The Worlds Worst Pubs

• Replies 136

When I was in the Pompey exercise area's I was more of an Emwah's rating, Spanners for sundodgers :) but I spent the vast majority of my time in Harry Fassers but as an RA for the vast majority of my time. Jesters was an other establishment with a certain je nais se quoi as they say in Italy :unsure2:

Ah, the Sultan Bop and then Emma's on a Tuesday night. 8)

When my auld man moved to Larkhall 20 years ago, we went for a pint in The Ranch. Not the roughest pub I have been to, but not the most welcoming to two guys from rural Banffshire.

Ross's bar, near where I live. It's actually a decent wee pub, but the 's after Ross is completely unacceptable.

The additional "s" is indeed unacceptable...

There was a wee boozer somewhere near the Fruit Market in Glasgow, I think called the Budgie. Had one of those licenses that meant it was open pretty much 24 hours in order to cater for the shift workers. Ended up in there at 8am one Saturday morning as a result of our football team hiring a minibus and heading off for a Scottish Cup tie only to find out that our match had been called off when we were not too far from this place. It was an experience.

A few dodgy places on the Gallowgate and around the bottom of High Street in Glasgow City Centre. Ended up in one directly below the railway bridge on a couple of occasions(The Spirit?) as they were charging a quid a pint. There was good reason it was so cheap.

One or two(Probably quite a few more) in Greenock were dodgy as f*ck when I lived there. Drunk in The George(I think it was called at the time) semi regularly as I was friends with some of the bar staff, and generally there was at least 3 or 4 punch ups a week. Seen a guy getting stabbed at the front door, which is something I wouldn't want to witness again.

Over here there are plenty of old fashioned, traditional Swiss pubs. They are horrendous, but without the violence you get in the UK.

Went into a random village 'bar' in Kenya when I was younger, just out of curiosity rather than anything else. It was really nothing more than a glorified wooden hut with a corregated metal roof. Sold some local beer with the addition of the nation's finest (Tusker) from warm shelved bottles. Really did not trust the water they had sitting there though. Resembled cola more I think.

When I was in the Navy, I went to Baltisk n Russia. The place was a fucking shithole. There was a back allay in the town where folk went for a piss and it resembled a small pool you wash your feet in before going to the swimming pool (but yellow). Anyway there was a place that passed itself off a a casino on the grounds it had a plugger. Another was inside a tent and locals all hated us. We actually had to wear our uniforms ashore so the local authorities knew who to look out for.

You may well ask what was the point - the beer was 26p a pint.

Is this on the corner across from central station? If so I got punched in there for refusing to go home with a heavily pregnant lassie who had been sat at the bar necking pints of cider with her mates. Was in there with a girl I worked with and The woman's toilet didn't have a cubicle door, it had a shower curtain.

:blink:

I've been in a few that have been mentioned on here so far.I've been in Denholms across from Central loads of times without any trouble but it changes dramatically when the karaoke is on.

The Star in Alloa was hilarious when Monster was refused his pint "Get yer f**kin heed doon a cannae see the hoarses" and the pint was cloudier than a misty mountain top

The Gate in Killie was a cracking pub.It had huge comfy couches and the lager was perfectly chilled.The last time i was in it(mid 90s) i was heading to work on Arran and discovered Aftershock.Thought i was gonna pish the bus seat on the journey to Ardrossan.I had to run into some pub next to the ferry terminal which would also fit into the worst pub contender but i can't remember the name.

I think the worst i've been in has to be Alfredos in Glasgow.Straight across from the Iron Horse.You walk in the door and it looks not too bad.You then have to go up a small flight of stairs to the bar.This is where it went badly wrong.It opens out and the night i was in it was full of toothless Shellsuit Bob types.When i ordered a drink i could see why as it was cheap as f**k.

Personally, although I don't drink alcohol myself, I've been in a few tough boozers in Greenock and some other places in the West of Scotland. I thought I was in a decent bar in Greenock once, in an end of course meal then drink with college friends (I had an orange of course!) and a guy got smashed in the face with a glass when I was leaving which was pretty nasty. In that particular bar, apparently it isn't that common. It was the James Watt Bar, a popular student haunt.

Worked in there for a couple of years, and I wouldn't say that sort of behaviour was exactly common in there, but Greenock in general had a worryingly high level of pub violence in comparison to other places in Scotland, in my experience. In the 2 and a half years I worked there I only witnessed a couple of incidents(One of them did involve 5 or 6 boys wading into 2 guys with bar stools and all sorts getting swung until 1 of the 2 pulled out a rather large cleaver of some kind and the 5 or 6 decided to quit while they were ahead), in comparison to maybe a dozen or so in other boozers in that time.

I think the worst i've been in has to be Alfredos in Glasgow.Straight across from the Iron Horse.You walk in the door and it looks not too bad.You then have to go up a small flight of stairs to the bar.This is where it went badly wrong.It opens out and the night i was in it was full of toothless Shellsuit Bob types.When i ordered a drink i could see why as it was cheap as f**k.

Always found Alfredo's to be a fairly decent, ned free boozer, though it is a couple of years since I was in. You had the usual mix of pensioners and shite patter merchants but generally folk were friendly enough and it had a decent atmosphere. I know they got rid of the guy who was managing it when I was a regular, and the place was taken over by the son of the owner, so maybe it has all changed since then.

The additional "s" is indeed unacceptable...

There was a wee boozer somewhere near the Fruit Market in Glasgow, I think called the Budgie. Had one of those licenses that meant it was open pretty much 24 hours in order to cater for the shift workers. Ended up in there at 8am one Saturday morning as a result of our football team hiring a minibus and heading off for a Scottish Cup tie only to find out that our match had been called off when we were not too far from this place. It was an experience.

A few dodgy places on the Gallowgate and around the bottom of High Street in Glasgow City Centre. Ended up in one directly below the railway bridge on a couple of occasions(The Spirit?) as they were charging a quid a pint. There was good reason it was so cheap.

One or two(Probably quite a few more) in Greenock were dodgy as f*ck when I lived there. Drunk in The George(I think it was called at the time) semi regularly as I was friends with some of the bar staff, and generally there was at least 3 or 4 punch ups a week. Seen a guy getting stabbed at the front door, which is something I wouldn't want to witness again.

Over here there are plenty of old fashioned, traditional Swiss pubs. They are horrendous, but without the violence you get in the UK.

The Spirit is probably the best pub in the Trongate tbh. I've been in a few times and never had any bother, the interior, whilst a bit dingy, is not too bad at all. McKinnons the next street up is a bit of a shithole right enough.

I remember being in the Moon years ago, was a bit of an experience...

The Spirit is probably the best pub in the Trongate tbh. I've been in a few times and never had any bother, the interior, whilst a bit dingy, is not too bad at all. McKinnons the next street up is a bit of a shithole right enough.

Is that the one right under the bridge? Walked past it on the way to the commonwealth games dress rehearsal on Saturday night and it looked like one of numerous hellholes in that area. 'The Wee Man' a bit further up looked particularly dire.

Must have improved a bit in the 7 or 8 years since I was last in it!

The Moon was the same place as the Rooftops? Had a few interesting nights in there when is was 17/18.

Me and a few mates did a working holiday year in New Zealand and on our first day in Auckland went into a pub called The Owl. It was immediately clear that it was a Rastafarian joint (pun intended) and we couldn't have looked more out of place if we tried.

The 30 or so Rastafari sitting about all just stared at us the whole time we were in, which was only for as long as it took to quickly neck a pint as fast as we could. Even the bartender just served us without a word and stood watching us drink it The white locals we spoke to later though it was hilarious we went in there.

A Rastafarian pub? Most Rastas don't drink alcohol :blink:

Worked in there for a couple of years, and I wouldn't say that sort of behaviour was exactly common in there, but Greenock in general had a worryingly high level of pub violence in comparison to other places in Scotland, in my experience.

Due, in no small part, to the ridiculous curfew

Is that still in place? It was horrendously outdated when I worked in the pubs there 10 years ago. I assumed they would finally have moved with the times and got rid of it.

The Moon!!! Had to step over a jakey on the stairs on the way in who was asleep with a can pipe in his hand. Only 'nightclub' (using the term loosely) I have been in where the majority of clientele were wearing tracksuits and hats, girls (using the term loosely) included. Needless to say after 5 minutes of being in there I witnessed 2 fights and loads of disco winching on the middle of the floor. Didn't even finish my drink and got the feck out of there.

The quickest I've ever drank a pint of beer was in Benidorm. A bigot fest hovel run by a Norwegian burd. Can't remember the name of the place but it was decked out with Rangers/Orange Order regalia. In and out in under two minutes.

Golden Last?

That's it - there are/were two of them, one in the Old Town up a very steep hill, which I think is the one referred to earlier, and one in the New Town.

My mate told me you can get a souvenier photo dressed up like a UVF member with a balaclava and a replica firearm. :lol:

Not sure if he's winding me up though. :lol:

My mate told me you can get a souvenier photo dressed up like a UVF member with a balaclava and a replica firearm. :lol:

Not sure if he's winding me up though. :lol:

I wouldn't be surprised, the clientele, particularly in the Old Town establishment, looked like they might actually have real firearms to hand.