Ardagh Cup

Sancho Panza

Remember a fee seasons ago Cumnock having a league fixture postponed because of the Marymass game .

More than once it has happened - and if a league game has been cancelled it means the Marymass game was not a competitive League Cup game but merely a money making friendly - so a club loses out on a Saturday home game and has to play on a Monday night.

• Replies 136

Don't agree with the 'cricket score' looking at their other results in the section but as the rules only call for a starting eleven with seven signed players the Wednesday game should have presented no problems. plenty of under 21 players would have jumped at the chance to fill up the numbers and get the chance to impress

Is there a maximum number of trialists that can play? Or is it just a team must start the game with 7 (?) signed players?

The Marymass derby is not merely a money making friendly, it's a long standing traditional fixture involving two local junior sides as part of a local festival. Any league match that was put back can be rescheduled into the following 9 months of the season causing no major inconvenience to the competition. This thread is about a cup competition possibly over-running or sectional ties being binned as they're irrelevant. Am sure the sponsor will be delighted at how the West Region is managing their investment.

Using that logic, about a quarter of world cup qualifier and group stage matches wouldn't be played. Not having a go at your team but am having a go at the sjfa as the decision makes the competition look even more pish than it actually is.

Yes you are absolutely right and all games should be played.

It may have also came across that I would welcome a Medda win so that this scenario would be possible.

This is not the case as I want the Ford to win all games no matter how seamingly meaningless.

It just seems strange that the SJFA have failed to post the date of the tie which end any uncertainty surrounding the fixture.

Or are they waiting on the outcome before deciding.

Please accept my apologies for suggesting the Ardeer game not be played.

It may be a burden but always better to have a backlog of games than be out of competitions.

So whittlets v glenafton and

Talbot v maybole will not take place on weds 26th aug because hurlf have not played all there fixtures yet

Where did you hear this?

Yes you are absolutely right and all games should be played.

It may have also came across that I would welcome a Medda win so that this scenario would be possible.

This is not the case as I want the Ford to win all games no matter how seamingly meaningless.

It just seems strange that the SJFA have failed to post the date of the tie which end any uncertainty surrounding the fixture.

Or are they waiting on the outcome before deciding.

Please accept my apologies for suggesting the Ardeer game not be played.

It may be a burden but always better to have a backlog of games than be out of competitions.

Well said sir.

Have no doubt Ardeer are looking forward to playing the Scottish cup holders,would be a shame if the game was left unplayed.

Don't think the SJFA are to blame though,the cup it run by the West Region

No one said the game WOULDN'T be played.

Hurlford haven't asked for the game to be binned.

Ardeer haven't asked for the game to be binned.

Will it be played before the quarter finals?

Will the quarter & semi finals be moved back to enable this fixture to be played?

If Medda win at Blair Park they will win the section with Hurlford runners up.

Surely there would be no need then to play the Ardeer v Hurlford game.

Using that logic we could just have scrubbed at least 10 of the 16 Euroscot Section games yesterday then as 5 of the groups were ready settled.

i was just asking the question tibbs was going to attend 1 of those fixtures but was sure if they where getting played . Can you confirm that your game is going ahead

Iv not heard that it isnt going ahead, so im assuming its still on. Theres no reason for ours not to be played anyway.

hows this for a simple suggestion ?

Hurlford Medda play Monday

Ardeer Hurlford play Wed.

The two 1/4 finals played Sat with semi finals as scheduled for Wed 3rd Sept.

League games cancelled can be played later on.

That's a fair shout considering Ladeside are due to play Hurlford in the league.Its one way of getting oot of this mess.However its a wee bit too clever for beaks :)

Reckon they should just put the semis and final on hold until end of season and make this the very last Ardagh Cup...sorry Sgt Fury,sir :)

MSG to hurlford you boast about cash players and squad, u will go on and do many things this season but man up and send a team to ardeer do you really want to end up with all these trophies at the end of the season but everyone saying that use couldn't fulfill the card

Another Hurlford hater on the forum, welcome Sir.

MSG to Big Clown 82, Who at Hurlford has ever boasted about cash and players? that they weren't playing? or that they will win trophies? NO ONE, total drivel sir.