Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

A little history lesson about Celtic's support.

Between 1920 and 1961 Celtic failed to make the top 2 in Scotland's average attendances league table on all but 5 seasons.

During that era Celtic failed to make even the top 3 on in no less than 14 seasons.

There were 3 seasons during those 40 years where Celtic weren't even in the top 2 best supported clubs in Scotland.

Hearts made the top 2 of Scotland's top 2 best supported clubs during that era on 25 occasions compared with Celtic's 5. Hibs made it 4 times.

Hearts were Scotland's best supported club on 4 occasions during that era compared with Celtic's zero.

As well as Ragers & Hearts, the following clubs all finished higher than Celtic in Scotland's average attendance league table on at least 1 occasion during that era: Hibernian (10 times), Aberdeen (9 times), Dundee (twice), Partick Thistle (twice), Queens Park.

Celtic finished seventh in the average attendance league table one season.

Celtic didn't cement themselves as Scotland's second club until the 1960s. But even then, a look at relatively modern gates shows the gap was not huge.

The early 80s was the worst era in Rangers history. They provided no competition for Celtic. Celtic were the most successful club in Scotland in that era in terms of domestic trophies won.

Yet look at how their gates compared with certain other clubs in Scotland:

1983/84

Celtic - 18,390

Aberdeen - 17,138

Take out the Old Firm fixtures at Parkhead that season and Aberdeen's average gates were bigger than Celtics.

There is no doubt that Celtic's support will fade away like snow offf a dyke when Rangers die.

The future looks good for Scottish football. 8)

Which "pond" are you going to fish when/if Celtic go the same way as Rangers, Captain ? wink.gif

There is a long thread I discovered on Google related to Leggo where Celtic fans rip the pish out of his daily ramblings. One of the posters has managed to obtain the first few chapters of the book - well worth a read if you're not too tired... http://www.not606.co...of-Leggo/page64

Hmm. Wonder who "Ritchie Robb", the heroic journalist at the centre of the masterpiece, might be based on?

Edited by Savage Henry

Which "pond" are you going to fish when/if Celtic go the same way as Rangers, Captain ? wink.gif

Hearts, Motherwell, Dundee and, to a lesser extent, St Johnstone. He loves a wee fish with his own support too :lol:

This thread has brought back the old captain sensible - long may it continue. An on form captain sensible is the best WUM I've ever encountered on fan forums.

So you don't believe it's hypocritical of him after his comments about not being invited to meet with the other SPL clubs when they were proposing to change the voting structure?

This is simply Green seeking conformation that the cosy relationship the OF have will continue if his plan is successful.

Celtic fans are a joke, what you want doesn't matter, just like us diddy's.

The powers at Celtic FC desperately need a rival, just strong nough to make it look like a contest so they can have their turn to hoover up league tittle so they can waste millions trying to get through to the QF of the CL.

ACHT, I haven't mastered multi-quote yet!

Edited by DuntoiRab

Why would Celtic support Rangers in any shape or form. If it were not for Rangers cheating, Celtic more than anyone have been denied titles.cups etc

For the fans, cups and leagues matter. For the businessmen (and I use that term loosely) all that matters is the bottom line. And if they can maximise that, cups and leagues can GTF.

L4L goes for it on RanjursMedia!

"Now that Ranjurs are dying" thread!

http://forum.rangers...howtopic=221289

Any other 'members' on there to lend a hand???

EDIT: - Thread didn't last long, but I prefer the more subtle ones anyway - much kudos to whichever P&Ber invented the grand Rangers loyalty scheme which involved 500,000 bears worldwide donating £5 a month thru PayPal to put the mighty back where they belong at the top of world football....................then after they all bit, suddenly dropped-in the jpg of a 14 year old in front of a laptop and punching the air with the caption "YESSSSSSS - we can save Rangers for only £1.25 a week" :D

Edited by Claymores

If Peter Lawwell believed any of this he'd have spoken out long ago. As far as he's concerned the only thing that will change is the green brigade will go back to hanging their banners upside down. celtic fans wont give up their season tickets as long as there is a prospect of an old firm derby. It's the only reason they buy them in the first place.

Bollocks.

Good spot - cheers!

My favourite bit - apart from everyone being "tired", is definitely this cracker;

Ritchie Robb's flat was in the heart of Glasgow’s trendy west end. Byres Road was the place, he often joked, where you saw the sort of sights you wish you had seen when you had a gun with you.

Aye, that's hilarious that. I'm sure his friends, like Billy Bullitt, pished themselves.

1338030496[/url]' post='6273663']

Already deleted. Screenshots?

Still think "Nozzle" was the best gers troll.

Was very funny - asked Der Berrz if they would now sing 'We were the people' and 'We didn't do walking away'. No death threats ensued, just casual bigotry and child-molestation based innuendo.

or bombard them with texts on 80295

Remember do not do this until about 2.05 so that it shows people are listening and then see if they say anything or the producer just ignores it.

You can also contact them by e-mail via this page on the BBC Sport scotland website. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/6358777.stm