Semi Final: Rangers vs Hearts

26 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Probably not, bur there's no chance that the entitled club known as Rangers will agree to a 50/50 split. "Whit aboot oor 47,000 season ticket holders?"

It’s not up to Rangers what allocation Hearts get, it’s entirely the decision of the SFA.

The league cup semi-final was very disadvantageous to Hearts fans. I think we discussed it at the time (or maybe it was the LC final against you), it’s hard to sell the tickets in tranches then hand them back due to the way the concourses and entryways are set up. I think the SFA want to avoid opposing sides using the same turnstiles and stairways so it means there are only a few natural segregation points at Hampden.

However, I suspect a 50/50 split will be decided for this one.

Edited by AJF

2 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Do you also believe in the tooth fairy?

I’ve genuinely no idea what you are getting at here. Rangers have no say on what allocation an opponent will get.

Each team will make their respective applications for how many tickets they’d like and the SFA then decide the split.

Thats exactly what happened at the league cup final against you. Aberdeen released a statement saying they made proposals to the SFA but ultimately they rejected them on the basis of prior ticket sales and security issues.

36 minutes ago, AJF said:

I’ve genuinely no idea what you are getting at here. Rangers have no say on what allocation an opponent will get.

Each team will make their respective applications for how many tickets they’d like and the SFA then decide the split.

Thats exactly what happened at the league cup final against you. Aberdeen released a statement saying they made proposals to the SFA but ultimately they rejected them on the basis of prior ticket sales and security issues.

You’ve no idea what I’m getting at? You are normally a sensible poster on here, but if you really believe that the SFA don’t take any cognisance of what Rangers want, I’m surprised at you. Of course the SFA have the final say on what each club will receive, but that’s on the back of what Rangers say they want and need.

10 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

You’ve no idea what I’m getting at? You are normally a sensible poster on here, but if you really believe that the SFA don’t take any cognisance of what Rangers want, I’m surprised at you. Of course the SFA have the final say on what each club will receive, but that’s on the back of what Rangers say they want and need.

I think you are reaching here.

If the SFA believe a side will be able to fill half of Hampden then it would matter not one jot whether Rangers want more or not. It would be split 50/50.

You are framing this as if Rangers just go to the SFA and demand more than 50% and it is automatically given. Nonsense.

Just because Rangers can fill more than 50% does not mean the SFA believe they are entitled to it and any decision will be based on similar reasons that your own club confirmed they received as the reasoning for the LC final allocation.

1 hour ago, AJF said:

If the SFA believe a side will be able to fill half of Hampden then it would matter not one jot whether Rangers want more or not. It would be split 50/50.

You are framing this as if Rangers just go to the SFA and demand more than 50% and it is automatically given. Nonsense.

Just because Rangers can fill more than 50% does not mean the SFA believe they are entitled to it and any decision will be based on similar reasons that your own club confirmed they received as the reasoning for the LC final allocation.

You do still believe in the tooth fairy.

1 hour ago, AJF said:

I think as well for there to be any chance of 50/50 split the SFA would have to lower prices to encourage the the 'day trippers' which again isn't really within the interests of the SFA either. Any Semi/Final should always start with a 50/50 split but we all know next to no club outwith Celtic and Rangers are going to fill it. I think giving those who think they can should be afforded the opportunity but with time constraints over selling out sections so there's no empty seats.

We won't sell 25k for yet another Hampden game, probably played on a Sunday with Rangers. More like 16-18k. We would have sold every ticket available for a semi-final v Aberdeen given the chances of actually winning and because we haven't played at a neutral venue against each other in nearly 30 years but not for Rangers again. That said we should be given the opportunity to do so for a few weeks. 

37 minutes ago, Hendricks said:

We won't sell 25k for yet another Hampden game, probably played on a Sunday with Rangers. More like 16-18k. We would have sold every ticket available for a semi-final v Aberdeen given the chances of actually winning and because we haven't played at a neutral venue against each other in nearly 30 years but not for Rangers again. That said we should be given the opportunity to do so for a few weeks. 

I think half after segregation, hospitality etc is closer to 22k each. 

Don't think it's beyond us to sell that tbh.

5 minutes ago, Tony Wonder said:

I think half after segregation, hospitality etc is closer to 22k each. 

Don't think it's beyond us to sell that tbh.

Doubt it. Maybe a couple thousand more than the League Cup semi so I'd guess 18k ish at best. 

6 minutes ago, Hendricks said:

Doubt it. Maybe a couple thousand more than the League Cup semi so I'd guess 18k ish at best. 

We sold 17k for the LC. It's naturally a bit less attractive and we had the shambles of tickets being offered in shite sections.  Offer us half off the bat and people would have better choice. We are also having a very good season, we'd be close to selling out IMO.

We had half against Hibs. We sold about 19k for Inverness at Hampden too. Our fans usually turn up for the Scottish cup 

11 minutes ago, Tony Wonder said:

We sold 17k for the LC. It's naturally a bit less attractive and we had the shambles of tickets being offered in shite sections.  Offer us half off the bat and people would have better choice. We are also having a very good season, we'd be close to selling out IMO.

We had half against Hibs. We sold about 19k for Inverness at Hampden too. Our fans usually turn up for the Scottish cup 

We take bigger supports to semi-finals we are more likely to win; Hibs and ICT good examples that you've made. We only had about 14k against Celtic in the SC semi-final we won in 2012! Given this is the 3rd time we've played Rangers at Hampden in under 2 years I think it will be somewhere between that and the and the 22k we are likely to get. 

Edited by Hendricks

10 minutes ago, Hendricks said:

We take bigger supports to semi-finals we are more likely to win; Hibs and ICT good examples that you've made. We only had about 14k against Celtic in the SC semi-final we won in 2012! Given this is the 3rd time we've played Rangers at Hampden in under 2 years I think it will be somewhere between that and the and the 22k we are likely to get. 

True about the Celtic game, but we'd not had a good seasonin generL, it was a really good Celtic team and we had a smaller core support than we do now. It was 12 years ago and I think we have added a good 3/4k on our average attendance since then.

We also had all the off field stuff going on and I don't think many fancied it as expected a boabying.