Double Winning St Johnstone FC Thread

I can give you the reason he's not at the club in two words - Kirsten Robertson.

He's bound by an agreement not to talk about the reasons behind why he's left, but he was happy to talk about his relationship with Brown, the budget he worked under (he said he always discussed this publicly to give the chairman a 'prod' and it always worked - got the players he wanted even if it was 2 months after the chase began), bust ups he had with other managers/players and the fact he's agreed not to manage in the UK until November - The NI job was different and he's turned down 2 offers from abroad.

Happy to talk about everything, except Kirsten Robertson. His departure was agreed in early February, a couple of weeks after Robertson's Waddell article, so I think the content of what was said in that was maybe the catalyst for what came after. He said he was 'surprised' by the content of that interview.

Edit: Wright reckons his best ever signing was David Wotherspoon. I agree with Sir Thomas. We also  contemplated signing Maclean in January as a player/coach. I can't forgive Thomas now - glad he's gone.

Edited by Kyle

4 minutes ago, Kyle said:

I can give you the reason he's not at the club in two words - Kirsten Robertson.

He's bound by an agreement not to talk about the reasons behind why he's left, but he was happy to talk about his relationship with Brown, the budget he worked under (he said he always discussed this publicly to give the chairman a 'prod' and it always worked - got the players he wanted even if it was 2 months after the chase began), bust ups he had with other managers/players and the fact he's agreed not to manage in the UK until November - The NI job was different and he's turned down 2 offers from abroad.

Happy to talk about everything, except Kirsten Robertson. His departure was agreed in early February, a couple of weeks after Robertson's Waddell article, so I think the content of what was said in that was maybe the catalyst for what came after. He said he was 'surprised' by the content of that interview.

I think it was obvious to most folk. Especially in light of what the Killie fans have said.

With the knowledge everyone will turn on me for this, he spent years mewling about how unprofessional the club was above him, and we all agreed we needed someone between him and Brown, so it seems pretty weak for him to chuck it a few months into that set up.

His comments about being desperate to manage a different club in Scotland leaves a sour taste aswell.

A shame this is how it ended.

6 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

With the knowledge everyone will turn on me for this, he spent years mewling about how unprofessional the club was above him, and we all agreed we needed someone between him and Brown, so it seems pretty weak for him to chuck it a few months into that set up.

His comments about being desperate to manage a different club in Scotland leaves a sour taste aswell.

I don’t think that’s fair. Did you listen to what he said? 

He never asked for an extra layer of management at the club and from his point of view, we were bringing in someone above his head, between him and the chairman, despite how successful he’d been and how successful that relationship had been. i can see why he would feel put out by that, removing some of his responsibilities would feel like a punishment for someone like Wright. If they don’t get along, then something obviously had to give. He’s left us with an Incredible, unmatched and probably unmatchable legacy. Other than Robertson (who he omitted and didn’t bad mouth)  he only had good words to say about the club, the staff and I don’t grudge him the chance of doing the same elsewhere. It may be he just fit our club and set of circumstances perfectly but I personally won’t feel ill will if he turned up at another club in Scotland. Other than maybe bloody Motherwell. They get all the nice things already, they don’t deserve him as well. :lol: 

2 minutes ago, Kyle said:

I don’t think that’s fair. Did you listen to what he said? 

He never asked for an extra layer of management at the club and from his point of view, we were bringing in someone above his head, between him and the chairman, despite how successful he’d been and how successful that relationship had been. i can see why he would feel put out by that, removing some of his responsibilities would feel like a punishment for someone like Wright. If they don’t get along, then something obviously had to give. He’s left us with an Incredible, unmatched and probably unmatchable legacy. Other than Robertson (who he omitted and didn’t bad mouth)  he only had good words to say about the club, the staff and I don’t grudge him the chance of doing the same elsewhere. It may be he just fit our club and set of circumstances perfectly but I personally won’t feel ill will if he turned up at another club in Scotland. Other than maybe bloody Motherwell. They get all the nice things already, they don’t deserve him as well. :lol: 

Im a bitter c**t tbh, hes gone through choice and so any goodwill I had will begin to wither, just how I am tbh.

I'll always be grateful for what he done etc., but hes blatantly lied to the fans when he left and then revealed the truth to the BBC. That, to me, is poor.

7 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

I'll always be grateful for what he done etc., but hes blatantly lied to the fans when he left and then revealed the truth to the BBC. That, to me, is poor.

Lied? Has he? When was this?

Personally, I would be happy enough to see him in charge of any Scottish club apart from Dundee United or Rangers.

Edited by The Real Saints

21 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Whit?

Firstly, he is entitled to do his job wherever he chooses after the agreed period.  I agree he'll tarnish anything he had, certainly in my eyes, if he does manage another Scottish club but hey ho , I can't wait to call him a useless Dee c**t.

Secondly, everyone knew it was KR who he just couldn't work beside. You just done a Tom English and picked the wrong side, then kept at it, much like the bold Tom with Hearts/Budge. 

45 minutes ago, Widge said:

Thing is, I don't see any of the big clubs taking him and I don't see him wanting to return to smaller ones.

Yeah he's got a very narrow selection of clubs who he's got a chance with – and who he'd want to manage.  I can't see any of the top clubs (bar Motherwell) considering him.  Most of the bottom six would be interested, but Hibs apart they're hardly a major step up in profile from Saints. Killie maybe might be the one he'd be suited for, location as much as anything.

Given that, you'd have thought he'd be looking elsewhere. Selling himself to a small coterie of Scottish clubs is a sign he maybe isn't as ambitious as he once said he was.

10 minutes ago, The Real Saints said:

Lied? Has he? When was this?

Screenshot_20200706-171100_Chrome.thumb.jpg.bab92fe5ec5755554ee89f3a8d67a1c6.jpg

7 minutes ago, tree house tam said:

Whit?

Firstly, he is entitled to do his job wherever he chooses after the agreed period.  I agree he'll tarnish anything he had, certainly in my eyes, if he does manage another Scottish club but hey ho , I can't wait to call him a useless Dee c**t.

Secondly, everyone knew it was KR who he just couldn't work beside. You just done a Tom English and picked the wrong side, then kept at it, much like the bold Tom with Hearts/Budge. 

Aye I'm verging on going completely against the grain again here, so its probably best if I just quit and move away from the subject now.

28 minutes ago, realmadrid said:

Love the fact that he still speaks to Richard Foster, made up with Jackie McNamara but won't forgive Neil McCann. 

He's nothing to forgive Neil for. It was he who went running to the head teacher. 

1 minute ago, ali_91 said:

Wee Neil raging whilst the King of Perth takes the acclaim of the away support. Glorious. 

All the more baffling why he then decided to go full grass. 

Nobody should ever go full grass, a sentiment you have shared numerous times correctly. 

Anyway, it's all in the past now. Let bygones be bygones and enjoy the Perthshire sunset. 

He only talked about the McCann stuff after being pushed on it. Sounds like McCann is still in the huff about the constant rimmings he had to endure against St Johnstone FC club. 

46 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Screenshot_20200706-171100_Chrome.thumb.jpg.bab92fe5ec5755554ee89f3a8d67a1c6.jpg

Aye I'm verging on going completely against the grain again here, so its probably best if I just quit and move away from the subject now.

What he said doesn’t contradict what he’s said there though. There’s been a few rumblings about him leaving previously and I think a few people on here commented numerous times that it felt like the relationship was coming to an end with Saints. The guy is only 56 so plenty left in the tank, he clearly feels at home in Scotland and enjoys the league as well. I wouldn’t ever have seen it as a big surprise if/when he emerges at another Scottish club. He probably missed the boat to get a go in England and it maybe doesn’t suit him any more. 

He talked up pretty much every aspect of the club  except Kirsten Robertson and has already spoken to Davidson about the job so I don’t think he’s being a blocker in any way   

I’m not going to condemn Robertson as Wright probably wouldn’t have been at the club much longer regardless,  but her presence seems to have sped up his departure. 

Tommy Wright could join Dundee, call us a bunch of farming c***s, say we are a small club with no fans, get 1962 Muirton Park tattoo’d on his forehead and I’d still worship the ground he walked on. 

Forever the King of Perth. 

Sounds about right

48 minutes ago, Kyle said:

What he said doesn’t contradict what he’s said there though. There’s been a few rumblings about him leaving previously and I think a few people on here commented numerous times that it felt like the relationship was coming to an end with Saints. The guy is only 56 so plenty left in the tank, he clearly feels at home in Scotland and enjoys the league as well. I wouldn’t ever have seen it as a big surprise if/when he emerges at another Scottish club. He probably missed the boat to get a go in England and it maybe doesn’t suit him any more. 

He talked up pretty much every aspect of the club  except Kirsten Robertson and has already spoken to Davidson about the job so I don’t think he’s being a blocker in any way   

I’m not going to condemn Robertson as Wright probably wouldn’t have been at the club much longer regardless,  but her presence seems to have sped up his departure. 

I'm a jilted ex lover who struggles to see sense anyway, best ignored with these matters IMO.

54 minutes ago, Kyle said:

This is right. It was clear at the turn of the year he was thinking about chucking it. He did Saints the honour of staying and sorting his part in the mess that was this season, something he had to do, he's a proud man and deserves all the credit for what he achieved. 

I'll still call him a c**t if he ends up at another Scottish club though.

1 hour ago, Mr. Alli said:

All the more baffling why he then decided to go full grass. 

Nobody should ever go full grass, a sentiment you have shared numerous times correctly. 

Anyway, it's all in the past now. Let bygones be bygones and enjoy the Perthshire sunset. 

Off you pop and dry your eyes princess 

Edited by Lang Toon Saintee