17 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

Yet we are still losing money every year and running at a loss?  They can make out they are running the off the pitch shit brilliantly and increasing market value of the club to make as much money possible eventually. 

Yep, because they can't run the football side which is where all the money is being spunked. 

If the business side hadn't been transformed so much, we'd be properly phecked. 

The only reason we can spend so much on shite is because of how much money the club is making on it's commercial side. The owners are covering the difference.

The next accounts, which will be up to the end of the Monty era will have a much higher top line but Kensall spoke far too soon in Feb because he won't have forecast paying Monty off when he said they'd look better.

I'd be far more worried why a mega budget and early signings at the yams, has landed them rock bottom of the league. The use of funds at that club over many many years is truly horrific.

Absolutely atrocious management.  

7 minutes ago, Tommy Tappin said:

Yep, because they can't run the football side which is where all the money is being spunked. 

The only reason we can spend so much on shite is because of how much money the club is making on it's commercial side. The owners are covering the difference.

The next accounts, which will be up to the end of the Monty era will have a much higher top line but Kensall spoke far too soon in Feb because he won't have forecast paying Monty off when he said they'd look better.

I'd be far more worried why a mega budget and early signings at the yams, has landed them rock bottom of the league. The use of funds at that club over many many years is truly horrific.

I feel they have prioritised the commercial side of the club to make their investment grow tbh and even now we might be running at a loss that they have covered by selling some of their shares for the same amount they bought the whole club for, they haven't lost a penny on us as it stands and they will make at least a £20m profit by the time they get out.  

Yams is shan insult but I do agree with the paragraph.  But this is mainly about how our club is run.  We aren't ran anywhere remotely like a successful football club. 

10 minutes ago, Tommy Tappin said:

Yep.

The day I take advice on finances from a Jambo will be about the same time I cut my baws off and start calling myself Karen.

Just now, Leith Green said:

Yep.

The day I take advice on finances from a Jambo will be about the same time I cut my baws off and start calling myself Karen.

I think if we are honest, both set of supporters know absolutely jack shit about running the finances of a football club and it's completely guesswork/hope as to how things pan out.  

1 hour ago, Hoose Rice said:

I feel they have prioritised the commercial side of the club to make their investment grow tbh and even now we might be running at a loss that they have covered by selling some of their shares for the same amount they bought the whole club for, they haven't lost a penny on us as it stands and they will make at least a £20m profit by the time they get out.  

Yams is shan insult but I do agree with the paragraph.  But this is mainly about how our club is run.  We aren't ran anywhere remotely like a successful football club. 

This is just incorrect. The Gordon’s wiped off the debt that Hibs owed them. They didn’t sell any shares. They pretty much did the exact opposite. 

1 hour ago, Hoose Rice said:

I think if we are honest, both set of supporters know absolutely jack shit about running the finances of a football club and it's completely guesswork/hope as to how things pan out.  

I agree, however it gets on my tits when the cardigan wearing financial experts from across the road apparently know everything about ours.

As you say, in reality it's all pish.

1 hour ago, Judy Murray said:

This is just incorrect. The Gordon’s wiped off the debt that Hibs owed them. They didn’t sell any shares. They pretty much did the exact opposite. 

They sold shares to Foley for £6m.  They then diluted everyone elses shares to wipe out debt we owed them for their own mistakes of for lending us the money to improve the commercial side of the club - which will increase the value of their investment when they come to sell in the future.  They haven't put any of their own money in through any sort of kindness, it's all for themselves.  It's a no lose situation for them really. 

3 hours ago, Tommy Tappin said:

The mad thing is, I actually think we've brought in some bloody decent players and spent a fair bit doing so over the last few years, but we keep shopping in Poundland for a flipping manager and it's the same story over and over, so frustrating! 

It would be good if both of us could get our shit together and have some right old ding dong battles at the right end of the league again. 

Edited by Galajambo

53 minutes ago, Galajambo said:

The mad thing is, I actually think we've brought in some bloody decent players and spent a fair bit doing so over the last few years, but we keep shopping in Poundland for a flipping manager and it's the same story over and over, so frustrating! 

It would be good if both of us could get our shit together and have some right old ding dong battles at the right end of the league again. 

That's happening next season, m8. Edinburgh Derby fighting for the top spot in the SPFL Championship. Mark my words.

8 hours ago, Hoose Rice said:

And yet. 

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/edinburghs-hearts-hibs-named-top-29779509

51 minutes ago, Tommy Tappin said:

Millions of pounds of operating losses.

Sack coaches every few months.

Bottom six two years out the last three despite being one of only five clubs in the country with a five-figure support.

Take investment from another club and then get a row in the press from that club's owner within months.

One of the UK's best-run clubs.

🤣

13 hours ago, Dons_1988 said:

Eh, Man United are fourth and rangers make the top 10. Make of this what you will. 

Took the words right out my mouth.  A Hibee thinking we are ran well is deluded imo. 

Edited by Hoose Rice

20 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Took the words right out my mouth.  A Hibee thinking we are ran well is deluded imo. 

Not really opining on hibs, just questioning the credibility of the measurement. 

It’s like every now and again you get a metric/algorithm that produces Aberdeen as the best city to live in the UK or something. Now, I love Aberdeen and I’m sure there are metrics out there that we outperform other cities, but I think objectively we know most people wouldn’t see it that way. 

10 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Not really opining on hibs, just questioning the credibility of the measurement. 

It’s like every now and again you get a metric/algorithm that produces Aberdeen as the best city to live in the UK or something. Now, I love Aberdeen and I’m sure there are metrics out there that we outperform other cities, but I think objectively we know most people wouldn’t see it that way. 

Yeah sorry, the two sentences there weren't linked. 

Aye, it's there to appeal with absolutely no foundation. 

15 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Millions of pounds of operating losses.

Sack coaches every few months.

Bottom six two years out the last three despite being one of only five clubs in the country with a five-figure support.

Take investment from another club and then get a row in the press from that club's owner within months.

One of the UK's best-run clubs.

🤣

How's the league campaign going?