me you go because you like it and it makes you happy and I say no it doesn’t, most men of your age just have nothing better to do, then it’s arsehole behaviour

Who was doing that? 

Also The outcome isn't that pre-determined, the bookies  favourite past 2 seasons haven't won't the league and Saint Johnstone have won 2 cups. It's very predictable at times yes but certainly not pre-determined.

2 minutes ago, gannonball said:

Who was doing that? 

Also The outcome isn't that pre-determined, the bookies  favourite past 2 seasons haven't won't the league and Saint Johnstone have won 2 cups. It's very predictable at times yes but certainly not pre-determined.

Oh you mean Celtic won it instead of rangers? My goodness! 

21 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

But if you tell me you go because you like it and it makes you happy and I say no it doesn’t, most men of your age just have nothing better to do, then it’s arsehole behaviour. 

If these past few weeks have taught you anything it’s should be that the outcome is never pre-determined. 

And don’t worry about upsetting me it’s extremely unlikely and you will know as I’ll probably call you a fanny and tell you to f**k off 😉

Edited by Jinky67

1 minute ago, Jinky67 said:

If these past few weeks have taught you anything it’s that the outcome is never pre-determined. 

And don’t worry about upsetting me it’s extremely unlikely and you will know as I’ll probably call you a fanny and tell you to f**k off 😉

You are an absolute fanny and I will stand by that. your response to me giving you a genuine response on how I feel about football was that of a completely condescending c**t. I am done with you now. 

18 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

You are an absolute fanny and I will stand by that. your response to me giving you a genuine response on how I feel about football was that of a completely condescending c**t. I am done with you now. 

No you just didn’t like me turning the mirror on you to show you your equally if not more so condescending posts. The temerity of trying tell me how I should feel about watching my team.

The difference between us that my reaction is not an abusive and infantile one such as what you have done a couple of times in this thread

Would this now be a better time for a heads gone quip? 

Edited by Jinky67

4 hours ago, gannonball said:

Tbh I think once you start getting towards 40 I think alot of folk can't be arsed going to the football every week and it's hard to justify the cost with other commitments. I have no doubt having a bit of a closed shop is an influence for some but let's be honest it's not the overriding reason when your at that age. Its an easy excuse really to point the finger at something else.

Can't speak for others, but age is by no means a factor for me.

I'll still be going to the fitba pretty much every week, just not the Scottish Premiership. I love the fitba, that's not an issue.

There's a lad I used to work with who gave up going to watch Celtic post-covid and now watches Clyde. He just got bored with it. I'm more in line with him than someone who move away from fitba through life changes.

I've got no weans and a missus who accepts it's what I like to do.

Just now, VincentGuerin said:

Can't speak for others, but age is by no means a factor for me.

I'll still be going to the fitba pretty much every week, just not the Scottish Premiership. I love the fitba, that's not an issue.

There's a lad I used to work with who gave up going to watch Celtic post-covid and now watches Clyde. He just got bored with it. I'm more in line with him than someone who move away from fitba through life changes.

I've got no weans and a missus who accepts it's what I like to do.

I’m 44 this year and I still love going, I have 5 kids, 4 of them boys who also enjoy going and part of the enjoyment is getting to spend time with them as it’s one of the few times they will be happy to entertain the auld da. Spending that time with them is genuinely one of my favourite things as soppy as it sounds

Just now, Jinky67 said:

I’m 44 this year and I still love going, I have 5 kids, 4 of them boys who also enjoy going and part of the enjoyment is getting to spend time with them as it’s one of the few times they will be happy to entertain the auld da. Spending that time with them is genuinely one of my favourite things as soppy as it sounds

At least they don't think your a c**t :lol:

14 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

No you just didn’t like me turning the mirror on you to show you your equally if not more so condescending posts. The temerity of trying tell me how I should feel about watching my team.

The difference between us that my reaction is not an abusive and infantile one such as what you have done a couple of times in this thread

Would this now be a better time for a heads gone quip? 

I’ve posted here for years and I don’t think I’ve ever before posted such a thing to another poster. Believe me I wouldn’t do it lightly because it’s not the route I want to go down. 

You can make whatever quip you like, I’ve told you I’m angry. And I’ve told you what I think of you. Slap yourself on the back if you think of it as a win. 

As I've said, I think it's been this bad before, when Celtic had Sutton, Larsson, Hartson, Thompson et al and Rangers had their Dutch contingent. I was in my teenage years at this time and was pretty enthusiastic about going to the fitba, much in the same way that if I was a teenager now, I'd still be enthusiastic. I'm pretty sure the only thing that could reignite my interest would be Rangers and Celtic fucking off. If there is to be a 'multi-tier' superleague, into which tier do Rangers and Celtic think they'd fit?? Say if it's leagues of 16??

16 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

I’ve posted here for years and I don’t think I’ve ever before posted such a thing to another poster. Believe me I wouldn’t do it lightly because it’s not the route I want to go down. 

You can make whatever quip you like, I’ve told you I’m angry. And I’ve told you what I think of you. Slap yourself on the back if you think of it as a win. 

If the sport is making you angry it's maybe best you call time on it M8, they're loads of reason why we still go to the games winning isn't the main thing or the result.
My first game was in 1978 and I was hooked,So many changes since then some good some bad,it's very easy to get angry at the modern game but too many good memories and new ones to stay away. 

14 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

I don’t post here for wins, there is no one keeping score. I post here to share my opinion on my team, things impacting my team and the odd occasional point and laugh at those across the city.

However lightly you take to calling me whatever you want is entirely a you problem. It just doesn’t impact me as I’ll just keep coming back whilst I feel there is a valid point to make. 

So do yourself a favour and just be your word and be done with me. If not then accept the fact i will challenge your opinion if I feel I should and you probably won’t like it.

14 minutes ago, 10menwent2mow said:

As I've said, I think it's been this bad before, when Celtic had Sutton, Larsson, Hartson, Thompson et al and Rangers had their Dutch contingent. I was in my teenage years at this time and was pretty enthusiastic about going to the fitba, much in the same way that if I was a teenager now, I'd still be enthusiastic. I'm pretty sure the only thing that could reignite my interest would be Rangers and Celtic fucking off. If there is to be a 'multi-tier' superleague, into which tier do Rangers and Celtic think they'd fit?? Say if it's leagues of 16??

Your top 32 is probably your Champions League regulars which neither of us are just now. So probably in the 33-48 tier…at best

Edited by Jinky67