Your top 5 favourite ever....

Derry boy

• Replies 49

When I was younger, I always liked the style of the below players as I played a similar position and it's not hard to work out what foot I used.

Gheorghe Hagi

Hristo Stoichkov

Rivaldo

Alvaro Recoba

Pavel Nedved (ambidextrous from birth)

Gabriele Batistuta - Got into everything Italian in 1990 with world cup and Italian football on C4, this guy especially with Fiorentina was phenomenal.

Robert Prosinecki - 50 fags a day, nae pace. Didnt matter, wish they still made players like that.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic - Scorer of ridiculous goals, ego bigger than the moon, but a fitba player with a personality and some player to boot.

Jim Bett - I was pretty young to remember the greats at their peak, Miller, McLeish, Black, Weir, Strachan and all the rest.

Loved the way Bett played, unhurried, calm, range of pasisng and penalty taking superstar

Franco Baresi - The epitome of Italian defending and man could he play as well.

If people got passed them they would get halfed in two, proper defender.

I green dotted another post by you when I meant to green dot this one. There is absolutely not enough Prosinecki in this thread.

No probs, there sure isnt.

Guy was a legend, still watch some old clips of him on youtube every now and again.

What a midfield Yugoslavia had back then, Stojkovic, Prosninecki, Savicevic, Boban, Katanec and the rest.

Prosinecki was the best to watch though, ball just stuck to him.

Well as a (dodgy) goalkeeper I spend a lot of time watching other keepers so only have 1 outfield player on my list.

5. Kasper Schmeichel - I like watching Kasper as I got to see a lot of him when he was coming through the youth and was out on loan from Man City. Hard working as f**k, always willing to learn and spreads himself well covering the goals. A class act with a very bright future.

4. This one might be controversial but Artur Boruc - Simple because he is one of the best one on one shot stoppers I have ever witnessed. If anyone gets the chance watch highlights of Boruc in his prime and you will see just how well he spreads himself. If he wasn't such a diddy off the park he could have been so much more in my opinion.

3. Fabian Barthez - From absolute world class to absolute fucking diddy from one moment to the next. Whats not to love the guy was the most eccentric thing you will ever see on a football park. Always entertaining.

2. Francesco Totti - Always grew up loving Roma and this guy is just AS Roma through and through. A true legend at the club he incredibly spent all his career there racking up 600 odd games for them. Dead ball specialist and loved a wonder goal. Maybe not a great player in some peoples eyes but a true Roma legend in mine.

An honourable mention to some great keepers i watched include Buffon, Canizares, Coupet, Cassias and Scheichel Senior

1. My all time favourite though was Recber Rustu - What to say about this guy ? From the war paint to kicking Dyer in the head this guy was my hero. He has Turkeys all time caps record with 120 appearances. He lead Turkey to 3rd in the 2002 World Cup which saw him selected in the team of the tournament . That year he was voted as the best goalkeeper in Europe and was placed in the UEFA team of the year.

Not the most popular list by far but that is my top 5