What is the point of labour ?

pawpar

1 minute ago, welshbairn said:

You have a point about junctions but average speed cameras were installed in 2014 and made a big improvement.

They haven't been installed for the entire road north of Perth. 

19 minutes ago, sophia said:

When do you think they will install the average speed cameras you suggest and do you think they'll prevent foreign drivers sometimes turning the wrong way out of junctions or indeed the young yahoo going for the hero overtake?

If people were going at an appropriate speed through junctions then their response time would be adequate to the risk - and the impact of any accident would be significantly reduced.

A 'hero overtake' that achieves, err, still getting you from point A to point B at the mandated average speed or paying the penalty is not a credible incentive to try the manoeuvre. 

Constructing sections of dual carriageway at public expense and against the government's legal obligations cannot be justified as the option for 'safety'. You can quite clearly have as safe if not safer a road at a fraction of the cost using other interventions. 

Edited by vikingTON

1 hour ago, TheScarf said:

George Faulkes is a pish stained old fud and he should be in a nursing home so someone can change his drawers every time he has an accident.  It's just a pity we won't leave the Union before he dies to see his bollocks looking pus when we do.

It's frustrating how loudmouths like him are allowed on the radio to talk utter shite and generate the headlines while the informed opinion of experts only get minor mention in response:

Screenshot_20230727_091147_Chrome2.thumb.jpg.16dac59eb2858f0acdea6246bd11c1ac.jpg 

Just now, virginton said:

If people were going at an appropriate speed through junctions then their response time would be adequate to the risk - and the impact of any accident would be significantly reduced.

Constructing sections of dual carriageway at public expense and against the government's legal obligations cannot be justified as the option for 'safety'. You can have as safe if not safer a road at a fraction of the cost using other interventions. 

That's just not true.

Anyone with any depth of expertise will understand the issues.

All of the Perth to Inverness single carriageway is already covered by cameras but the fact of the matter is that the road design does not mitigate sufficiently against loss of life.

2 minutes ago, FreedomFarter said:

It's frustrating how loudmouths like him are allowed on the radio to talk utter shite and generate the headlines while the informed opinion of experts only get minor mention in response:

Screenshot_20230727_091147_Chrome2.thumb.jpg.16dac59eb2858f0acdea6246bd11c1ac.jpg 

Indeed, independence is a policy of the elected Scottish Government so it surely stands to reason that it's ok for them to spend money on it.

15 minutes ago, sophia said:

That's just not true.

Anyone with any depth of expertise will understand the issues.

Which rules you out then.

All of the Perth to Inverness single carriageway is already covered by cameras but the fact of the matter is that the road design does not mitigate sufficiently against loss of life.

If road users are too thick to drive at an appropriate speed to the risks of a Highland road then that's only an argument for reducing the legal speed limit on the road. Which also has a far greater impact on mitigating against loss of life than any other intervention, as well as being effectively cost-free in terms of public infrastructure spending and contributing towards the government's legal obligations on reducing carbon emissions. 

Edited by vikingTON

29 minutes ago, virginton said:

Which rules you out then.

If road users are too thick to drive at an appropriate speed to the risks of a Highland road then that's only an argument for reducing the legal speed limit on the road. Which also has a far greater impact on mitigating against loss of life than any other intervention, as well as being effectively cost-free in terms of public infrastructure spending and contributing towards the government's legal obligations on reducing carbon emissions. 

Have you ever driven on this road yourself?  If so what do you see as the best solution?

24 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Have you ever driven on this road yourself?  If so what do you see as the best solution?

Apparently it's a 40mph limit for huge stretches of the main arterial route to the beautiful part of Scotland.

It's a good laugh right enough.

18 hours ago, Suspect Device said:

Surely the two aren't linked. The LEZ are primarily for air quality rather than emissions (and to encourage public transport in towns)

The A9 dualling is more about road safety, surely? Also, the transport options are shit for travel outside the central belt.

Scotland must be ranking high on the most shit public transport options of any european country. 

1 hour ago, ScotiaNostra said:

Scotland must be ranking high on the most shit public transport options of any european country. 

Not even close. Expensive yes ok, it is far too expensive compared to others but there are many countries which have far worse for levels of services

On 26/07/2023 at 17:06, Suspect Device said:

Surely the two aren't linked. The LEZ are primarily for air quality rather than emissions (and to encourage public transport in towns)

The A9 dualling is more about road safety, surely? Also, the transport options are shit for travel outside the central belt.

Of course they aren't linked.  Can you imagine what would happen in the Mayor said "f**k it, I've listened and we are scrapping the ulezs and to compensate we are closing the outside lanes to reduce all roads to single carriageways"

23 hours ago, Billy Jean King said:

Cal Mac have 4 new ferries delivered within the timescale mentioned. SNPbaaaaad though trumps the actual facts every time

How many did they need though?  The average age of the fleet has risen significantly under the SNP.

2 hours ago, orfc said:

Thank goodness you nationalists are more even minded and haven't started a 492 page thread on "Labour baaad" when they're not even in power yet 🙂

The SNP and ferries are like the Tories and number of coppers - they point out the few they've recruited and not the ones they've lost

4 hours ago, strichener said:

How many did they need though?  The average age of the fleet has risen significantly under the SNP.

I was merely responding to the roaster who said that Calmac hadn't had any new ferries since 2015 when that was a blatant lie. 

23 minutes ago, orfc said:

They haven't had any new ferries

They bought some second hand ones 🙂

https://www.niferry.co.uk/new-ferry-purchased-for-scottish-island-services/

What runs between Gallanach & Kerrera then? A f*cking dinghy?

The MV Carvoria isn't the biggest ferry in the world, but it can carry both vehicles & passengers and  was built in Lerwick, Shetland in 2017 for Calmac

MV Carvoria

52 minutes ago, StellarHibee said:

This should be called the "What is the point of this thread if it's not about Labour" thread.

If we’re looking for title changes I’d go with “I can’t believe they’re not Tories”.