Walking Down The Halbeath Road

1 hour ago, TxRover said:

Certainly, and it generally proves the point. You have one team on that list that is truly independently viable, the rest depend (in varying amounts) upon a community/fan model that leaves them vulnerable to a bad choice at manager or an adverse event.

Sorry, the fact all these clubs are running efficiently and have been for sometime while being owned and ran by fan or community groups actually disproves your point. Please explain to me which clubs here are “truly independent” and which clubs are somehow “vulnerable” because of being fan owned and explain why? Unless you have intimate knowledge on how these clubs are structured and ran that’s unavailable to the rest of us your point makes absolutely no sense, looking through Scottish football absolutely every club or business is vulnerable to bad decision making regardless of ownership as it boils down to human error however clubs that are fan owned are better placed to deal with this having a broader set of shoulders to carry any financial burden of said bad decisions and with democratic processes to remove individuals who make those bad decisions. A club reliant on the whims of an individual owner have none of that should that owner loose interest, run out of money or even just continually make poor decisions in which instance there is no official mechanism in which they can be removed. 

Edited by LatapyBairn.

3 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

Sorry, the fact all these clubs are running efficiently and have been for sometime while being owned and ran by fan or community groups actually disproves your point. Please explain to me which clubs here are “truly independent” and which clubs are somehow “vulnerable” because of being fan owned and explain why? Unless you have intimate knowledge on how these clubs are structured and ran that’s unavailable to the rest of us your point makes absolutely no sense, looking through Scottish football absolutely every club or business is vulnerable to bad decision making as it boils down to human error however clubs that are fan owned have broader shoulders to carry the burden of said bad decisions with democratic processes to remove individuals who make those bad decisions. A club reliant on the whims of an individual owner have none of that should that owner loose interests or run out of money. 

100% agree with this

Just now, Wee Sandy said:

HEARD A SUGGESTION THAT THE ROVERS BOARD ARE LOOKING AT TAKING OVER DAFC!!

BiT EXTREME, TO SAY THE LEAST.....MAYBE JUST A WIND UP!!

It's the natural step up the fife football food chain to reach the top. We were their first choice and have a far higher ceiling than Rovers do so I'd not be surprised.

14 minutes ago, Rob1885 said:

It's the natural step up the fife football food chain to reach the top. We were their first choice and have a far higher ceiling than Rovers do so I'd not be surprised.

.....IN THE PAST....PERHAPS?? BIT NO NOO!!

HOW MANY TIMES HAVE WE BEATEN YOU ON THE BOUNCE IN RECENT YEARS? 

JUST SAYIN...

Edited by Wee Sandy

4 hours ago, Overseas guy said:

There was a big team in Fife called the Pars,
Who through financial shenanigans now need to collect money in jars,
With the Germans now gone,
The funds didn't last long,
And the dreams of success turned to scars.

No players to sign,
The results took a decline,
And now they're left crying in bars.

The fans hoped for glory,
But now it's a different story,
As the Germans head home in their cars. 

There once was an overseas man

Who wrote limericks that just wouldn't scan

When told it was so

He replied "Yes, I know"

"But sometimes I have to cram as many words into one line as I possibly can" 

27 minutes ago, Wee Sandy said:

HEARD A SUGGESTION THAT THE ROVERS BOARD ARE LOOKING AT TAKING OVER DAFC!!

BiT EXTREME, TO SAY THE LEAST.....MAYBE JUST A WIND UP!!

They're probably salivating at the thought of the record breaking pie sales they would achieve.

7 minutes ago, DeclanG said:

Get this limerick pish in the bin and get the Simpsons back oot.

Summary of the GmbH statement:

Four years of effort,

Plans and hopes now up for sale,

Uncertain days loom.

35 minutes ago, DeclanG said:

Get this limerick pish in the bin and get the Simpsons back oot.

DeclanG's ears blew out steam

As the woes of his Dunfermline team

Were being portrayed 

Much to his dismay

By verse rather than Simpsons meme.

Aye OK, that is plenty.

2 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Folk are aware we used to be fan owned aye? The reason the current lot were brought in was because it wasn't really working.

Question is do you have much choice other than fans to step up again? Genuinely don’t know if you have a white knight waiting in the wings but if overall fan ownership was difficult is there not a hybrid approach?