Sportsound Watch

15 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

What are you on about now?

Calling Traynor a dangerous bully was fine.  I've heard much worse said on the programme about figures like  John Brown, Ian Cathro and Craig Levein.

Nobody cowered in terror on those occasions.

We both agree there should've been no apology?

12 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

I don't know what GCC means.

Connecting coverage of Morelos to Traynor is of course, perfectly legitimate.  He did it artlessly though.

Glasgow City Council.  Susan Aitken (SNP) used her position as lead of GCC to interfere with Rangers' desire to have a local Fanzone.  She and David McDonald issued emails asking that this sensible request be denied.  The idiot Stewart then claimed, in his ramble, that it was our fault for not 'working in conjunction with people' but instead 'going to war'.  He thus showed a view of truth that no sane person could endorse.

Also, "Connecting coverage of Morelos to Traynor is of course, perfectly legitimate" is only so if you think it's fine to abuse young black players who play for Rangers.  Morelos gets a hard gig in Scotland and has even had calls to deport him.

Stewart was right about Traynor but wrong about everything else.  He certainly should never be on BBC again.

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

Glasgow City Council.  Susan Aitken (SNP) used her position as lead of GCC to interfere with Rangers' desire to have a local Fanzone.  She and David McDonald issued emails asking that this sensible request be denied.  The idiot Stewart then claimed, in his ramble, that it was our fault for not 'working in conjunction with people' but instead 'going to war'.  He thus showed a view of truth that no sane person could endorse.

Also, "Connecting coverage of Morelos to Traynor is of course, perfectly legitimate" is only so if you think it's fine to abuse young black players who play for Rangers.  Morelos gets a hard gig in Scotland and has even had calls to deport him.

Stewart was right about Traynor but wrong about everything else.  He certainly should never be on BBC again.

What are you slethering about? The Glasgow City Council was onside but the community council told you they weren't happy with the plans.

This is the exact thing Stewart was talking about. You come out attacking anyone who you feel has wronged you even if you don't have a clue.

The fact is that Rangers media strategy is to be perma-raging victims. And that is endorsed by your PR guru Traynor. Because I guess that if they couldn't work you up into a frenzy then you might start asking if it is the people at the club who were at fault.

Who has called for Morelos to be deported? Any proof

7 hours ago, wastecoatwilly said:

We both agree there should've been no apology?

No we don't.

I think an apology was needed because he got something wrong about the Daily Record.  It was possibly needed also with regard to Traynor leaking and promoting the 'brake tampering' myth, because I don't think Stewart could support it.  If he could, he should have done so, rather than offer a bumbling retraction.

The nature of the apology we did get, with its references to "not here to defend himself" was however, thoroughly inappropriate.

7 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Also, "Connecting coverage of Morelos to Traynor is of course, perfectly legitimate" is only so if you think it's fine to abuse young black players who play for Rangers.  

What a monumentally stupid thing to say.  It's you who now owes people apologies, but obviously, I'm not anticipating one.

7 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

.  He certainly should never be on BBC again.

Rangers wanting another BBC man banned. Everything has come full circle since I was growing up in the sixties. The paranoia then came exclusively from Celtic Park.

2 hours ago, Public menace said:

Who has called for Morelos to be deported? Any proof

A guy questioned the signing of Morelos claiming he didnt meet the criteria as an overseas player (a blogger John James). So he should be chucked.  All bollocks but evidence of the pressure that poor wee boy is under. As if Morelos gave a shit about it or was even aware of it. 

Of course this is a horrifying example of what he faces rather than people associated with him and the club he plays for manipulating what he says for their own gain.

2 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

No we don't.

I think an apology was needed because he got something wrong about the Daily Record.  It was possibly needed also with regard to Traynor leaking and promoting the 'brake tampering' myth, because I don't think Stewart could support it.  If he could, he should have done so, rather than offer a bumbling retraction.

The nature of the apology we did get, with its references to "not here to defend himself" was however, thoroughly inappropriate.

The thing is Stewart knows that Macintyre will move on to the next subject so instead of getting caught up in the detail he tried to move straight to the crux of the matter.
By naming Jabba the nut he lost his credence everyone knew it was a PR disaster and a cover up for their mistakes.
Darryl Broadfoot is all about the perception of the listener, he got it spot on by calling it a scooby doo episode.

2 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

The thing is Stewart knows that Macintyre will move on to the next subject so instead of getting caught up in the detail he tried to move straight to the crux of the matter.
By naming Jabba the nut he lost his credence everyone knew it was a PR disaster and a cover up for their mistakes.
Darryl Broadfoot is all about the perception of the listener, he got it spot on by calling it a scooby doo episode.

Nothing wrong with naming Traynor and criticising the way he works, so long as compelling, current supporting evidence is provided.  This is the bit Stewart struggled with. 

I suspect it reflected his failure to research the evidence, rather than its absence.

8 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Nothing wrong with naming Traynor and criticising the way he works, so long as compelling, current supporting evidence is provided.  This is the bit Stewart struggled with. 

I suspect it reflected his failure to research the evidence, rather than its absence.

A right to reply would be better Jabba v Stewart like they did with Bomber Brown and the egg chaser.

9 hours ago, Jim McLean's Ghost said:

What are you slethering about? The Glasgow City Council was onside but the community council told you they weren't happy with the plans.

No.  The pilot fanzones went well.  Aitken and McDonald then got involved in the process and put the kibosh on it.  Aitken also tried to use photos of Frank McAveety attending a game at Ibrox as a slur against him.  This is why she was reported to the commissioner for ethical standards by Adam Tomkins and McAveety and this is also why Rangers got angry at GCC/Aitken.

Stewart got it entirely wrong.  The SNP-led council were mendacious towards Rangers' Fanzone and also towards Frank McAveety and they should have been in Stewart's sights rather than Rangers.

Edited by The_Kincardine

37 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Traynor has ample previous of lies and bullying as any examination of his outbursts against my club in particular would attest. Him and his lickspittle hacks in the Record and Sun.  He is everything Stewart labelled him and more. 

11 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

No.  The pilot fanzones went well.  Aitken and McDonald then got involved in the process and put the kibosh on it.  Aitken also tried to use photos of Frank McAveety attending a game at Ibrox as a slur against him.  This is why she was reported to the commissioner for ethical standards by Adam Tomkins and McAveety and this is also why Rangers got angry at GCC/Aitken.

Stewart got it entirely wrong.  The SNP-led council were mendacious towards Rangers' Fanzone and also towards Frank McAveety and they should have been in Stewart's sights rather than Rangers.

WOW! you get fed some amount of pish, fecking hell McAveety was the root cause of the equal pay dispute.
Your tangent is as bad as Jabba's, one mess to cover up another mess.

9 hours ago, Jim McLean's Ghost said:

This is the exact thing Stewart was talking about. You come out attacking anyone who you feel has wronged you even if you don't have a clue.

The fact is that Rangers media strategy is to be perma-raging victims. And that is endorsed by your PR guru Traynor. Because I guess that if they couldn't work you up into a frenzy then you might start asking if it is the people at the club who were at fault.

That's simply not true, when it comes to Sevco the blinkers just don't come off with some..  

McDonald also had to apologise for making derogatory remarks about Rangers on social media, while Aitken tried to smear Frank McAveety (spelling) for attending a game at Ibrox. There obviously was clear bias at Glasgow cc and  Michael  Stewart is a high profile SNP campaigner. What they forget is that a lot of bears vote SNP.

Michael Stewart was asked by the sportsound host not to get political,  Michael knew best. 

Michael Stewart was asked by the sportsound host to stop getting personal with Traynor and the Record (a pro labour publication), Michael knew best.

All Michael had to do was an answer a simple question about whether one player was being treated unfairly in Scottish fitba, that's all.

Maybe Michael would be better suited to a commercial station rather than the beeb with its codes of conduct. Being controversial to stay relevant is his thing.