Brexit slowly becoming a Farce.

John Lambies Doos

54 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

The U.K. isn't an island.

And it's "sceptred isle" which ironically is from a play about a French King of England

"This royal throne of kings, this sceptred isle...
..."This blessed plot, this earth, this realm, this England"

That was Willie Shakespeare writing in the 16th century about his country of England.
He clearly didnae ken his geography but mibbe it's poetic licence.

And of course, in the bigger picture - The U.K. isn't an island.

4 hours ago, McSpreader said:

It is so called but not a good name tbh.  The Scottish Executive was a more fitting name and the change of name to appease the Nationalists' is something to regret.

Winds up Britnats though so, on balance, worth it.

25 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

Winds up Britnats though so, on balance, worth it.

or...the truth hurts

Wikipedia
The Scottish Government is Scotland 's devolved government. The government was
established in 1999 as the Scottish Executive under section 44(1) of the Scotland Act
1998, which created a devolved administration for Scotland in line with the result of
the 1997 referendum on Scottish devolution. It was formally renamed in 2012 to the
Scottish Government by section 12(1) of the Scotland Act 2012.

The EU was set up to stop wars on the Continental mainland because there are potential conflicts along just about every border in Europe. I'm afraid Europeans just love to wantonly  kill each other over minor tracts of land. It's been happening for millenia.
That's the advantage of 
a) being an island
b) The Act of Union
We are truly blessed on our Sceptered Isle and are best out of the EU.

We went to war over a minor tract of land about 35 year ago lol.

8 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

We went to war over a minor tract of land about 35 year ago lol.

It was set up to stop wars in mainland Europe which would have been a certainty but powerless to stop wars anywhere else in the world.

13 minutes ago, kirkyblue2 said:

It was set up to stop wars in mainland Europe which would have been a certainty but powerless to stop wars anywhere else in the world.

Yet if this article is true then we are gonna be officially the polisman of the world - 'Have gun, will travel'

Finland & Sweden mull joining UK-led Joint Expeditionary Force
https://www.rt.com/news/376418-finland-sweden-uk-force/

Finland and Sweden are contemplating joining an elite UK-led military group capable
of mobilizing tens of thousands of soldiers to respond to a variety of threats anywhere
in the world. Both Nordic non-NATO states received invitations over the weekend.
The 10,000-strong British-led Joint Expeditionary Force (JEF), which began
formation in December of 2012, is designed to operate alone or jointly in support o
NATO, European Union, or United Nations missions anywhere in the world.
The force will incorporate air and naval units, as well as ground troops, and will be
led by British commanders, with other participating nations contributing a range of
specialist troops and units.
A letter of intent signed with partners from Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the
Netherlands, and Norway aims to develop JEF to become fully operational before
2018, but the force can already be used if needed.

9 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

Yet if this article is true then we are gonna be officially the polisman of the world - 'Have gun, will travel'

Finland and Sweden are contemplating joining an elite UK-led military group capable
of mobilizing tens of thousands of soldiers to respond to a variety of threats anywhere
in the world. Both Nordic non-NATO states received invitations over the weekend.
formation in December of 2012, is designed to operate alone or jointly in support o
NATO, European Union, or United Nations missions anywhere in the world.
The force will incorporate air and naval units, as well as ground troops, and will be
led by British commanders, with other participating nations contributing a range of
A letter of intent signed with partners from Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the

Interesting, wonder if it's to combat terrorism.

7 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

Putin wants to depict Russia as  surrounded by hostile beligerents, that will be the real reason for it.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/russia-nato-border-forces-map-where-are-they-positioned-a7562391.html

He might have a point.

32 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

The article is from Russia Today so I wouldn't worry about it too much

I have RT on my favourites bar.
I also have BBC, Fox, CNN, NBC & USA Today there as well.
Are you saying that it's untrue because it's from RT and if it was from one of the other sources it would be believable?

This is dated 30th November, 2015
Britain leads 7-state Joint Expeditionary Force, mobilizing 10,000 troops
https://www.rt.com/uk/324030-fallon-joint-expeditionary-force/
Britain will play a leading role in a new Joint Expeditionary Force (JEF) including
troops from Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands and Norway, which
could be in a position to mobilize 10,000 soldiers.
Defence Secretary Michael Fallon announced the UK’s involvement on Monday after
he hosted the defense ministers of the other six states preparing to sign the
international agreement.

1 hour ago, Wee Willie said:

This is dated 30th November, 2015
Britain leads 7-state Joint Expeditionary Force, mobilizing 10,000 troops
https://www.rt.com/uk/324030-fallon-joint-expeditionary-force/
Britain will play a leading role in a new Joint Expeditionary Force (JEF) including
troops from Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands and Norway, which
could be in a position to mobilize 10,000 soldiers.
Defence Secretary Michael Fallon announced the UK’s involvement on Monday after
he hosted the defense ministers of the other six states preparing to sign the
international agreement.

Putin has 770,000 active troops at his disposal, and 2 million reservists. I don't think he'll be shitting his pants.

11 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Putin has 770,000 active troops at his disposal, and 2 million reservists. I don't think he'll be shitting his pants.

2 hours ago, Wee Willie said:

NATO, European Union, or United Nations missions
anywhere in the world.

I'm no concerned with Putin.
I'm mair concerned that we will be poking our noses intae conflicts all over the world.
And I dinnae want that for Scotland.

2 hours ago, Wee Willie said:

I have RT on my favourites bar.
I also have BBC, Fox, CNN, NBC & USA Today there as well.
Are you saying that it's untrue because it's from RT and if it was from one of the other sources it would be believable?

Don't get me wrong it's not the Daily Mail.

Rob, that's no the point I was trying tae make.
ANY Scottish government will have one hand tied behind its back.
Do you agree?
I cannae mind who it was but someone on P&B made an excellent analogy.
You hand your neighbour your wages at the end of the month and he decides how much you get back tae live on.
Is that acceptable to you?

No offence Willie, but that's your view as a separatist, I don't see it that way at all.
Rather more a family who stick all their wages into a pot at the end of the month, then split it up according to the needs of each member of the household. This may change from one 'month' to the next, but the key is to try and make sure there's always enough in the pot as a contingency. It's not a perfect system, but generally it works ok.

1 minute ago, RedRob72 said:

No offence Willie, but that's your view as a separatist, I don't see it that way at all.
Rather more a family who stick all their wages into a pot at the end of the month, then split it up according to the needs of each member of the household. This may change from one 'month' to the next, but the key is to try and make sure there's always enough in the pot as a contingency. It's not a perfect system, but generally it works ok.

Hiya Ma Boswell,hiya pal.