Bo'ness United 2023/24

Deanburn Dave

4 minutes ago, Deanburn Dave said:

Luncarty are bottom of East Premier.   Played 8 Lost 8. Scored 5 goals and conceded 21.

As away games go this is a good draw.

But , the only time we played them in the Scottish Junior Cup we lost embarrassingly .

So need to take it seriously .

Hopefully can cancel that one out .

On 23/09/2023 at 20:06, FK1Bairn said:

Didn't seem to be too many complaints from Darvel when the penalty was awarded, looked a stonewaller even from the other end of the ground.

5 hours ago, bigwullieac said:

Highlights up on Scottish Cup youtube channel. Got to say Lucas' goal hasnt been talked enough on here, some finish from outside the box

Can I take back that the penalty was a stonewaller? Looks very soft to say the least on the highlights 

8 hours ago, realmadrid said:

Bookmarked 

Post was the Luncarty league record this season (FACT) and an opinion that "as away games go this is a good draw.".   

I have seen the BU's slip up v several teams that on paper we should have beat but despite that I still think for an away tie in the Scottish Cup it is a good draw.......could have been a lot worse.

No point spending money for the sake of it, much prefer this approach from the management team than just signing players that might not be good enough. They did well with what little time they had, but most players they'd have fancied would have had deals agreed by the time they came in.

Do wonder if the Berwick situation might give a chance to shuffle the pack even if it's other clubs wanting to move a wage out to bring one of their higher earners in.

8 hours ago, seenitall said:

John Ward to Broxburn , was watching their highlights from Saturday and thought it was him .

Now an even smaller squad , how they have intentions to bring players in .

Keir is now the only left back as Rutherford is a bit unreliable due to injury .

Just on loan till the end of the year, according to Facebook. Brings the squad down to 17 so we need to add a couple. Maybe a couple in Berwickshire fire sale. 

Rutherford although a good player is a bit injury prone as pointed out in a earlier post by a Tranent fan.

Edited by boheesian

18 hours ago, Nicholas Rage said:

...Do wonder if the Berwick situation might give a chance to shuffle the pack even if it's other clubs wanting to move a wage out to bring one of their higher earners in.

Worth noting that one of the players on Berwick's list is a left back called Blair Sneddon. Interesting that a financial deficit of 115k only got them 7 more points than the BUs last season.

1 hour ago, Deanburn Dave said:

Blair Snedden SOUNDS like he should be a BU player but IMO we don't need a left back. Keir Macaulay is IMO the best left back in the League.    It is finding a centrehalf that should be the BU's priority.

Keir is without doubt one of the best left backs in the league. Irving showed a bit of quality as a centre half on Saturday. My priority would be an attacking Midfielder.

On 28/09/2023 at 19:22, Deanburn Dave said:

............and other BU fans Boheesian think the priority should be a striker.    

We are a fickle bunch us BU fans.

Whit!!!! United fans fickle, how dare you. Anyway a tough one tomorrow against Broomhill just hope we have an “open goal” to aim at. 
The return of McArthur will give ‘Hunts’ a bit of a dilemma with Irving having performed well last week so a wee test of his managerial skills.