Game of Thrones

Quentin Taranbino

So what do you guys who haven't read the books think will happen? I'd like to hear some of your theories and then laugh at them. :rolleyes:

When I watched the first series I hadn't read the book, but I'm now way ahead of the TV show. It makes for a different (but no less enjoyable) viewing experience now that I know whats coming.

I think he's been clever with that... a number of things hinted at in the books are more explicitly shown in the TV series.

i.e. Stannis and Melissandre having a sexual relationship, and the Renly-Loras relationship, and his understanding with his wife.

Incidentally, is it just me who gets far too excited when new places appear on the map during the opening credits? This weeks episode saw me nearly cream my knickers when Harrenhal and Qarth (The Greatest City That Ever Was, Or Will Be) made their debuts.

So what do you guys who haven't read the books think will happen? I'd like to hear some of your theories and then laugh at them. :rolleyes:

Ros the hooker is bound to become Queen of all of Westeros after beating the White Walkers to death with her antler dildo.

Incidentally, is it just me who gets far too excited when new places appear on the map during the opening credits? This weeks episode saw me nearly cream my knickers when Harrenhal and Qarth (The Greatest City That Ever Was, Or Will Be) made their debuts.

No. I was watching it my my flatmate who hasn't read the books. I was pausing it and shouting "f**k! Look! It's Quarth!".

We also see Littlefinger return Ned's corpse to Catelyn, but why did he lie about having Arya?

Makes it more likely that she'll help in Tyrion and Littlefinger's scheme to return Jaime to the Lannisters if she thinks she's getting both of her daughters back for him rather than one, surely.

Just started watching this. Watched the first three episodes last night, and I'm still kind of waiting for something to happen. And is it just me, or is Sean Bean just playing an older, not dead version of Boromir?

Nice to see Aiden Gillen in this (Carcetti from The Wire). Starting to get into this now, the amount of poon is cracking. Favourite character has to be thon wee dwarf, not really at the stage where I know them all by name :lol:

That's who the f**k it is!!! That genuinely kept me awake last night. Cheers!

Just started watching this. Watched the first three episodes last night, and I'm still kind of waiting for something to happen. And is it just me, or is Sean Bean just playing an older, not dead version of Boromir?

Aye, and more honourable. There is quite a lot of that to start with, although there is a lot more foreshadowing and positions being taken up than you think. Stick with it, as it's build up from the pace it is right now, to what it hits in the next seven episodes it's all about in the first season.

Yep, good advice. Was struggling to get into it, but then episode 7 and BOOM! it all kicks off. I do like episode nine, which was like one of those comedy episodes they used to throw into the X-Files from time to time to lighten things up.

Yup, episode 7 is where it all kicks off. The twist at the end of episode 9 left me speechless. It's when you knew that nobody is safe.

I'm 2/3 of the way through the first book. Given that I'm not completely hooked---is it worth me persevering? Is it going to get better? So far it just strikes me as fantasy writing by numbers, really...

If you're 2/3 of the way in you should be able to make your own mind up whether or not it is worth persevering. Have you watched the TV show? There are some twists and turns to come if you haven't.

Personally I find this to be the one instance where I prefer the TV version to the novelization, although I came to the TV version first. The books are too sprawling and repetitive for my liking, although I did speed-read through them a bit. And there are certain characters (eg Bran) whose chapters you want to skip altogether. Still good though.

Right, I'll steal in with a review before Jambo Rocker.

Fanny Shadow kills gaylord, 9ft burd, bit upset. Sugartits does runner too.

Dullard has big army and navy to play with.

Weeman not popular in town but gets chemical weapons.

Pirates be pirates. He's too camp though.

Wee lassie wins an assassin genie

It's cold in that icy place.

Blondie's dragons are self catering and she's doing a heist with Luther Vandross.

And dream a little wolfy batshit mental dream for me!

The adverts for Promeithius and Audi were quite good.

Right, I'll steal in with a review before Jambo Rocker.

Fanny Shadow kills gaylord, 9ft burd, bit upset. Sugartits does runner too.

Dullard has big army and navy to play with.

Weeman not popular in town but gets chemical weapons.

Pirates be pirates. He's too camp though.

Wee lassie wins an assassin genie

It's cold in that icy place.

Blondie's dragons are self catering and she's doing a heist with Luther Vandross.

And dream a little wolfy batshit mental dream for me!

The adverts for Promeithius and Audi were quite good.

Excellent review, although I feel I should add Theon's first mate - hes thrown a kettle over The Wall, what have you ever done?

It's good to finally see an Iron Islander who doesn't decide to casually emasculate Theon as they walk boy. Great bloke that Finchy.

I thought it was the best episode in a good while, really excellent episode. Fist of the First Men looked stunning. Bronn is still fantastic. The pyromancer was brill too.

Loved my missus' first comment as the credits rolled, "No porn this week!" - this not long after a shout of "Get yer baps out!" when Daenerys appeared on screen. I've taught her well.

Arya still taking names and kicking ass.

Loved my missus' first comment as the credits rolled, "No porn this week!" - this not long after a shout of "Get yer baps out!" when Daenerys appeared on screen. I've taught her well.

can anyone who has read the books tell me when the next time daenerys gets them out is going to be?

i'm hoping that the guy who writes this nonsense is a bit of a creep and emilia clarke is going to inspire him to ditch a lot of his planned plotlines and make the final books daenerys does westeros parts 1 and 2.