Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2024/25

20 hours ago, AJF said:

On what basis do you believe it won’t be at Ibrox and why would that be more credible than the suggestion it will be Ibrox? 

Removing Blue asbestos and rosary beads from the walls can be equally time consuming M8.

3 minutes ago, AJF said:

The problem with your suggestion is if Rangers went ahead and gave Celtic tickets for the fixture in January, then Celtic fans would be able to attend 2 fixtures at Ibrox with an away allocation this season, while Rangers fans would only be able to attend 1 at Celtic Park (since we’ve been locked out of the upcoming one).

Given that Celtic are paragons of sporting integrity, surely you’re not advocating this?

Celtic would therefore be able to offer more home end tickets to their own fans for the upcoming fixture while still having the benefit of an away support in the two fixtures at Ibrox. Surely I don’t need to point out how this could be seen as gaining an advantage.

Ah well, I suppose the Celtic board should’ve just taken their word for it, a gentleman’s agreement so to speak, we all know you’re good for it after all. 
You’d think lessons learned would apply and the Rangers board would have gained some business acumen in years gone past. 

2 minutes ago, Greenlantern said:

Ah well, I suppose the Celtic board should’ve just taken their word for it, a gentleman’s agreement so to speak, we all know you’re good for it after all. 
You’d think lessons learned would apply and the Rangers board would have gained some business acumen in years gone past. 

This is where I refer you back to my previous post: if Rangers didn’t complete the works by the January fixture, then Celtic could refuse entry to the subsequent Celtic Park fixture and would’ve came out of this looking a lot better and not petty by refusing us tickets now based on assumptions and suspicions.

Edited by AJF

The only good thing about two kunt clubs arguing over pish like this is that it seems the fans of both kunt clubs will suffer in some way in not being able to soak up that ‘top tier atmosphere’ in away games. Both sets of arsecheek supporters being pissed off about something is a tremendous outcome from what is, frankly, a load of old shite. Normally, only one cheek is annoyed about something at any given moment. To have both mumping their gums and throwing blame around like toddlers throwing their toys out of a pram is, in some small way, top tier entertainment.

I haven’t seen such shithousery since St Mirren’s Stewart Gilmour was irked by the comments coming out of Spartans FC. What a stramash that affair was, 🙃😝

1 minute ago, AJF said:

This is where I refer you back to my previous post: if Rangers didn’t complete the works by the January fixture, then Celtic would refuse entry to the subsequent Celtic Park fixture and would’ve came out of this looking a lot better and not petty by refusing us tickets now based on assumptions and suspicions.

There’s no assumptions or suspicions, the agreement in place last season was not fulfilled in time and without guarantee it will be complete. If it was, you’d all be able to take your travelling show to the first of our fixtures. 

3 minutes ago, Greenlantern said:

There’s no assumptions or suspicions, the agreement in place last season was not fulfilled in time and without guarantee it will be complete. If it was, you’d all be able to take your travelling show to the first of our fixtures. 

What was the terms of the agreement and when was the work at Ibrox suppose to be completed by? 

Edited by AJF

7 minutes ago, AJF said:

What was the terms of the agreement and when was the work at Ibrox suppose to be completed by? 

Are you purposely being obtuse? Both clubs would’ve made assurances that stadiums were up to standard to welcome away fans before the first Celtic/Rangers fixture of this season. 

28 minutes ago, AJF said:

This is where I refer you back to my previous post: if Rangers didn’t complete the works by the January fixture, then Celtic could refuse entry to the subsequent Celtic Park fixture and would’ve came out of this looking a lot better and not petty by refusing us tickets now based on assumptions and suspicions.

I think your crystal ball is a bit foggy M8, Celtic are giving sevco more time to get the big hoose opened for the remaining two fixtures at the end of the season.

Edited by willywastecoat

7 minutes ago, Greenlantern said:

Are you purposely being obtuse? Both clubs would’ve made assurances that stadiums were up to standard to welcome away fans before the first Celtic/Rangers fixture of this season. 

Yet Rangers have said in their statement that they were on track to meet the terms of the agreement. That signifies the terms meant each club needed to have their stadium ready for their respective games (Celtic in September, Rangers in January).

We knew that Celtic would be hosting the first game between us this season, so why would Ibrox be required to have work done to it ahead of the match at Celtic Park 4 months prior?

1 minute ago, AJF said:

We knew that Celtic would be hosting the first game between us this season, so why would Ibrox be required to have work done to it ahead of the match at Celtic Park 4 months prior?

What’s that expression?.. Fuk around and find out. 

1 hour ago, AJF said:

The problem with your suggestion is if Rangers went ahead and gave Celtic tickets for the fixture in January, then Celtic fans would be able to attend 2 fixtures at Ibrox with an away allocation this season, while Rangers fans would only be able to attend 1 at Celtic Park (since we’ve been locked out of the upcoming one).

Given that Celtic are paragons of sporting integrity, surely you’re not advocating this?

Celtic would therefore be able to offer more home end tickets to their own fans for the upcoming fixture while still having the benefit of an away support in the two fixtures at Ibrox. Surely I don’t need to point out how this could be seen as gaining an advantage.

Does that mean you would be happy for clubs likely to finish in the bottom 6 to only give you tickets to one game at their ground (depending on the home/away fixtures) because they would only get tickets to 1 game at Ibrox?

ETA - For sporting integrity I mean? Surely if away fans make that big a difference then you wouldn’t want Rangers to have an advantage of say away fans at Dingwall twice but Ross County only get away fans at Ibrox once? 

Edited by Sortmeout

10 minutes ago, AJF said:

Which brings it back to the bigger question why is ibrox not partially opened at the start of the season and why did they decide to close the full stadium?
The work that is getting done for the agreement isn't related to the work in the copeland end unless the plan is to move the Celtic fan.

10 minutes ago, Greenlantern said:

What’s that expression?.. Fuk around and find out. 

What exactly is the f**king around here if we haven’t breached the terms of the agreement as yet?

4 minutes ago, Sortmeout said:

Does that mean you would be happy for clubs likely to finish in the bottom 6 to only give you tickets to one game at their ground (depending on the home/away fixtures) because they would only get tickets to 1 game at Ibrox?

No, because your position in the top or bottom half of the table is based on sporting merit rather than boardroom shenanigans.

Plus this is often rectified over the course of each season where the fixtures are generally reversed as to who plays who away from home first (usually, not always, I think).

1 minute ago, willywastecoat said:

Which brings it back to the bigger question why is ibrox not partially opened at the start of the season and why did they decide to close the full stadium?
The work that is getting done for the agreement isn't related to the work in the copeland end unless the plan is to move the Celtic fan.

Because there’s a massive crane sitting on the pitch, mate.

5 minutes ago, AJF said:

What exactly is the f**king around here if we haven’t breached the terms of the agreement as yet?

No, because your position in the top or bottom half of the table is based on sporting merit rather than boardroom shenanigans.

Plus this is often rectified over the course of each season where the fixtures are generally reversed as to who plays who away from home first (usually, not always, I think).

What if Ross County, in my example, lose both home games to you and get relegated by a point? What happens next season to balance it up?

You said that one club having away fans at two games was an advantage over the other club only having their away fans at one game and then referred to sporting integrity. I get that was probably just a wee dig as that was a common phrase used when Rangers were caught cheating their way to trophies with the whole dual contract disgrace but you said it not me - so surely you wouldn’t want Rangers to take tickets twice at any away ground this season if you can’t reciprocate? 

11 minutes ago, AJF said:

So go on, if the agreement hasn’t been broken tell me why, in your own opinion, the Celtic board haven’t offered Rangers their away allocation?

4 minutes ago, Sortmeout said:

What if Ross County, in my example, lose both home games to you and get relegated by a point? What happens next season to balance it up?

You said that one club having away fans at two games was an advantage over the other club only having their away fans at one game and then referred to sporting integrity. I get that was probably just a wee dig as that was a common phrase used when Rangers were caught cheating their way to trophies with the whole dual contract disgrace but you said it not me - so surely you wouldn’t want Rangers to take tickets twice at any away ground this season if you can’t reciprocate? 

Then they would lose out on sporting merit, as I said. Not due to immature boardroom battles.

The format of the league with the split inherently means we will end up with teams advantaged and disadvantaged for various reasons (such as three away trips in one season to a team, an uneven balance of home and away games played etc.).

This dispute is entirely different, and I think you know it.

1 minute ago, Greenlantern said:

So go on, if the agreement hasn’t been broken tell me why, in your own opinion, the Celtic board haven’t offered Rangers their away allocation?

Because they haven’t received a guarantee. That about sums it up.