Pregnancy And Parenting

Had my appointment changed. 8.30 am, Saturday 29th March, Forth Valley Hispital. The snip.

I really need to get done too, i was originally booked in 2 years ago but bottled it after the initial appointment,

But as daughter number 5 and our 7th is due i think the time for bottling it has vaporised, :(

I really need to get done too, i was originally booked in 2 years ago but bottled it after the initial appointment,

But as daughter number 5 and our 7th is due i think the time for bottling it has vaporised, :(

Not much point in it now... :lol:

Grandbairn no3 was born at 1.41pm today at the ERI. Marco Colin weight in at 7lb 14oz. Mam and baba fine, father looks absolutely puggled though lol. Hame tomorrow hopefully. Happy and relieved doesnae come close

Congratulations mate!!

we have to get our daughter into as consistent a routine as possible regardless of who she's with.

Can I ask why? Sorry if that seems like a daft question, but with my kids, we've had a routine in so far as 7-ish is time to get up, breakfast lunch and dinner happen at around the same time most days (breakfast after we get up, lunch around 12:30, dinner about 5:30) and then bedtime is at about 7-ish. Naps happen around the same time each day, but only because the bairn is tired at those times, not because I have decreed that nap time should occur then. If my mum is looking after them, the 'routine' goes out the window and I trust her completely to look after them in whatever way she sees fit. With a new baby on the way (delighted to hear the scan went well, btw!) all routine will probably be up the spout for a few weeks or so - it might be better to keep the peace and then once the baby is here, your daughter will fall into a better routine because the baby has to sleep etc. Just an idea, works for us. Good luck, I hope everything gets there in the end! :-)

Never really seen the big pressure for a routine tbh. Some children may need it but I suspect most don't. As long as they go to bed at a decent time and get fed, they'll find their own way to deal with things. A routine is often when problems start ie the routine is broken.

Ach it's good fun though and a great learning curve.

Parents need the routine, quite frankly.

We've found that routine really helps though Charlie has Asperger's and has his own particular needs. Harry's not as difficult in the sense that he really needs a routine as much as it just seems to help in the long run.

As SS says, one of the problems was that his mother was giving his daughter her dinner hours too early. Even without a strict routine, dinner tends to be around the same time each day and I suspect this is something he and his wife were wanting to avoid.

Edited by Mrs M

I've never had strict routines a la gina ford and for first few weeks after 2 and 3 muddled through. It settles into what works for family.

Middle one now asks for her pajamas and bed and baby doesn't normally last much past 7 with oldest having stories and all down by 8. I'm really lucky that they all mostly sleep through.

They are all in nursery as I recover from a breakdown so it's more structured. Which I think helps with dinner and evenings as I struggle just know when no bones of a routine or things get a bit chaotic.

Another 2 day marathon at the Southern General for transfusions,

30 weeks she is now and these transfusions seem to be keeping the baby anemia free, so just another 3 to go and she's booked in for 35 weeks for a section, which is the most stressful part for me, as she's getting a general anaesthetic i can't be there, and that hour feels like 10 :(

Best of luck with that. With my son, his pregnancy was a catalogue of scares for us. We lived 10 minutes from the hospital and were in and out just about every week. Luckily all went well and he's now nearly 9 and nearly as big as his mum.

You'll get through this and be fine.

Best of luck with that. With my son, his pregnancy was a catalogue of scares for us. We lived 10 minutes from the hospital and were in and out just about every week. Luckily all went well and he's now nearly 9 and nearly as big as his mum.

You'll get through this and be fine.

Cheers mate, ths is the 3rd time we've been though it but it doesn't get any easier, just need to stay positive i guess!!

One thing though, that Southern General is an utter utter joke of a hospital, we went up yesterday morning so she could get bloods crossmatched and as her sugars had been through the roof due to her getting steroids a few weeks ago, they decided to tell us when we got there that she had to stay in and go on a sliding scale insulin drip overnight, so that meant i had to trek back to Girvan to get her things and trek back up again, only for her not to see a doctor until 1.40am this morning who eventually rigged the drip up, so that was over a 12 hour wait for her before seeing the feckin doctor again!!

On top of that, the last transfusion she had, she was given the lassie in the next beds potassium drip instead of saline, and had she not noticed it after a few minutes it probably would have killed her, that and they also gave her another lassies set of notes on the way out, and it wasn't until we were in the lift heading out she noticed they were wrong,

Plus the place is like a feckin building site and is nigh on impossible to park in, just adding to the stress,

Crosshouse maternity is like the feckin Hilton compared to the Southern, and not even the state of the art building itself, the level of care from the staff aswell, that Southern isn't fit for purpose!!!

Cheers mate, ths is the 3rd time we've been though it but it doesn't get any easier, just need to stay positive i guess!!

One thing though, that Southern General is an utter utter joke of a hospital, we went up yesterday morning so she could get bloods crossmatched and as her sugars had been through the roof due to her getting steroids a few weeks ago, they decided to tell us when we got there that she had to stay in and go on a sliding scale insulin drip overnight, so that meant i had to trek back to Girvan to get her things and trek back up again, only for her not to see a doctor until 1.40am this morning who eventually rigged the drip up, so that was over a 12 hour wait for her before seeing the feckin doctor again!!

On top of that, the last transfusion she had, she was given the lassie in the next beds potassium drip instead of saline, and had she not noticed it after a few minutes it probably would have killed her, that and they also gave her another lassies set of notes on the way out, and it wasn't until we were in the lift heading out she noticed they were wrong,

Plus the place is like a feckin building site and is nigh on impossible to park in, just adding to the stress,

Crosshouse maternity is like the feckin Hilton compared to the Southern, and not even the state of the art building itself, the level of care from the staff aswell, that Southern isn't fit for purpose!!!

Crosshouse was good, I had no issues at all about our time in there.

Those sound like huge issues that need to be reported. Staff should report ALL incidents, even near misses, but they don't always do it if there was no adverse effect because they don't want to make the themselves look bad or they don't see the point if there's harm done and so nothing gets done about them. Please speak to the ward charge nurse and report it otherwise nothing will get better!

It was the same last year when she was pregnant with Rhiannon, just one that springs to mind was her being given the steroids without anyone reading her notes to see she was diabetic, resulting in her being let home and rushed back to Crosshouse through the night when ketones were rife in her, a total nightmare that was too!!

I'm going to go and see my local MP at his surgery this week, because literally everytime we are there, something happens that shouldn't!!!

that's what I thought, a real catalogue of near disasters and bad practice, but as you are in the "trade" your views carry more wieght.

It was the same last year when she was pregnant with Rhiannon, just one that springs to mind was her being given the steroids without anyone reading her notes to see she was diabetic, resulting in her being let home and rushed back to Crosshouse through the night when ketones were rife in her, a total nightmare that was too!!

I'm going to go and see my local MP at his surgery this week, because literally everytime we are there, something happens that shouldn't!!!

Obviously it's up to you what you do but if it were me, the ward would be my first port of call for a complaint and then move on if I didn't get any response. I'd hate to think of some of my worst experiences becoming a point-scoring opportunity for an MP. Most hospitals have complaints specialists that will investigate for you. In addition, if you'd rather go to another hospital than the Southern, you're perfectly entitled to. If you speak to someone at your GP surgery they should be able to tell you what to do.

OK, so on Saturday morning I went in for my vasectomy. In terms of what happened and so on, I think it would be right for me just to be straight and honest.

Arrived at the hospital on tine (8.30 on Saturday morning). The nurse told my wife I'd be 45 mins to an hour, so the wife went shopping and left me to it. Got changed in to a gown and then a nurse took me to a room to ask me some basic questions (have you eaten today, have you had diarrhea in the last week, have you ever had scrotum surgery, etc.). Then back to the waiting room for a while before being taken in.

In the room was a bed I hopped up on. The doctor, Mr Taylor, went over a few things (it's irreversible, you may experience bruising or swelling, it may get infected, etc.). Then I lay back and it started. One nurse covered me in iodine (stomach, legs, twig and berries - all over). Two nurses stayed at the top end to talk to me while the doctor and other nurse went to work.

Mr Taylor strated on the right. He felt around for the tubes and injected the anaesthetic. Like the dentist, this was the worst bit - a wee scratch. I felt a little tugging in the groin as he worked, but the two nurses did a good job of keeping my mind off it. At one stage I looked down and saw him putting in the stitches.

Then he moved to the other side and same again, the sore jab. This time, though, it was sore when he started work so I needed a top up of the anaesthetic. Squirming in my seat now thinking about that. It was the worst bit. All in all, took about 10 minutes each side. Then they cleaned me up, put a swab over the bawbag and left me for 10 minutes. A nurse brought me a cup of coffee and I sat waiting. Then the nurse checked my wounds and I got dressed and could leave. All in all 1 hour 10 minutes, of which 20 were spent having it done.

I felt absolutely fine afterwards. Left the hospital with my wife and we even did a little shopping. About 2 hours later the aching started and I took some ibuprofen. For the rest of the weekend, and even now, I was a little slow to move. It was sorest when I bent down or bent back.

I got a letter home with me and have to produce a "sample" in 12 weeks. The letter states, in black and white, "you should have intercourse as often as possible to expel any remaining sperm". I showed my wife this letter, and tonight will frame it above the bed.

Sunday morning the wife woke me up to see if things were functioning. Then came the most pathetic excuse for sex ever. It was painful to thrust or move, and I had to set the really slow pace. Like mice having sex I suppose, and I was genuinely worried about finishing. I needn't have been though. Plumbing works fine. Once the sore nuts subsides business as normal will resume.

So all in all, the procedure was fine, most of saturday was fine. Sunday was like this: