Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

10 minutes ago, Archie McSquackle said:

Perhaps he's been told by someone at the club to remove it?

Aye, more than likely. He replied to someone who called him out for it saying he read it back and realised how it badly it came across/deleted it.

Also, for the record, the folk further down the replies calling him a "cancer" on the Club can get in the f**king sea.

As much as I don't agree with his initial tweet/response and some other things that have happened over the years, the abuse he gets from some folk on there is bang out of order. If he gets burned for being condescending in tone to someone on there, that shit needs called out too, probably even more so.

The hypocrisy shown by some of our fans/reply guys on there is mind-blowing.

Edited by StAndrew7

Regards the Aberdeen ticket situation.  I think Aberdeen asked Motherwell to sell the away tickets directly to our fans. Ours were posted out so maybe Aberdeen sent down a batch of real life paper tickets? Or maybe MFC printed them off.  Other Clubs allow away fans to purchase digital tickets online directly from them which is much more convenient and is not time limited. I guess the digital age has not yet reached Pittodrie.

There are solutions that would not require the Office to open on a Saturday though. Clearly Bob Park could not think of one. Was a time when fans unable to get to FP midweek to collect away tickets could purchase them over the phone and collect them at the away venue before the game. Worked well enough and without too much effort. Kilmarnock and Hibs are two examples I recall. I did notice that Aberdeen had a wee booth outside the away gate set up exactly for that purpose. Even had a sign ' Ticket Collection'.  But clearly not in use.

Instead of his unhelpful response Bob Park could perhaps show a bit of respect and highlight the issue to our ticket office staff to avoid such issues in the future. Perhaps something the Society should raise with the Club.

1 hour ago, Swello said:

I think there is strong evidence that middle-aged men should have to pass a proficiency test (don't be a gullible p***k, don't post your dodgy searches by accident, leave women un-harangued) before they are allowed access to social media - because they (we?) are f**king horrendous at it in general.  

I remember Rob MacLean had a column on the BBC website and it was called "top 5 moments in Scottish Football that weekend".  One time, he put Joey Barton's Burnley losing to some non-league side in the F.A Cup.  When I pulled him up on Twitter about it, he came back with a response along the lines of, 'well Joey Barton played for Rangers last season so of course it's relevant to Scottish Football'.  Which just about sums up 98% of Scottish Football media.

Edited by Desp

13 minutes ago, Desp said:

I remember Rob MacLean had a column on the BBC website and it was called "top 5 moments in Scottish Football that weekend".  One time, he put Joey Barton's Burnley losing to some non-league side in the F.A Cup.  When I pulled him up on Twitter about it, he came back with a response along the lines of, 'well Joey Barton played for Rangers last season so of course it's relevant to Scottish Football'.  Which just about sums up 98% of Scottish Football media.

Only person ever to block me on Twitter, because I had the cheek to say that he really should be able to tell the difference between Carl McHugh and Charles Dunne on a BBC commentary.  

5 hours ago, Ceiling Granny said:

I’m in the same boat, I’ve been working away a lot and whether can get to an away game (especially at further away grounds) is dependent on when I get home, what I need to get done at home that weekend and when I’ll be away again. I’ve also made snap decisions in the past based on pals going, the weather, whether the trains are running, the likelihood of a win etc etc.  It’s laughable that the only reason you wouldn’t have a ticket is because you forgot. 

As others have said, there’s a way you should engage with people, regardless of your own personal views, and that’s not it. 

On Friday night, I found out I would be working in Aberdeen. I had no idea what time I would finish, so it was really a last-minute decision to show up.

Football is the only thing I know of that begs fans to attend games but then makes it as difficult as possible to actually get there. I've lost count of the times I've walked up to the Odeon, thought 'f**k it,' and decided to just watch a movie by buying a ticket on the spot.

Due to my job, I can't plan six weeks in advance. If I'm on call, I can be expected to drop everything and drive three hours away.

14 hours ago, camer0n_mcd said:

On this, after the St Johnstone game a few weeks ago there was a (very quickly deleted) post put out by the SLO account on twitter which started with "Bob, is this okay?" followed by the rest of the post which had quite clearly been copy and pasted from a WhatsApp/DM. I did find it very funny/odd that the Safety and Facilities Manager  was vetting social media posts of the Supporter Liaison officer.

Only just spotted this... that's madness.

Been chatting with some others offline about the need for some clearly defined roles and responsibilities within the Club.

Hopefully Caldwell will bring that to the fore as soon as possible. We've mentioned golf/bowling club vibes from the exec board; it really does start to feel like it's the Club as a whole that can be described that way. There's obviously two or three individuals who think they can do it all, when they need to stick to their lane and do their jobs effectively and efficiently. 

I understand a Club our size needs people who fill multiple roles/jobs etc. but there's definitely specialist areas that we've neglected (e.g. Head of Media) which needs sorting out.

1 hour ago, Desp said:

Actually got angry reading that :lol:

53 minutes ago, Pettigrew said:

Only person ever to block me on Twitter, because I had the cheek to say that he really should be able to tell the difference between Carl McHugh and Charles Dunne on a BBC commentary.  

It's a easy mistake to make in a way, I guess... If you're colourblind anyway.

On 12/09/2024 at 11:59, eliphas said:

Not getting ahead of myself or anything - genuinely just interested if anyone knows.

But is Zander McAllister the next 'big thing'?  He seems to be the one we are always posting about getting into the youth Scotland squads (u17 as it stands). Or is he literally the only one getting into the squads?

Somewhat lost in all the Park-gate but this is relevant to the above.

I mean, if any of our weans get a call up we'll post about it so I don't think it's necessarily us trying to start any sort of hype train for McAllister.

I’ve seen the SLO role mentioned a few times now in recent posts. I can’t say I’ve ever seen one outside FP on matchday or at any away grounds other than Montrose where I actually thought the lady just looked lost. What actually is their purpose?

The Bob Park ticket debacle from Saturday is, like the 14 year old age limit, another example of dreadful comms from the club.

On Saturday, on Facebook there was a post which said "no more ticket sales", followed by a link, which mentioned nothing about tickets. Why was there no more ticket sales? Were they sold out? Was it too late? There was nothing within that post that would indicate that.

Before that, there was a post on Tuesday detailing ticket information, with no mention of the Friday deadline, all it said was "tickets are available to buy online". Yes, I am aware one could click the link to the website to then find that information out, but why not help everyone out and put it on the infographic? Especially as for me, in this day and age, an advert telling me tickets are available to buy online makes me think that buying one doesn't come with a particular deadline. To be honest for that part I still don't understand why they came with a deadline. Also, if I see that post with the ticket prices etc and I am making a call on whether I'll go later in the week, I would think that graphic contains all of the information required for now and I don't need to click a link to go elsewhere to find out more info. 

Furthermore, if tickets are stopping from going on sale at 4pm on a Friday. How hard is it to do a post on a Friday morning saying "reminder that the deadline for buying a ticket for Pittodrie is 4pm today"? Potentially more useful than knowing what the players think their FIFA rating is, or what their favourite Oasis song is.

So, you post ticket details on a Tuesday (with no attention to the deadline), you post no reminder about the deadline in between times and then the morning of the game you post that tickets aren't available, without explanation. How Bob Park, the media team or anyone else thought that could go without backlash is baffling.

But let's not kid ourselves, Bob Park revelled in being the man stopping the fun. That was absolutely clear from his tone. The mask slipped big time there.

I'm no expert in Comms, but the club could make things so much easier for themselves in these situations.

It's a shame that we have the technology to make it easy for people to buy tickets when they want, and football has to be all convoluted about it. I'm sure there's ways to prevent home fans getting in the away end and vice versa. If someone really wanted to do that for some reason, they're already doing it now.

When ticket sales are the bread and butter for most clubs, they should be going out of their way to find ways to sell more and make it easier for everyone to buy one, whether it's online or in person.

We shouldn't be employing anyone at the club that sees the fans the way Park does. 

Edited by rowsdower

43 minutes ago, Vietnam91 said:

Soooooo, Dundee United under the lights on Friday, choking for a return to Hampden.

ABC (Anyone But Celtic)

I hope we win and get Celtic in the semis and beat them as well. That's three finals I've come home for since I moved here and it's been against those c***s every time.