Stirling Albion Season 24/25 Thread

Has Thomas Reilly actually signed?? It was definitely him playing Left Wing Back, and he was named on Twitter but obviously there has been no announcement, unless I have missed something. Would certainly be a good signing if he has.

Anyway, not long back from the game (1-1 draw with Broxburn). I try not to read too much into pre-season, but it was a bit of a mixed bag today, but plenty to be positive about. 

We’ll start with the negatives first, because they were glaringly obvious. We’re still well short of numbers, and today’s squad was without Davidson, Milne and Roy. Davidson was with the management team but was not stripped, so I assume is still a wee bit away from being fit. I overheard someone say that Milne picked up an injury in a closed door game and Roy was nowhere to be seen.

None of the young lads looked ready to step up. A handful got the opportunity to come on and play their part but at that point, it became Man v Boys and Broxburn came into the game as a result.

He was listed as a Trialist, but number 6, who was playing at Right Wing Back and was then moved into Centre Back, didn’t look like a player who would cut it at this level. Might be harsh on the lad, he might not be up too speed and he may get there, but on todays showing it would be a no from me.

Anyway, onto the positive. Well the team lined up 3-5-2 and going by the First Half performance, are being encouraged to play more than we have probably seen under previous managers. There was a lot of building from the back and short sharp passing between the players. Very little was played long and I liked what I saw. It wasn’t totally there, but the early shoots of team building were good and we were well on top of the game, as you would expect. When Hilson scored, you expected it to be the first of many.

Hilson looked lively in that little pocket of space just behind the front 2 and could have bagged another, or certainly create something else but seemed to over hit things in the final third, but he did well in there and looked comfortable.

Talking of looking comfortable, I really liked the look of Harley Ewen in Centre Midfield, he looked comfortable on the ball and seemed to have a creative side to him. Partnered with Crane, I thought the 2 of them looked like a solid base and did well. Over the course of the match, Crane was probably our best player and covered every inch of plastic.

At that back, Sula was in the middle, Geeks to the right and Denholm to the left. The 3 did well, Broxburn were direct and they dealt well with that but at the same time, the 3 wanted the ball and as I said above, they looked to build from the back. Gaston was very vocal throughout, didn’t have a save to make and looked comfortable before coming off.

Reilly at Left Wing Back looked effective, got up and back and although he seemed to run out of steam, he put a shift in and did well in the role.

Upfront, Carrick looked like Carrick, he looked sharp although his shooting was well off, and partnered with McKinlay, well they seemed to complement each other well. It was hard to judge McKinlay, he looked good off the ball and was very determined and mobile, won a few balls in the air and flick on’s, but sadly he never had any good service to see what he could do with it at his feet, except the occasional hold up. 

So that was about that then. After a goal mouth scramble where the ball crossed the line twice, with the officials missing each one, the game went a bit flat and both teams started to change things around. We brought on young lads and eventually Broxburn scored from a corner, where the young Goalkeeper seemed to be a little lost, as the Broxburn players were celebrating, the Full Time whistle blew.

I think Maybury will be happy with the run out, as I said, he’ll not read too much into it either and he’ll know he needs to get numbers in, but we look ok but we look like a new team, let’s just hope it’s a new team that will get stronger, we’ll certainly try and play football however, and I like that.

2 hours ago, BB_Bino said:

Has Thomas Reilly actually signed?? It was definitely him playing Left Wing Back, and he was named on Twitter but obviously there has been no announcement, unless I have missed something. Would certainly be a good signing if he has.

Anyway, not long back from the game (1-1 draw with Broxburn). I try not to read too much into pre-season, but it was a bit of a mixed bag today, but plenty to be positive about. 

We’ll start with the negatives first, because they were glaringly obvious. We’re still well short of numbers, and today’s squad was without Davidson, Milne and Roy. Davidson was with the management team but was not stripped, so I assume is still a wee bit away from being fit. I overheard someone say that Milne picked up an injury in a closed door game and Roy was nowhere to be seen.

None of the young lads looked ready to step up. A handful got the opportunity to come on and play their part but at that point, it became Man v Boys and Broxburn came into the game as a result.

He was listed as a Trialist, but number 6, who was playing at Right Wing Back and was then moved into Centre Back, didn’t look like a player who would cut it at this level. Might be harsh on the lad, he might not be up too speed and he may get there, but on todays showing it would be a no from me.

Anyway, onto the positive. Well the team lined up 3-5-2 and going by the First Half performance, are being encouraged to play more than we have probably seen under previous managers. There was a lot of building from the back and short sharp passing between the players. Very little was played long and I liked what I saw. It wasn’t totally there, but the early shoots of team building were good and we were well on top of the game, as you would expect. When Hilson scored, you expected it to be the first of many.

Hilson looked lively in that little pocket of space just behind the front 2 and could have bagged another, or certainly create something else but seemed to over hit things in the final third, but he did well in there and looked comfortable.

Talking of looking comfortable, I really liked the look of Harley Ewen in Centre Midfield, he looked comfortable on the ball and seemed to have a creative side to him. Partnered with Crane, I thought the 2 of them looked like a solid base and did well. Over the course of the match, Crane was probably our best player and covered every inch of plastic.

At that back, Sula was in the middle, Geeks to the right and Denholm to the left. The 3 did well, Broxburn were direct and they dealt well with that but at the same time, the 3 wanted the ball and as I said above, they looked to build from the back. Gaston was very vocal throughout, didn’t have a save to make and looked comfortable before coming off.

Reilly at Left Wing Back looked effective, got up and back and although he seemed to run out of steam, he put a shift in and did well in the role.

Upfront, Carrick looked like Carrick, he looked sharp although his shooting was well off, and partnered with McKinlay, well they seemed to complement each other well. It was hard to judge McKinlay, he looked good off the ball and was very determined and mobile, won a few balls in the air and flick on’s, but sadly he never had any good service to see what he could do with it at his feet, except the occasional hold up. 

So that was about that then. After a goal mouth scramble where the ball crossed the line twice, with the officials missing each one, the game went a bit flat and both teams started to change things around. We brought on young lads and eventually Broxburn scored from a corner, where the young Goalkeeper seemed to be a little lost, as the Broxburn players were celebrating, the Full Time whistle blew.

I think Maybury will be happy with the run out, as I said, he’ll not read too much into it either and he’ll know he needs to get numbers in, but we look ok but we look like a new team, let’s just hope it’s a new team that will get stronger, we’ll certainly try and play football however, and I like that.

Nae danger was Tam Reilly playing left wing back 🤣 He'd be a decent squad signing but he's a sitting centre mid. Not got an engine to play wing back. Very surprised if was him in that role.

On 29/06/2024 at 08:58, Beepee67 said:

I really thought we could have had a punt at trying to get Flynn Duffy back at Forthbank...he always played well for us.... as for Josh Cooper i think he might have got a bit disillusioned with his lack of game time last season....but with Leitch gone i thought he could have more than stepped up this year 

I can't see either signing tbh. 

Saturdays friendly switched to Palmerston....apparently pitch not ready....

Well the whole set up had been that way this year...

2hr drive to Palmerston each way isn't an attractive option for any potential new supporters 

Not saying this event is the club's fault but jeezo it's been a hard journey from that final whimper against Dumbarton sealing our fate in the basement division SPFL2 

Last Saturday was only a kick about...wasn't expecting much & that was the case..a bit of legwork...hopefully we can get Ross Davidson back fit & would be a good combination in the middle of the park with Callum Crane IMO 

A LB would be nice ....a couple of genuine wide men in midfield with a bit of pace & Speedy to do what Speedy does best 💪

The season is getting closer...C'mon the bino's 🇵🇪 ❤️ 

Think their has been a bit of an over reaction on social media with regards to the QOS game moving. Does it really matter?? Were there that many people who had the game in the diary and were set to come along.....i'm not sure.

The important thing with this game is getting minutes in the legs for the players and getting the squad to gel. We're short of numbers, so we can't fully achieve the second part of that aim but we can the first and those that are there will be starting to pull together hopefully. In actual fact, maybe a 4 hour round trip, in a bus, will help better with that....who knows, I just don't think it's that of a big deal.

Assuming Davidson can pick up where he left off, he'll certainly be good in along with Crane, but I did think Ewen looked like a player in there, and I look forward to seeing more of him. Competition for places, that's a good thing, but Davidson has spent a lot of time out so I'm not going to hold my breath that the same player is going to return. Time will tell.

As for positions to strengthen, we need to strengthen across the park, I said this on Saturday. We have the beginnings of a good core to the squad, without repeating myself fully, I thought the back 3 looked good, the 2 in Centre Mid and Carrick and McKinlay will link well up front, but ultimately it will grow. I actually thought Kieren Moore would have fitted in well with the way the team was set up on Saturday, can only suspect (if AM is sticking with Wing Backs) he just didn't see Moore as being strong enough defensively.

56 minutes ago, BB_Bino said:

Think their has been a bit of an over reaction on social media with regards to the QOS game moving. Does it really matter?? Were there that many people who had the game in the diary and were set to come along.....i'm not sure.

The important thing with this game is getting minutes in the legs for the players and getting the squad to gel. We're short of numbers, so we can't fully achieve the second part of that aim but we can the first and those that are there will be starting to pull together hopefully. In actual fact, maybe a 4 hour round trip, in a bus, will help better with that....who knows, I just don't think it's that of a big deal.

Assuming Davidson can pick up where he left off, he'll certainly be good in along with Crane, but I did think Ewen looked like a player in there, and I look forward to seeing more of him. Competition for places, that's a good thing, but Davidson has spent a lot of time out so I'm not going to hold my breath that the same player is going to return. Time will tell.

As for positions to strengthen, we need to strengthen across the park, I said this on Saturday. We have the beginnings of a good core to the squad, without repeating myself fully, I thought the back 3 looked good, the 2 in Centre Mid and Carrick and McKinlay will link well up front, but ultimately it will grow. I actually thought Kieren Moore would have fitted in well with the way the team was set up on Saturday, can only suspect (if AM is sticking with Wing Backs) he just didn't see Moore as being strong enough defensively.

I tend to agree mate. There are some things you can't blame the board for. If the pitch isn't ready I don't see a big deal, or a need to find a scapegoat.

23 minutes ago, WC Boggs said:

I tend to agree mate. There are some things you can't blame the board for. If the pitch isn't ready I don't see a big deal, or a need to find a scapegoat.

aye, this is no big deal. it's not like there's a crane in the middle of it that won't be moving for months............

things could always be worse.

As mentioned this isn't the club's fault...journey's to Palmerston have never been my favourite...a blow out on the left front tyre from a pothole last season didn't help 🙈

Just hoping that we can turn the corner soon & thing's start to go our way/fall into place 🙏