**Pie and Bovril's Top 100 TV Shows of All Time**

Wee-Bey

Peaky Blinders (2013-2022)

PeakyBlinders.thumb.jpg.1cc8f1be452f6f26d365854058a68da5.jpg

"don't f**k with the Peaky Blinders "

One of the BBC's most successful shows of the last decade sees Cillian Murphy play the gangster Tommy Shelby in post WW1 Birmingham with appearances from a few real life historical figures.

This one has had quite the cultural impact, with barber shops, Facebook Da 'Inspirational Life Quotes' and influenced young men into some debatable fashion and hairstyle choices.

Fargo (2014 -)

200925-fargo-season-4-fx-hulu-ac-1026p.thumb.jpg.77acd7380a9bbf4a488f7ceea1d15129.jpg

"uh... it's America brother, we don't do kings"

A series of black comedy crime stories from different periods influenced by the Coen Brothers cult classic film of the same name, attracting some big names to star as characters with ridiculous names. Josto Fadda ?, Lorne Malvo ?, Ole Munch ? C'mon man.

The Royle Family (1998-2012)

ya81y2xsqcvvhe7wnww3.thumb.jpg.7b3cde421df0404ecd67daf02117fefb.jpg

"my arse"

Proper patriotic Brits know this is the only family you should be showing forelock tugging deference to. A much loved slice of (non) working class Manchester life, crude and touching in equal measure.

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing (2018-)

MV5BMWQwOTE3MmItMDFiZi00M2JkLWFlMzUtNGI2OWZlNjk2M2YwXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyOTE0Njg5MjI@._V1_QL75_UX500_CR00500281_.jpg.e6eacec094ab69cdacbacb11208527d8.jpg

"I went into a pet shop and asked if I could buy a goldfish. The bloke asked if I wanted an aquarium. I said I don't care what star sign it is"

Following health scares, 2 of Britain's most loved comedians embark on a series of fishing trips. Just 2 blokes holding their rods, chatting about life. Lovely.

1 hour ago, Chris Partlow said:

Peaky Blinders (2013-2022)

PeakyBlinders.thumb.jpg.1cc8f1be452f6f26d365854058a68da5.jpg

"don't f**k with the Peaky Blinders "

One of the BBC's most successful shows of the last decade sees Cillian Murphy play the gangster Tommy Shelby in post WW1 Birmingham with appearances from a few real life historical figures.

This one has had quite the cultural impact, with barber shops, Facebook Da 'Inspirational Life Quotes' and influenced young men into some debatable fashion and hairstyle choices.

Did you ever see those belters from someone's tik tok or Facebook with these guys all dressing up in the gear and driving a land rover out to the countryside all just to pose and walk about as wannabe peaky blinders? Genuinely hilarious. 

3 hours ago, RuMoore said:

Did you ever see those belters from someone's tik tok or Facebook with these guys all dressing up in the gear and driving a land rover out to the countryside all just to pose and walk about as wannabe peaky blinders? Genuinely hilarious. 

Aye. Folk are weird.

20240102_200056.thumb.jpg.21077fa77884ee502d9849dd8fda6881.jpg

61 =

Married With Children (1987-1997)

MV5BMTU2MjQwNTU2N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTMzNTkyNA@@._V1_.jpg.1170280575c73c367ff4d4f42317322d.jpg

"I'm never voting again. Like marriage, no matter who you choose it'll turn out bad"

The quintessential American comedy and still one of the longest running sitcoms in its history. Al Bundy is the misanthrope who is unhappily 'married with children'.

61 =

I, Claudius (1976)

i-claudius-patrick-stewart_5_l-1-_wide-8964c78b8fc127f2ece9037f297f853db476b3fe.jpg.261661c83cf8a2e27fb9bc65cacadc51.jpg

"he who wants peace must prepare for war"

Going all the way back in time to when Jesus were a nipper to see Sir Patrick Stewart with hair in I, Claudius. The great and the good of British stage and screen were hamming it up here as all your favourite Roman dudes Tiberius, Caligula, Augustus and Nero. (no big Jules C tho, wrong timeframe)

Posted (edited)

61 =

Boys From The Blackstuff (1982)

95db125551961ba8ab636ada06bd02bb00d5b33f.jpg.02962509d0378f3523f3d9ad7342be96.jpg

"Gizza job"

Famously starring Graeme Souness (and Sammy Lee), this is 5 intertwining stories of 5 unemployed Liverpuddlians struggling with the effects of Thatcherism, and a lament to the end of male, working class British culture.

This was 48th in the P&B 2012 list.

Edited by Chris Partlow

3 minutes ago, RuMoore said:

I thought I was the only one to vote Mr Robot and I can't be arsed to look back on it to check but I'm happy it's top 60 at least. 

You were the only one to vote for it, so it didn't make it in I'm afraid.

F-the-system.jpg.d8c7d52e6903b7ff573d865b9ed8436b.jpg

2 minutes ago, Chris Partlow said:

You were the only one to vote for it, so it didn't make it in I'm afraid.

F-the-system.jpg.d8c7d52e6903b7ff573d865b9ed8436b.jpg

Bruh. 

The levels of cognitive dissonance I need to activate to get over this might break me. 

Bunch of war criminals imhghtro. 

Screenshot_20240102_204641_Chrome.jpg

Andor (2022-)

1-4.thumb.jpg.62a58a371486879f37e0d8033509d3fe.jpg

"the pace of repression outstrips our ability to understand it"

Some Star Wars now. With the multitude of content Disney are pumping out, one was bound to be a hit with a wider audience than the fan base. An espionage thriller set amongst the first sparks of a revolution.

I don't mind some Star Wars and mostly tolerate the rest for the sake of the wee man who is a huge fan. Alongside Rogue 1, of which this is a sort of prequel, this is by far my favourite. Ironically the wee man hated it and only lasted 2 episodes. Probably the lack of the child abducting, laser sword wielding, space wizards.

Sons of Anarchy (2008-2014)

sons-of-anarchy-cast-1014x570.thumb.jpg.6490c5fa590a84a7365b86adb70cf7de.jpg

"I need my sons to grow up hating the thought of me"

Some motorbikes now with Sons of Anarchy. The outlaw biker club clashes with the authorities, rival bikers, white supremacists and the cartel over 7 seasons, starring Charlie Hunnam, Ron Perlman and yon Scottish boy with the mars bar on his face.

i quite liked this, a bit trashy, but fun enough to finish the series.

1 hour ago, Chris Partlow said:

61 =

I, Claudius (1976)

i-claudius-patrick-stewart_5_l-1-_wide-8964c78b8fc127f2ece9037f297f853db476b3fe.jpg.261661c83cf8a2e27fb9bc65cacadc51.jpg

"he who wants peace must prepare for war"

Going all the way back in time to when Jesus were a nipper to see Sir Patrick Stewart with hair in I, Claudius. The great and the good of British stage and screen were hamming it up here as all your favourite Roman dudes Tiberius, Caligula, Augustus and Nero. (no big Jules C tho, wrong timeframe)

Patrick Stewart didn't even have hair back then. He went bald in the early sixties. He's wearing a wig in Claudius.

Chewin' The Fat (1999-2005)

0_JS190975218.jpg.3e87edcd56cd9c67f38889cbef563d94.jpg

"Gonnae no dae that"

Where it all started for Hemphill, Kiernan and Dunbar. I could have put a dozen different pictures or quotes above such is the memorable amount of sketches in the show, with lines and memes still quoted on these forums on a regular basis.

Sadly, the show also has to accept the part it played in the weegiefication of Scottish culture.