Pregnancy And Parenting

Well, Lexi is exactly 6 months old today! Seems to finally be over the majority of her Skin problems so now the only thing we still have to keep an eye on is searching the Ingredients of all of the baby foods that we give her to make sure there is no milk in anything.

Unfortunately the only cereal type food we have found is just plain baby rice, all other baby cereals etc seem to have some form of Milk in them :thumbsdown

Well, Lexi is exactly 6 months old today! Seems to finally be over the majority of her Skin problems so now the only thing we still have to keep an eye on is searching the Ingredients of all of the baby foods that we give her to make sure there is no milk in anything.

Unfortunately the only cereal type food we have found is just plain baby rice, all other baby cereals etc seem to have some form of Milk in them :thumbsdown

Imagine feeding babies milk?

Scum, sub-human scum!

:P

Imagine feeding babies milk?

Scum, sub-human scum!

:P

Didn't really word it properly but the reason for looking out for milk is down to Lexi having Milk Intolerance/Allergy which she should grow out of by 18 months (just like her big sister!)

I did think that was case, just couldn't help myself, sorry!

I'm always really grateful that my wee girl does not have any allergies.....yet!

It must be incredibly difficult to avoid things like milk and nuts.

I have had experience of a still unidentified allergic reaction though, put the wean to bed one night and heard her moving about an hour or two later. I went in to the room and turned on the light only to be scared shitless by a 2 foot elephant (wo)man standing in a cot. Her whole face had puffed up like a balloon and made her unrecognisable, it was genuinely very frightening so we took her straight to Yorkhill where upon arrival the swelling was already receding. They just gave her some steriods and it went away and has never been back, it was quite worrying knowing it could happen again at any time as we don't know what caused it.

It's been 3 years now so I think it was a one-off 'building up a tolerance' type of reaction

I did think that was case, just couldn't help myself, sorry!

I'm always really grateful that my wee girl does not have any allergies.....yet!

It must be incredibly difficult to avoid things like milk and nuts.

I have had experience of a still unidentified allergic reaction though, put the wean to bed one night and heard her moving about an hour or two later. I went in to the room and turned on the light only to be scared shitless by a 2 foot elephant (wo)man standing in a cot. Her whole face had puffed up like a balloon and made her unrecognisable, it was genuinely very frightening so we took her straight to Yorkhill where upon arrival the swelling was already receding. They just gave her some steriods and it went away and has never been back, it was quite worrying knowing it could happen again at any time as we don't know what caused it.

It's been 3 years now so I think it was a one-off 'building up a tolerance' type of reaction

Thankfully all we have had to deal with has been Sickness and Diarrhoea and what the Doctors/Skin Clinic folk try to fob off as Exczema (we were at the docs 4 or 5 days in a row before we got sent to see someone at Ninewells). I suppose it didnt really help that it was a different Out-of-Hours Doctor each time who each thought it was something different

The rashes were all over her face and upper Torso, took about 3 or 4 different creams before they found the right one and it started to shift.

Had the worst week last week with our 4 year old girl. At the weekend we knew she was coming dowm with something. Feverish, roasting hot, complaining of a sore ear. Genral grumpiness. She had an ear infection, we knew. On Monday we took her to the doctor. The doctor looked her over and said, yep, ear infection. But no antibiotics unless the ear is weeping or if the kid is under 2 years old. So we took her home with orders to dose her up on calpol and calprofen.

Wednesday comes and my wife sees pus running freely from the ear. Back to the doctor and this guy says that it was a middle ear infection. The build up of pus burst her ear drum, causing the pus to leak (which it did for about 3 days). So now, on her left side, her hearing will be impaired for up to 8 weeks while the eardrum repairs itself. Can't help but to think if the first doc gave her antibiotics, she would have been spared not just the pain of the ear infection, but the burst drum, too.

My other half is due in 4 weeks and is constantly uncomfortable, she goes from rocking on the sofa to standing in the middle of the room just huffing.

Oh and I've just started a new job that's pretty full on and we're moving house next week, if needed I can be found baying at the moon.

My other half is due in 4 weeks and is constantly uncomfortable, she goes from rocking on the sofa to standing in the middle of the room just huffing.

Oh and I've just started a new job that's pretty full on and we're moving house next week, if needed I can be found baying at the moon.

:lol: New job, new hoose and new wean. Well in Stimpy!

Seriously, all the best to you, your Mrs and the new Stimpette.

I've been keeping an eye on this thread for a while now, my partner is now 3 months pregnant with my first child! I'm absolutely over the moon!

We had the scan today and it made it all the more real. To see the wee legs kicking up and down on the screen was an amazing and emotional moment. I can't wait!

It's been great reading through the thread and seeing all the stuff that i've got to look forward to.

Can anyone recommend a decent Baby Jumper ( like a jumparoo)?

Everywhere we've been to look at them, they just seem to have them boxed up and i don't know how solid they are. I quite fancied the Baby Einstein one and the Fisher Price rainforest.

Also, do they actually entertain the wee one?

Had the worst week last week with our 4 year old girl. At the weekend we knew she was coming dowm with something. Feverish, roasting hot, complaining of a sore ear. Genral grumpiness. She had an ear infection, we knew. On Monday we took her to the doctor. The doctor looked her over and said, yep, ear infection. But no antibiotics unless the ear is weeping or if the kid is under 2 years old. So we took her home with orders to dose her up on calpol and calprofen.

Wednesday comes and my wife sees pus running freely from the ear. Back to the doctor and this guy says that it was a middle ear infection. The build up of pus burst her ear drum, causing the pus to leak (which it did for about 3 days). So now, on her left side, her hearing will be impaired for up to 8 weeks while the eardrum repairs itself. Can't help but to think if the first doc gave her antibiotics, she would have been spared not just the pain of the ear infection, but the burst drum, too.

Push to go to see a specialist. My boy kept getting ear infections and ended up with a perferated ear drum. The ear infections affected his speach development. eventually got taken in a few months shy of his 3rd birthday and given gromets. within a few weeks his speech development had inproved greatly. The specialist that signed off on it said that if we had seen her the first time around she would have recommended the gromets. At that point though I had to push for those and justify why i thought he needed them.

Just keep pushing mate.

I've been keeping an eye on this thread for a while now, my partner is now 3 months pregnant with my first child! I'm absolutely over the moon!

We had the scan today and it made it all the more real. To see the wee legs kicking up and down on the screen was an amazing and emotional moment. I can't wait!

It's been great reading through the thread and seeing all the stuff that i've got to look forward to.

one thing i would recommend (if your work allows) is compressed hours. i do 7-4 monday thursday and work from home 7-10:30 on the friday. basically have all day to spend with the boy.

Can anyone recommend a decent Baby Jumper ( like a jumparoo)?

Everywhere we've been to look at them, they just seem to have them boxed up and i don't know how solid they are. I quite fancied the Baby Einstein one and the Fisher Price rainforest.

Also, do they actually entertain the wee one?

Think we've got one our son doesn't use any more, as he's going to be 1 on Monday. He seemed to really enjoy it. Plus it meant you could dump him in the Jumperoo and get half an hour's peace to do stuff.

They are extortionate to buy new so we trawled Gumtree for this one. I'll check with the missus but it may be available to a good home!

ETA - We've got the Fisher Price "Discover n' Grow" Jumperoo - http://www.fisher-price.com/en_GB/brands/babygear/products/67571

Edited by Nelly78

Push to go to see a specialist. My boy kept getting ear infections and ended up with a perferated ear drum. The ear infections affected his speach development. eventually got taken in a few months shy of his 3rd birthday and given gromets. within a few weeks his speech development had inproved greatly. The specialist that signed off on it said that if we had seen her the first time around she would have recommended the gromets. At that point though I had to push for those and justify why i thought he needed them.

Just keep pushing mate.

Thanks for the advice. She seems fine now, though I do have to repeat myself a bit with her. I'm still annoyed that she had so much pain that (I believe) could have been avoided.