Bowls - any players/members?

++Ammo - Airdrie++

LBA County championships this evening, QF of the district, I'm in the 4's, hopefully get a good run, it's a decent 4 TBF.

Delighted 2 of our members Gary and Paul have been selected to represent Scotland at the upcoming home internationals at Northfield, end of June, a massive honour for the guys and the club!

I've had a couple of throws on Sunday mornings while my son has been at bowling coaching sessions at our local club. 

Each time I've had a game I've been really sore afterwards (lower back/top of my backside). I've had the same delivery for years but I wonder if I need to see about changing my delivery so I'm not in pain afterwards?  The local club aren't insisting I wear proper bowling shoes/trainers and are happy to let me play in normal trainers but could not having proper bowling shoes/trainers be causing the pain? Or is there an obvious answer of trying lighter bowls?

Tips welcome as I do really enjoy playing and the socialising that comes with that

19 hours ago, FK1Bairn said:

I've had a couple of throws on Sunday mornings while my son has been at bowling coaching sessions at our local club. 

Each time I've had a game I've been really sore afterwards (lower back/top of my backside). I've had the same delivery for years but I wonder if I need to see about changing my delivery so I'm not in pain afterwards?  The local club aren't insisting I wear proper bowling shoes/trainers and are happy to let me play in normal trainers but could not having proper bowling shoes/trainers be causing the pain? Or is there an obvious answer of trying lighter bowls?

Tips welcome as I do really enjoy playing and the socialising that comes with that

If its only a Sunday morning you're having a throw, it might just be underused muscle and its sore the next day as its being worked! I'm like that at the beginning of the season but 4 -5 games a week usually keeps me fairly loose!  The shoes wont really make a difference tbh, most bowls shoes are more like trainers now anyway.  I personally think another game during the week will help, if you could squeeze 8-10 ends in on a Wed/Thur then you might find that will help.   Like anything else the more you do it, the better your delivery will be etc etc you know the script.

Overall semi of the Lanarkshire championships tonight. I'm leading for the fours against Newmains, we've got a singles playing and an under 25 so we've done really well to win our district and get to this.  I've personally never won a Lanarkshire title and the skip I'm with has been beat in 5 at this stage, fingers crossed we can get through tonight and make it to the overall finals!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1i4eOCOn-i2WRIMB4smtnwukufFStVrYjT5_QiVaB3fY/edit?usp=sharing

18 hours ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

Overall semi of the Lanarkshire championships tonight. I'm leading for the fours against Newmains, we've got a singles playing and an under 25 so we've done really well to win our district and get to this.  I've personally never won a Lanarkshire title and the skip I'm with has been beat in 5 at this stage, fingers crossed we can get through tonight and make it to the overall finals!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1i4eOCOn-i2WRIMB4smtnwukufFStVrYjT5_QiVaB3fY/edit?usp=sharing

After 10 ends, we were 19-0 up, called it a day after the 15th end and a resounding 21-8 victory.  Full team played well, I had one of my best games for a while, first 10 ends, at least 9-10 chalkers, ridiculous standard to try and maintain all game! Final against Dalserf on the 22nd July at Overtown & Waterloo!

20 minutes ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

After 10 ends, we were 19-0 up, called it a day after the 15th end and a resounding 21-8 victory.  Full team played well, I had one of my best games for a while, first 10 ends, at least 9-10 chalkers, ridiculous standard to try and maintain all game! Final against Dalserf on the 22nd July at Overtown & Waterloo!

Congratulations to you and your team.

Is the final for a place at the national championships in Ayr? 

I have been accepted as a member of my local bowling club! First membership of a club in over 8 years and the majority of members seem to be roughly the same age as myself. 

I'm too late in joining to play in the singles and pairs competitions but the triples and rinks are still to be drawn, hopefully get involved in those as i prefer team games to singles. 

I've got my own Taylor Lignoid bowls, just need the shoes/trainers. 

Really looking forward to playing regularly again. The club also has an indoor area for over winter 

1 hour ago, FK1Bairn said:

Congratulations to you and your team.

Is the final for a place at the national championships in Ayr? 

Unfortunately not this year, I was in the pairs and we were beaten in the district semi for Northfield. I've been fortunate enough to play there at the finals a few times to be fair, unfortunately not this year.

Its the county championships, basically every club in Lanarkshire enter a singles, pairs, triples and fours and they're all ran as individual competitions, Lanarkshires split into 4 districts, so win your district and go into overall semi (last night) then final 2 from each discipline play on the same day, same green in the County Finals, ours is the 22nd of July at Overtown & Waterloo.

1 hour ago, FK1Bairn said:

I have been accepted as a member of my local bowling club! First membership of a club in over 8 years and the majority of members seem to be roughly the same age as myself. 

I'm too late in joining to play in the singles and pairs competitions but the triples and rinks are still to be drawn, hopefully get involved in those as i prefer team games to singles. 

I've got my own Taylor Lignoid bowls, just need the shoes/trainers. 

Really looking forward to playing regularly again. The club also has an indoor area for over winter 

What size of shoe are you? I've got 2 different styles of Henselite shoes, more or less brand new if you're needing a pair? I'm sure they're an 11 (fit like a 10, henselite are smaller IMO), you're more than welcome to a pair of them.

I used to use Lignoids, big swinging bowl! Its Aeros I use, have done for 10+ years and done ok with them!

On 04/04/2023 at 20:17, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

I can't believe the price of bowls now tbh! I've got a couple of sets of Aero Grooves I've had for a few year but it's like £400+ now last I seen!

Just noticed this. Ebay has loads of sets of bowls, some as low as £40

Tended bowling greens for 13 / 14 ? seasons..

stand back admire  the green cut diagonal...freshly fed..

and then the bowlers appeared..

Jeez, never their fault but always the green.

One character kept saying 'this green needs rolled'...

Left the roller on a board at corner of green one morning, 'playing great now you've rolled it, big man'..

you guessed it

I'd just left it there..

another kept moaning about the moving of the rink markers..

saw him nicking chalk on edge of slab behind the number..

let it go then marked lots of same marks at some rink..

bowls on rink then a wee look and picked up bowls and stormed off mumbling..

not to say all bowlers were assholes, just most of them...

On 16/07/2023 at 20:07, BukyOHare said:

Congratulations to Ayrshire North on winning the Hamilton Trophy at the weekend. 👏

That Ayrshire team beat us in the group, absolutely no complaints aswell, foster was incredible that day on his own green 😂.

Lanarkshire county finals day today at Overtown, we're in the fours and it's to pish down all day! Hopefully getting blotto this evening celebrating 🤞

16 minutes ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

That Ayrshire team beat us in the group, absolutely no complaints aswell, foster was incredible that day on his own green 😂.

Lanarkshire county finals day today at Overtown, we're in the fours and it's to pish down all day! Hopefully getting blotto this evening celebrating 🤞

Stick in mate, hopefully a good day all round. 👍

On 22/07/2023 at 09:39, BukyOHare said:

Stick in mate, hopefully a good day all round. 👍

Forgot to post on here lol managed to win the Lanarkshire fours last Saturday, played really well and finished comfy. Also tonight was the Monklands championships starting, a burgh of Lanarkshire, played in the singles, played last year's winner and won 21-17, great game, some heads.

Got the Laney triples semi final on Thursday, Lanarkshire league on Friday so hoping for a great week 🤞

Just now, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

Forgot to post on here lol managed to win the Lanarkshire fours last Saturday, played really well and finished comfy. Also tonight was the Monklands championships starting, a burgh of Lanarkshire, played in the singles, played last year's winner and won 21-17, great game, some heads.

Got the Laney triples semi final on Thursday, Lanarkshire league on Friday so hoping for a great week 🤞

You quite good then? 😉

13 hours ago, BukyOHare said:

You quite good then? 😉

I absolutely hate answering that question 😂 I've played for a few years, play with the county, won the club championship 3 times, got 2 Scottish Silver Medals and a bronze from Northfield, won the district to get to Northfield 5 times (singles, 3 X triples and a fours), a few local titles as well. The club do well in the leagues also but I just enjoy it and it we win more games than we lose, then I'm happy 😂

What a result last night in the Lanarkshire League. 4 points behind first place, playing them away last night at Dalzell, after 14 ends we were down in 2 out the 3 games, a few cracking last ends and we came away with 6 points to go top by 2 with a game to go! Win 6-0 at home next week and that's 9 promotions in 11 years!