We don't need Nisbet. We'd just signed Kuharevych and Bowie who will likely be competing for one starting spot. At least Gayle probably realises he's going to be a squad player at his age.

Aberdeen made much more sense for him having just lost Miovski.

Edited by Fraser Fyvie

1 hour ago, DukDukGoose said:

From the interviews since he's joined us, he absolutely comes across pretty arrogant. Can see how that would annoy folk. Certainly has a lot of belief in his own ability.

Wouldn't be so bad if he actually backed up his talk with performances. He was one of the laziest strikers we have had. He did score goals but he only seems to really show form when he is either at the start of his time with a club or he's trying to impress another club. If you're expecting a striker that's going to chase down defenders and harry them it won't be him and he absolutely cannot play as a sole striker. 

40 minutes ago, AndyM said:

Wouldn't be so bad if he actually backed up his talk with performances. He was one of the laziest strikers we have had. He did score goals but he only seems to really show form when he is either at the start of his time with a club or he's trying to impress another club. If you're expecting a striker that's going to chase down defenders and harry them it won't be him and he absolutely cannot play as a sole striker. 

That was basically the debate on our thread about him. He doesn’t seem to fit the Thelin style of play naturally. 

He was pretty ineffective against Ross county up to the goal, but his movement was good and the finish good at a crucial moment. It’s going to be a trade off for us. 

He’s a stop gap for us in my mind, someone who can be relied on for goals while we find the real miovski replacement. Works for him as I imagine longer term he’d rather make a success of it down south. 

8 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

That was basically the debate on our thread about him. He doesn’t seem to fit the Thelin style of play naturally. 

He was pretty ineffective against Ross county up to the goal, but his movement was good and the finish good at a crucial moment. It’s going to be a trade off for us. 

He’s a stop gap for us in my mind, someone who can be relied on for goals while we find the real miovski replacement. Works for him as I imagine longer term he’d rather make a success of it down south. 

I think it'll be a big difference when the player behind him is Clarkson.

5 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Our club is a f**king shambles.

Long term planning.  

Shite loan goalie, loan centre forward, some c**t not wanted by Stockport.  Blackpool and Mk Dpns Centre half huddies, no Centre midfielder who can play forward towards forwards.  praying loans from Sunderland and celtic will run our midfield.  Aye nice one Malky you racist arrogant c**t. 

Planning for the long term, where?  Bowie that's all. 

Bottom 6 pish again.  

PARKLIFE!

58 minutes ago, Crawford Bridge said:

When Mykola is inevitably injured we'll be in trouble.

Hopefully Gayle still has something about him or we'll be relying on the likes of McKirdy.

Bloody hell! 

McKirdy will get us top 6. 

Edited by Lyle Lanley

4 hours ago, DukDukGoose said:

That's fair enough but I think it'll look bad if we have a good season with him banging in goals, especially if Hibs struggle with the forwards not contributing much.
Maybe Bowie is going to be out for man extended time like Polvara for us, Gayle a stop gap.

From the interviews since he's joined us, he absolutely comes across pretty arrogant. Can see how that would annoy folk. Certainly has a lot of belief in his own ability.

Perhaps but again I think it was more of a timing thing than anything else. I doubt we had the budget available to sign Nisbet when he'd signed for Aberdeen.
Probably! I think Gayle will do well as a stop gap.

Yeah I wasn't particularly sad to see him go when he left due to his personality more-so than his football abilities. He'll continue to do well for Aberdeen, though.

10 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Our club is a f**king shambles.

Long term planning.  

Shite loan goalie, loan centre forward, some c**t not wanted by Stockport.  Blackpool and Mk Dpns Centre half huddies, no Centre midfielder who can play forward towards forwards.  praying loans from Sunderland and celtic will run our midfield.  Aye nice one Malky you racist arrogant c**t. 

Planning for the long term, where?  Bowie that's all. 

Bottom 6 pish again.  

Think Kwon is a good player mate. Just hoping Mykola and Gayle don’t get injured or we’re f**ked. 

12 hours ago, Tommy Tappin said:

George Best

Steve Archibald

Jim Leighton

John Burridge

Bryan Gunn

Ray Wilkins

Franck Sauzee

David Marshall

...we love a past their sell by date former top flight player

We've been bottom six pish more often than not since 1875. What are you driving at?

Didn't want his baggage apparently. 

We weren't told anything more in the past, since the Gordons came in the promised top three, Europe now game changing investment from the black knights.  Fair enough if bottom 6 pish is good enough for you because "its always been that way" but it's utterly shite.  Some of our support have absolutely zero ambition. 

3 hours ago, Lyle Lanley said:

Think Kwon is a good player mate. Just hoping Mykola and Gayle don’t get injured or we’re f**ked. 

Hopefully, maybe mate.  Then all three of them leave at the end of the season and we sit here in 2025 being told to be patients as we always f**king do. 

21 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Hopefully, maybe mate.  Then all three of them leave at the end of the season and we sit here in 2025 being told to be patients as we always f**king do. 

We’ll sign players on loan and free agents from England over the age of 35 again. 

Not expecting anything this season. 

1 hour ago, Lyle Lanley said:

We’ll sign players on loan and free agents from England over the age of 35 again. 

Not expecting anything this season. 

Agree.  Its the way.  Plugging gaps is our game. 

Nor next season.  

You've had 6 managers in the last 5 years, it's surely not hard to see why any manager who gets hired looks at short term signings as more important than long term ones?

6 hours ago, RandomGuy. said:

You've had 6 managers in the last 5 years, it's surely not hard to see why any manager who gets hired looks at short term signings as more important than long term ones?

Fair point, but that's exactly why teams have directors of football and sporting directors who have a much longer shelf life than managers, whose main job is to be sacked to deflect fan disgruntlement. Managers typically don't make the main recruitment decisions any more.

19 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

We weren't told anything more in the past, since the Gordons came in the promised top three, Europe now game changing investment from the black knights.  Fair enough if bottom 6 pish is good enough for you because "its always been that way" but it's utterly shite.  Some of our support have absolutely zero ambition. 

It's nothing to do with ambition and everything to do with reality.

The Scottish game is rigged in favour of the top 2. No 1 team consistently finishes 3rd because no one can financially sustain a challenge.

Our last top flight league title was just shy of three quarters of a century ago and we win a trophy once every 17-20 years.

It would take millions more than we have to change this. 

I don't care how much ambition you've got, it ain't changing. Thinking it will just shows the kind of gullibility and naivety that the club's marketing relies on.