Future of EoS

Fae whit a heard at the weekend Craigroyston are defo Junior next season and there might be more even ma Shippy might make the jump and no afore time. Theres nae future in the EOS.

Am pretty sure someone on here from Burntisland have mentioned they don't wish to go junior

• Replies 97

Regarding the question about Coldstream and floodlights, floodlights are not required for the Lowland League at this time as Selkirk don't have any but that is not to say they won't be a requirement in future and Coldstream may have trouble gaining permission for them. I had heard that some people involved at Kelso Utd were still keen to get a team going again but it's much easier to withdraw than to restart isn't it. Their pitch wouldn't meet the current EOS requirements if they were a new club seeking entry but I understand they are still EOS members and can get a team back in again as long as they do it within three years.

You need floodlights after being in tier 5 for two seasons

Dalbeattie announced plans just before Christmas: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/dalbeattie-star-planning-install-floodlights-7066618

Selkirk announced plans over 2yrs ago but hasn't happened thusfar: http://www.selkirkweekendadvertiser.co.uk/sport/football/souters-start-to-see-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel-1-3262507

Vale of Leithen had ambitions in mid/late 2000s - I read it in Peeblesshire News - but hasn't happened thusfar.

Not sure about Whitehill, don't recall anything official or in local press. Their ex-manager occasionally mentioned the idea in his blog, IIRC. Maybe their posters will confirm.

Obviously they're expensive; equally when there are lots of postponements unlit midweeks have to be played at horrid times - e.g. this season:

http://slfl.co.uk/fixtures/fixtures-march/

http://slfl.co.uk/fixtures/fixtures-april/

Wednesday 30th March

Ferrari Packaging Lowland League

Vale of Leithen v Spartans 6:15pm

Whitehill Welfare v University of Stirling 6:15pm

Tuesday 5th April

Selkirk v University of Stirling 6:30pm

Wednesday 6th April

Vale of Leithen v Edinburgh City 6:30pm

Whitehill Welfare v Spartans 6:30pm

Dalbeattie announced plans just before Christmas: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/dalbeattie-star-planning-install-floodlights-7066618

Selkirk announced plans over 2yrs ago but hasn't happened thusfar: http://www.selkirkweekendadvertiser.co.uk/sport/football/souters-start-to-see-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel-1-3262507

Vale of Leithen had ambitions in mid/late 2000s - I read it in Peeblesshire News - but hasn't happened thusfar.

Not sure about Whitehill, don't recall anything official or in local press. Their ex-manager occasionally mentioned the idea in his blog, IIRC. Maybe their posters will confirm.

Obviously they're expensive; equally when there are lots of postponements unlit midweeks have to be played at horrid times - e.g. this season:

http://slfl.co.uk/fixtures/fixtures-march/

http://slfl.co.uk/fixtures/fixtures-april/

Wednesday 30th March

Vale of Leithen v Spartans 6:15pm

Whitehill Welfare v University of Stirling 6:15pm

Tuesday 5th April

Selkirk v University of Stirling 6:30pm

Wednesday 6th April

Vale of Leithen v Edinburgh City 6:30pm

Whitehill Welfare v Spartans 6:30pm

Cheerz HJ,may take a run down to Selkirk on the 5th of April or Innerliethen on the 6th,quite like a spring nite end o season midweek game,never been to a game at Yarrow Park so that may be the best bet.

Regarding the question about Coldstream and floodlights, floodlights are not required for the Lowland League at this time as Selkirk don't have any but that is not to say they won't be a requirement in future and Coldstream may have trouble gaining permission for them. I had heard that some people involved at Kelso Utd were still keen to get a team going again but it's much easier to withdraw than to restart isn't it. Their pitch wouldn't meet the current EOS requirements if they were a new club seeking entry but I understand they are still EOS members and can get a team back in again as long as they do it within three years.

. What are the requirements to join the league what do clubs need now

Just issued

What does the East of Scotland Football League have to offer?

• Membership of EOSFL which confirms acceptance of and commitment to the pyramid system and satisfies a mandatory requirement of being granted a Club Licence.

• Automatic entry to the Scottish Cup for Champion Club which will generate a minimum income in excess of £2,500.

• Our ambition is to have all Members licenced as soon as possible and thereby automatically in the Scottish Cup every year.

• SFA Sports First Aid courses at heavily discounted rates (or free).

• All clubs supplied with a defibrillator and associated training.

• Bespoke personalised first aid bag.

• Personal Accident and Liability insurance incl. player to player liability paid for by the League.

• Match balls supplied for season and training balls available at heavily discounted prices.

• Bespoke goalkeeping courses.

• Possibility of getting another place in the Scottish Cup

• Coaching courses at heavily discounted rates (or free) up to C Licence level.

• Prize money for those Clubs finishing in the top four in the league.

• A sound organisational structure with fixtures issued on a seasonal basis.

• In combination with the Scottish Lowland League and the South of Scotland League an U20 development league for the development of a player pathway.

• Automatic entry for the U20 team into the Scottish Youth Cup.

What do we ask in return?

We are willing to talk to any prospective members who can demonstrate the ambition to meet our objectives regarding Club Licencing which would clearly also require a commitment to engage with the pyramid system. It may be that there are amateur clubs out there who do not currently have the infrastructure in place to meet our criteria but we are happy to talk to any who think that they can do so in time and can show a willingness to try. There may also be clubs who already have the infrastructure in place but are hidebound by tradition preventing them from making a move. We need to identify any such clubs and make an effort to engage with them.

The evidence of what can be gained has been there for all to see this season with Lothian Thistle HV, East Kilbride and Linlithgow Rose gaining considerable publicity, not to mention very large sums of money, for competing through a number of rounds in the Scottish Cup.

. What are the requirements to join the league what do clubs need now

Just issued

What does the East of Scotland Football League have to offer?

• Membership of EOSFL which confirms acceptance of and commitment to the pyramid system and satisfies a mandatory requirement of being granted a Club Licence.

• Automatic entry to the Scottish Cup for Champion Club which will generate a minimum income in excess of £2,500.

• Our ambition is to have all Members licenced as soon as possible and thereby automatically in the Scottish Cup every year.

• SFA Sports First Aid courses at heavily discounted rates (or free).

• All clubs supplied with a defibrillator and associated training.

• Bespoke personalised first aid bag.

• Personal Accident and Liability insurance incl. player to player liability paid for by the League.

• Match balls supplied for season and training balls available at heavily discounted prices.

• Bespoke goalkeeping courses.

• Possibility of getting another place in the Scottish Cup

• Coaching courses at heavily discounted rates (or free) up to C Licence level.

• Prize money for those Clubs finishing in the top four in the league.

• A sound organisational structure with fixtures issued on a seasonal basis.

• In combination with the Scottish Lowland League and the South of Scotland League an U20 development league for the development of a player pathway.

• Automatic entry for the U20 team into the Scottish Youth Cup.

What do we ask in return?

We are willing to talk to any prospective members who can demonstrate the ambition to meet our objectives regarding Club Licencing which would clearly also require a commitment to engage with the pyramid system. It may be that there are amateur clubs out there who do not currently have the infrastructure in place to meet our criteria but we are happy to talk to any who think that they can do so in time and can show a willingness to try. There may also be clubs who already have the infrastructure in place but are hidebound by tradition preventing them from making a move. We need to identify any such clubs and make an effort to engage with them.

The evidence of what can be gained has been there for all to see this season with Lothian Thistle HV, East Kilbride and Linlithgow Rose gaining considerable publicity, not to mention very large sums of money, for competing through a number of rounds in the Scottish Cup.

Now that's what I call a great statement and effort from the EOS FA at proactively seeking to address the issues and being willing to open dialogue and work with clubs towards a common goal.

Clubs now have no excuses, the door is open to at least meet and discuss the possibilities.

They should be applauded for this.

Do you get £2,500 from being in the First Preliminary Round of the Scottish?

On another note, if the winners are licensed does that mean 2nd in the EOS gets the berth into the Scottish Cup?

I think you get 50% of gate receipts aswell.

Do you get £2,500 from being in the First Preliminary Round of the Scottish?

On another note, if the winners are licensed does that mean 2nd in the EOS gets the berth into the Scottish Cup?

My figures are out of date but when Pollok qualified, the prize fund was:

R1 participation: £2000

R2 participation: £4000

R3 participation: £6000

R4 participation: £8000

R5 participation: £10000

R6 participation: £12000

SF participation: £14000

F participation: £16000

That was a gross sum though and bookings / sendings off carried a financial penalty. When we beat St Cuthberts and played Montrose, the prize money banked was just over £5k. Gates receipts for the Mo game were a record though.

The sfa could do with throwing them a bone and say top 4 or 6 get scottish cup place. Might help attract some new teams?

Don't think sfa are due the Eos any favours, there is a clear required standard for cup entry that is open to any club to achieve.

That said idealisticly I'd want an all - in Scottish Cup, this could be achieved by an expansion of the licencing system to include all teams with say 'community' and amatuer licences.

It costs £2k per year for SFA membership, and you need to pay that before they discuss Licencing.

Would be interesting to see a complete list of the costs involved for fees, membership etc.

I don't mean the costs for upgrading facilities or general running costs, just the straight forward entry fees to the EOS league and associated cups.

It costs £2k per year for SFA membership, and you need to pay that before they discuss Licencing.

I thought that the £2000 was a down payment to register for licencing but the yearly fee is £500. It's not clear if the qualifiers who are non members have to pay the registration.

As for the sofa owing the e.o.s nothing, there are 4 members in the league all of which will not be able to join the LL. I would've thought the sofa need to make sure there members are playing in a creditable league and if there were concerns about too many teams leaving could help by increasing the incentive to stay in the league